15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were a big hit at DH's work. I had just pulled them out of the oven when we were hit with a family emergency so DH took them pan and all to work with him and came home saying the crew had polished them off in one sitting. Guess I will be forced to make again so that I can get a some (oh the hard ship LOL) thanks for the post great post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 17, 2014

Yum! These taste exactly like a pecan pie, but much easier to make. I brought them to a party and was asked for the recipe. Delish. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 13, 2014

These are incredibly good! I made them gluten free using gluten free cake flour for the base and sweet rice flour for the topping. Also I made some changes - one on purpose and one accidentally: I reduced the sugar amount because we don't like it so very sweet, so I only put 1 T of sugar into the base and used only the maple syrup without the additional sugar for the topping. The accidental change which I made was to use reduced fat butter - somehow I keep buying this reduced fat butter because it looks nearly identical to the regular butter and I keep forgetting that there is reduced fat butter! But as this accident happened before, I knew it would work anyway, so I went ahead and used it. I don't think I could tell the difference to regular butter in a baked recipe, so - the squares turned out heavenly! I left the pecan halves and they distributed perfectly, which looked very pretty above all :) Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!<br/>Made it for Sweet December Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany December 07, 2014

wow! these are delicious. i made them to eat while watching the opening ceremonies of the winter olympics and cut them with my maple leaf shaped cookie cutter :) Go Canada Go!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinn in tbay March 13, 2010

MMMMmmmmm...just like pecan pie. I followed the advice of a few previous reviewers and started w/step #5 and also what Twisis had stated about tempering the topping w/the butter. I mixed the remaining ingredients in a bowl and then added the sugar/maplesyrup/butter. They turned out perfectly. I did check them w/6 minutes to go and they were nicely browned and done. Thanks for a keeper Gerry~ Made for ZaarStars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB April 28, 2009

Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game & while I admit that recent memories are always the most vivid, I must say that these bars are quite possibly the most wonderful sweet treat I have ever put in my mouth! I felt the pecans would be better distributed in the bars if not left whole, so my 1st step was to break them up coarsely & set aside. Then I followed the hints of other reviewers to make the topping 1st & then the base while the topping cooled. Even then the topping was not at all cool, so I tempered it by adding the butter & other ingredients to it & then finally the eggs. My method certainly did not hurt the outcome, altho I will prob extend the base dough up the sides of the baking dish next time as the outer edges got very hard as the bars cooled. Chilling fully gets the best taste results IMO. These bars are 10* worthy & more. Thx for sharing this sure to-be-repeated recipe w/us. *Yum* ! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 06, 2009

These bars are excellent. I made just as stated; no changes needed. I will be making these again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 26, 2008

Wow! These are soooo good. I'm going to have a hard time keeping out of them! I was going to reject this recipe because maple syrup is so expensive, but then I saw LAURIE's review about using "cheap" syrup and I realized I could just use the "junk" pancake syrup I get from Aldi! LOL. Also thanks to Boomette for the tip about watching the pot. And to further Charlotte J's advice, I started at Step 5, did steps 1-4, combined the "remaining ingredients" from Step 8 into a little bowl, and then beat the eggs in a large bowl before adding the rest. These are awesome! I think I want another one right now! lol. Reviewed for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 July 09, 2008

These squares are so good. My BF's father came in today with his wife and they loved this. And he said it was not too sweet. Maybe because of the crust. Be very careful when boiling the maple syrup and brown sugar. Cause the time I was looking at my recipe, it boiled and run out of the saucepan. Big mess! So I added maple syrup to compensate LOL Thanks BabyKato :) Made for Beverage tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 16, 2008

Everyone loved these squares. Very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabellascookin November 28, 2007
Maple Pecan Squares