Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Pecan Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Pecan Squares

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2010

      wow! these are delicious. i made them to eat while watching the opening ceremonies of the winter olympics and cut them with my maple leaf shaped cookie cutter :) Go Canada Go!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      MMMMmmmmm...just like pecan pie. I followed the advice of a few previous reviewers and started w/step #5 and also what Twisis had stated about tempering the topping w/the butter. I mixed the remaining ingredients in a bowl and then added the sugar/maplesyrup/butter. They turned out perfectly. I did check them w/6 minutes to go and they were nicely browned and done. Thanks for a keeper Gerry~ Made for ZaarStars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game & while I admit that recent memories are always the most vivid, I must say that these bars are quite possibly the most wonderful sweet treat I have ever put in my mouth! I felt the pecans would be better distributed in the bars if not left whole, so my 1st step was to break them up coarsely & set aside. Then I followed the hints of other reviewers to make the topping 1st & then the base while the topping cooled. Even then the topping was not at all cool, so I tempered it by adding the butter & other ingredients to it & then finally the eggs. My method certainly did not hurt the outcome, altho I will prob extend the base dough up the sides of the baking dish next time as the outer edges got very hard as the bars cooled. Chilling fully gets the best taste results IMO. These bars are 10* worthy & more. Thx for sharing this sure to-be-repeated recipe w/us. *Yum* ! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      These bars are excellent. I made just as stated; no changes needed. I will be making these again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Wow! These are soooo good. I'm going to have a hard time keeping out of them! I was going to reject this recipe because maple syrup is so expensive, but then I saw LAURIE's review about using "cheap" syrup and I realized I could just use the "junk" pancake syrup I get from Aldi! LOL. Also thanks to Boomette for the tip about watching the pot. And to further Charlotte J's advice, I started at Step 5, did steps 1-4, combined the "remaining ingredients" from Step 8 into a little bowl, and then beat the eggs in a large bowl before adding the rest. These are awesome! I think I want another one right now! lol. Reviewed for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      These squares are so good. My BF's father came in today with his wife and they loved this. And he said it was not too sweet. Maybe because of the crust. Be very careful when boiling the maple syrup and brown sugar. Cause the time I was looking at my recipe, it boiled and run out of the saucepan. Big mess! So I added maple syrup to compensate LOL Thanks BabyKato :) Made for Beverage tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Everyone loved these squares. Very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      These were so delicious I don't think I'll ever bother making regular pecan pie again! I should have doubled the recipe because the little 8x10 pan of goodness was gobbled up in minutes! The only change I made was to add another 1/2 cup of pecans because I needed to use them up. They were just perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Wickedly good and a great way to use up the last of my (real) maple syrup! I had to sub walnuts for the pecans (can't get them in Greece), but otherwise followed the recipe. This was wonderful and much appreciated by my students, to whom I served it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      OH this was chewy, gooey and SOOOoooo good!! If you are watching your calorie intake you'll want to steer away from this rich bar. But if you don't heed my warning may I suggest you start with Step 5. As it takes awhile to cool the topping down before you can add it into the eggs. I cut my bars small and got about 20 out of a batch. Baby Kato, thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I sure the folks at church tomorrow will thank you also! Made for ONE-TWO-THREE-HIT WONDERS 2006

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Well, BK you did it again! Wonderful, rich bar cookie. In fact I would just like to say DITTO to all of Laurie's comments in her review because she took the words right out of my mouth! :D I did use a pure maple syrup and I would recommend that, especially if you like flavor of pure maple syrup. Thanks Baby K!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      OMG there is no words to describe these...BK they are awesome! A maple pecan pie in bar form. They smelled so good baking that I burned my tongue eating one hot...much better cooled the next day. Took a couple to DBF mother and she couldnt stop eating a raving over it. I used a cheap low cal maple syrup as thats what was open in the fridge and can only imagine the taste with a good quality pure maple syrup! THANKS BK! Loved this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Pecan Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.9
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    45%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 169.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 32.4 g
    129%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites