23 Reviews

Oh my yum! This was so good! I have been looking for a way to roast vegetables successfully (mine always dry out or burn on the pan) but this worked beautifully! I used parchment under my vegs (onion, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and carrots). The only thing I would change is to reduce the olive oil a little bit - maybe switch the amounts of olive oil and maple syrup. I can't wait to make this again trying turnip and parsnip!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunebuggy8 December 20, 2012

This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. I did not use beets due to personal preference, and added carrots instead, but the dish was fantastic. My husband has requested it be a regular feature at mealtimes - and since it is so easy to do, I am sure we will have it often. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer December 01, 2007

I love this recipe. I use sweet potatoes, mushrooms, baked potatoes and carrots. I put everything in a tin foil pan with the oil, syrup and garlic and cover with foil. Put a few holes in the foil so that the flavor of the Jack Daniels wood chips can seep into the veggies. Turns out perfectly every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tladyzim July 12, 2015

These were good, but too sweet for our taste. Roasting the veggies gives them a wonderful sweetness already. The maple syrup just made them overly sweet and became the dominant taste, overpowering the other food on the plate. I like the idea of the oil and syrup mix, but next time I think I will use half the amount of syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook March 06, 2015

Outstanding. Showboating vegetables that are rarely seen on American tables, and this is the first platter emptied every meal it's served!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Will A. November 13, 2014

I don't do beets, but I was able to choke them down with this recipe (and I LOVED the other veggies!). I used parsnips, golden beats, white yams and butternut squash and served them over quinoa. This was absolutely delicious and I'll definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
worldmom12 October 15, 2013

Easy to make and delicious! The syrup forms a lovely sticky layer on the bottom that is just wonderful! My advice, though, is NOT to line the pan with foil to make it easier to clean! The veggies stick too much. (Sure, I should have thought of that...)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 April 17, 2011

I am terrible about using this site to cook and never reviewing recipes. We just set the Thanksgiving menu and this recipe has been requested for the 3rd time. My family loves it and it is a great switch up after years of the same old foods and it pairs so well with the turkey, stuffing and mashed potatoes. Simply delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill K. November 20, 2010

Another wonderful recipe by Geema! I made these for dinner tonight using whatever root vegetables I had on hand. As these were roasting, the house smelled so yummy! But the delicious smell was nothing compared to the scrumptious taste. Delicious! Wish I could give these more than 5 stars. Thanks, Geema, for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whisper February 23, 2009
Maple Roasted Root Vegetables