71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made a few slight changes and they turned out excellent! I've forever been searching for a Starbuck's maple oat scone recipe that comes close because I'm addicted to the original...and these come about as close as you can get! I used good maple syrup instead of water in the glaze (ended up using at least 1/4 cup with an unsifted 1 1/2 cups powd sugar) and made sure the scones were cool when I glazed them so the glaze stayed thick on top (killed me to wait!). I actually think they're better cool after they've sat for a little while. I also substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of the regular, upped the pecans to 1 cup and added a couple tbs more cream as they were not quite as moist as I would like. I also used a food processor up till adding the pecans (just pulsed the mixture to blend in ingredients then kneaded the pecans in lightly by hand). I've made them 3 times already trying to perfect the recipe and because they are SO GOOD!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsFarmerJen October 02, 2006

Two of our sons worked at Starbucks. They are experts on Starbucks desserts. I made two substitutions as another writer suggested. I went with the 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and used 1 cup of nuts. My sons loved them.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgmurray June 18, 2009

Okay.. These are AMAZING! I love Starbucks anything... so I had to make these. I have made scones before, so I just used my usual method: I mixed everything in my food processor in the order listed and I made these for work, so I wanted more than 8. I formed the dough into a rectangle and cut it into 3 squares, then cut the squares into 2 triangles each, then cut the triangles into 2 smaller triangles. This gave me 12 mini scones and they were inhaled within about 20 minutes at work! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 4.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 26, 2008

My wife made these for brunch this morning, and I was tickled pink when I bit into the first one. They weren't dry and the flavor just about knocked my socks off! I told her she better guard this one with her life, because we want it at hand to have again REAL soon. Delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich February 15, 2011

My dad loves scones, so I let him pick a recipe for me to make for him. He chose these and we were both very pleased with the results. The oats give them a nice texture and I love that there is an ample amount of thick glaze. Bonus is that they were super fast to make and cook. From one former Good Lookin Cookin Mama to another, Thanks Charmie! Made for ZWT 6 by an UNruly Under the Influence.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 20, 2010

Good! A hearty rustic scone full of pecans and topped with sweet icing. Didn't appeal to everyone in my family but I thought it was quite good. Next time I'd use half and half rather than water in the icing. Could also cut the icing down using 1 cup powdered sugar and it would be plenty. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 27, 2013

Like most all of your recipes Charmie - this is 5 stars all the way; was surprised at how easy it was and no special pan needed. Made this for breakfast for 3 hungry Man-Cubs I have visiting this weekend and it got rave reviews. I really had fun making it and followed the directions exactly. I've never had them at Starbucks, so can't compare, but I can tell you one thing for sure - they are great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 May 25, 2013

Yum! Not sure how close these are to Starbucks because I've never tried their maple scone, but these are great in their own right. Loved the texture from the oats, and the glaze was perfectly thick. Thanks for posting! Made for The Honeys for ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess September 01, 2012

These are SOOOO yummy! Easy to make, delicious, and just like the ones from Starbucks. I will definitely be making these again. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcasite Queen August 22, 2012

So Yummy! My mom was visiting and we both LOVE Starbucks, so I made her these scones and blended mochas at home. Terrific morning with even better food and we didn't have to leave the house! Definitely worth repeating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GzNKz4evr July 27, 2011
Maple Oat Nut Scones - Starbucks