67 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a 35-year-old bachelor with limited cooking experience, and even I can cook this dish! It's a terrific, very easy salmon recipe, even without the sesame seeds -- I have always left out the sesame seeds only because I never have any in the house. The longer you marinate the salmon, the better it tastes. I have marinated it for as little as an hour and as long as 24 hours and it always tastes great, but longer is better. I highly recommend this recipe. Enjoy!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fredrick March 17, 2002

This is very simple and extremely good. Had every thing on hand. I used the left over, reduced marinade on green beans, delish!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff December 06, 2002

It's a tasty dish.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Preeti De November 04, 2000

Not a huge salmon fan but loved this! Broiling the skin side requires a close watch - 4 min was too long for us! Fortunately we were able to remove the over cooked skin and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shancy May 18, 2014

I really liked how easy this dish was. I could use all ingredients already in my pantry. The hardest part for a low-maintenance cook like me is marinating the fish ahead of time, but even that was pretty low-investment. I marinated the meat for about two hours on each side (flipping the salmon over half-way through because I was using a smaller container and had to fold the fish in half.)

I used the extra marinade once cooked over yellow squash and this is the kind of recipe where it will work with pretty much anything.

Note that the times should be switched above. Prep time is 2 1/4 hours, cook time is around 10 min.

Make sure you're not too stingy on oiling the pan or it will burn on juices which makes it tougher to clean.

Also I highly recommend serving with a wedge of fresh lemon. When you squeeze it on the finished entree it adds another dimension to the flavor which actually heightens the sweetness of the maple marinade.

Next time I'd love to try with some garlic and/or green onions as some of the other reviewers suggested. I added garlic salt to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins July 13, 2012

This was pretty tasty. I made it almost exactly as written. I had a slightly bigger (1.04 lbs.) piece of skin-on salmon, which I cut in half, then marinated for about 3 hours. Since I was using up a bottle of sesame seeds, I probably used about 1 tsp. per piece. I'm not sure I've ever broiled anything before, and was pretty unsure of the technique (mainly distance from the flame), but guess I did okay. I think I didn't reduce the sauce enough, though. Still, this was a fairly elegant recipe, though I didn't serve it with the fancy accompaniments suggested - just corn. I just might try this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spooty3 February 26, 2012

Such a quick and delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~KissTheCook~*~ March 26, 2011

They don't make enough starts for this recipe! I did add some garlic and fresh ground pepper, also topped the salmon with chopped green onion. I baked it in foil at 400degrees for 20 minutes and it turned out perfect. I served it with garden beans and squash and of course a potato for DH! I made the mistake of tossing out the excess marinade, will never do that again. I will reduce it and drizzle it over the fillets on the plates. This was super easy, tasted terrific and looked so beautiful. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka March 12, 2011

Great mix of flavors for us salmon lovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diabeticdelimma1 March 08, 2011

We have made this several times. It's very quick, tasty and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TracyInVA August 09, 2010
Maple Salmon