10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are some of the best scones I have ever made and everyone here agrees with me! We loved the glaze and the nuts add so much to the overall taste. Make sure you use real maple syrup to get the flavor they are meant to have!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me August 30, 2009

This is a tasty recipe, though it was too wet to knead or shape. I had to use the drop method even after adding extra flour. Hmmm. I added maple extract to the glaze. Mine looked nothing like the photo, but they tasted great, and that's what counts. I will make these again when the weather cools off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott April 28, 2009

Mmmm! Very good scones. My husband said these are the best I've ever made. I didn't have enough butter, so I subbed part margarine and part shortening with the little butter that I did have. Then, I added about a tsp of maple extract and went a little heavy on the brown sugar (about an extra TBSP). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez January 02, 2009

Fantastic scones which are very easy to make. Be sure to use real maple syrup; it's worth it. I used half whole wheat and half white flour otherwise made as posted. Made for ZWT 4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu July 11, 2008

Love. LOve, LOVE maple. Yes, it is a little costly, but there are somethings you just have to have! Had this for morning tea with Brazilian Banana Bread. What a breakfast! Made no subs or additions. Just great the way it is! Thnx for posting, Michelle. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 11, 2008

These scones were fabulous with a very nice flaky texture! I replaced the whipping cream with fat free half-and-half and it worked well, just trying to cut out some of the fat when I can. I also chose pecans as we are not walnut fans, and I had to knead in more flour to make the dough managable. Next time I'll just up the flour to 2 cups rather than 1-3/4 cups. I used the FF half-and-half in the icing as well, but only used 3 tablespoons, and added 1 teaspoon of maple extract for a thicker, more mapley (is that a word?), glaze. Wonderful scones that will be made again, and the muffin version too! Thanks for inventing this recipe! YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie July 10, 2008

Delicious! I, too, love the maple scones at a well known coffee shop, so I am always looking for a recipe that is similar. These are pretty close. I found that the dough was VERY sticky, so I kneaded in some additional flour to make it more manageable. Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts because of personal preference. I wanted a thicker glaze, so I increased the amount of powdered sugar and I also added 1/2 tsp. maple extract to intensify the maple flavor in the glaze. My family enjoyed these and gave them 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for ZWT4*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 10, 2008

The dough was fantastic, warm scone w/glaze was good. Now I'm going to see if I like them better after they are completely cooled. The scone was very flaky. The glaze mixture makes a lot and can be cut in half. I made the glaze as written and ended up adding more powdered sugar. Made for *ZWT4* 2008 game for the *Zingo Round* I'm on team *Tickling Tastebud Travellers*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J July 09, 2008

Oh my gosh! Wow! I didn't even do them right and they turned out delicious! Have to say "fool-proof". Literally. lol. These are very yummy and I would probably make them all the time except maple syrup is so expensive. Reviewed for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 July 07, 2008

Tasty, soft scones with a sweet glaze to accompany it. DH at first thought the scones weren't that sweet enough but when he had it with the glaze, he actually liked it. One serving wasn't enough for me either. I just had to have 2. Thanks for sharing, Michelle! Made for WZT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma July 05, 2008
Maple Oat Nut Scones