Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Roasted Root Vegetables

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2012

      Oh my yum! This was so good! I have been looking for a way to roast vegetables successfully (mine always dry out or burn on the pan) but this worked beautifully! I used parchment under my vegs (onion, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and carrots). The only thing I would change is to reduce the olive oil a little bit - maybe switch the amounts of olive oil and maple syrup. I can't wait to make this again trying turnip and parsnip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2014

      Outstanding. Showboating vegetables that are rarely seen on American tables, and this is the first platter emptied every meal it's served!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      I don't do beets, but I was able to choke them down with this recipe (and I LOVED the other veggies!). I used parsnips, golden beats, white yams and butternut squash and served them over quinoa. This was absolutely delicious and I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Easy to make and delicious! The syrup forms a lovely sticky layer on the bottom that is just wonderful! My advice, though, is NOT to line the pan with foil to make it easier to clean! The veggies stick too much. (Sure, I should have thought of that...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

    • on November 20, 2010

      I am terrible about using this site to cook and never reviewing recipes. We just set the Thanksgiving menu and this recipe has been requested for the 3rd time. My family loves it and it is a great switch up after years of the same old foods and it pairs so well with the turkey, stuffing and mashed potatoes. Simply delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Another wonderful recipe by Geema! I made these for dinner tonight using whatever root vegetables I had on hand. As these were roasting, the house smelled so yummy! But the delicious smell was nothing compared to the scrumptious taste. Delicious! Wish I could give these more than 5 stars. Thanks, Geema, for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This was very good. We finally put this together the other day and I was so impressed at how the beets tasted. The only thing we didn't have was the parsnips. Oh well, maybe next time. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Can't believe we actually ate parsnips and turnips tonight! We have NEVER eaten those before, and they were very good! I used white potatoes, baby carrots, parsnips and turnips. Flavors all melded and mellowed and were wonderful together. After an hour plus a few extra minutes to let the rest of the meal catch up, the veggies were soft and delicious. Thank you Geema for helping us branch out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      fab. I used parsnips turnips fingerling potatoes beets parnsips and rutebaga! I would also add another onion as the person below mentioned because the carmalizing is so yummy and it worked well on the turnips and parsnips the best. Everyone loved it! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      these were super. I don't even like parsnips and they tasted good this way and the rest were wonderful. To stop "bleeding" from the beets i just kept them separate at the end of the parchment paper. loved them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. I did not use beets due to personal preference, and added carrots instead, but the dish was fantastic. My husband has requested it be a regular feature at mealtimes - and since it is so easy to do, I am sure we will have it often. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      The sauce is so incredibly delicious. I mixed it together before doing the veggies to allow time for the garlic to infuse into the oil/syrup mixture. I cut the veggies smaller (maybe 3/4-1"), which was a good idea because they are more well-seasoned that way - no bland insides. I baked for only 45 min, which was perfect in my oven, and stirred a few times during baking to ensure sauce coverage. I didn't really like the parsnips because the taste is too strong, and they are a different firmer texture compared to the other veggies. I would probably leave them out next time, or maybe try substituting carrots. I only used 1 big onion, thinking it would be enough, but 2 would have been awesome because the caramelized onions are so delicious! Beets are important for the sauce's color & flavor so don't leave them out. The sweet potatoes & onions are my favorite part. This is a very filling dish! Perfect with pita bread to scoop up the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is a delicious way to prepare root veggies. I did use a slightly different mix of veggies, all baby organic veggies (turnips, carrots, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, onions, butternut squash, parsnips). The glaze was outstanding. I did take your suggestion on using parchment paper, that really helped in the clean-up. Thanks for the recipe and definately will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Delicious! I love root vegetables and this recipe uses most of them. The beets were fantastic. The sauce carmelized nicely. Next time I'll use your suggestion of parchment paper liners. I made two changes adding a couple carrots and using small red skin potatoes instead of large yukons. Great recipe Geema.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      I halved this recipe and was still able to spread the veggies across a large Pizza pan. I used baby carrots instead of parsnips, a white sweet potato instead of a regular one. This was so filling and good. It's tough to go wrong with roasted veggies, so this was really good. My kids hated it for some reason, but I really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      The taste was delicious....maybe a TOUCH too sweet, but still very good. The beets turned everything red, so it wasn't visually appeaking to us. The taste was a 5, but the look of it was a 3. So, I gave it a 4. I would definitely make it again. I think I would substitute the beets for something else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Very adaptable and versatile recipe that works very well with roasted/oven cooked meals. When I made this I used 1 baking potato, 1 sweet potato, 2 carrots and 1 onion, but used the olive/maple syrup mixture as stated. Hubby loved the vegetables but the carrots were a bit too sweet for him. We cooked this for 1 1/2 hours at 350 - the same time and temperature that the rest of the meal cooked. This is a great way to clean out the veggi drawer and we will be having this again soon. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I make this dish every time we have company and everyone raves about it!! I also substitute carrots for parsnips and I also add 2 eggplants...this dish is delish hot or cold!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Delicious! I just made this recipe for Rosh Hashanah for 14 people. Although the servings are for 6 people I'm so happy I didn't double it as planned. It made an enormous amount. Everyone loved it and the beets gave all the vegetables a pink color. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Roasted Root Vegetables

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.8
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    55%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 37.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 15.9 g
    63%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes