Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Glazed Ham Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Glazed Ham Steak

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      I love this recipe, and use it every time I make ham steak. Heat the ham steak in the frying pan first (they give off a lot of liquid), drain off the extra liquid, THEN add this glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Really good and very simple! The kids were hovering like flies because the kitchen smelled so wonderful and with the smile on my husband's face I won't bother to buy a glaze at the store ever again. The ham was a touch dry, so next time I will pull it out a little early to rest, continue to cook the glaze down, and then brush it over just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      Seriously easy and wicked good! I doubled recipe and cooked two ham steaks on an electric griddle. Basted and turned....basted and turned... until I used almost all of the glaze. It formed the most delicious crust on that ham. This is going in my 'quick grab' cook book for fast and easy. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Delicious! I had a one pound 1/2" steak from the University of Illinois meat sales room. This glaze was so good that my partner (who loves ham anyway) ate 3 portions himself. For those that had trouble with a watery glaze, two things to try: 1. Brown the steak on both sides over med-high heat to cook the moisture out of the steak before adding the glaze. Cured ham does have a high water content. 2. If you've the time, fire your oven up to 350F and add your steak and glaze for up to an hour. The water will cook out of the glaze and you can turn your steak over and coat it with that wonderful sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Yum! What a great tasting glaze! I had to substitute balsamic vinegar for the apple cider vinegar because I didn't have any cider vinegar. But otherwise followed the recipe. This was very easy and will be my go to recipe when I make ham steak. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Excellent! A definite winner. Super simple & easy. I used whole grain dijon mustard. Only change I made was to panfry the ham steaks and then add the glaze near the end, letting it thicken as it finished cooking the steaks. Absolutely delicious. Will be making again. Served with Smashed Potatoes and Tomatoes in Mayonnaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Reduced recipe to a one serving sized ham steak, cut back on the maple syrup. Gave a lovely glaze to the steak and great flavor. Served with Macaroni & Cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This is so good. Simple and fast to prepare and wonderful flavors with the salty and sweet combo, served with steamed veggies and recipes#209962 lovely dinner. I did follow another reviewers suggestion and continued to drain the fluid from the ham (couldn't believe how much there was) and as the ham browned then started adding the glaze. Lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I've been cooking for over 50 years. I've always wished there were some way to make a tasty ham steak. Well, here it is! My wife and I loved it. I'm looking forward to making it again and again. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      We enjoyed this ham and glaze for dinner tonight. I did put it in the oven as others have suggested. It looked watery at first but the sauce does cook down and gets sticky and flavourful. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I did a few changes. I used 1 lb ham steak, 2 tablespoons maple sryup, 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 tablespoons stone ground mustard. It was great! What a nice recipe as a starting point. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This glaze is wonderful as is but tonight I added 1/4 cup honey and 1tsp molasses. I had enough for my ham and my son's fishsticks which he said was the best sweet and sour fish he ever had. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      I used this ham steak recipe for our Easter Dinner and it turned out great. I was worried that it was going to be too sweet, but followed the directions as stated despite my hesitance and it turned out wonderfully. I'm really glad that I didn't change anything in the recipe. This was super quick and made my family happy without having a huge amount of leftover ham like usually happens on Easter. I will definitely keep this recipe tucked away for a special treat for Sunday or holiday dinners. Thank you AngelaTN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Great recipe. I added a pealed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

    • on December 23, 2012

      Simple, easy, tastes great! I browned the ham on one side, flipped it and added the glaze and let it reduce. I served this with instant mashed potatoes and broccoli and spent about 15 min. in the kitchen. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Really simple and so good. Thanks for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This was really good and so different. I added about 2 teaspoons of corn starch to the cold maple syrup mixture before I put it in the pan so that the sauce was a bit thicker. I also dried off the ham steak really well before putting it in the pan. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Oh my goodness. This ham steak recipe is going to be hard to beat. Ham and syrup - a match made in heaven. Great for an easy weeknight dinner, and yes it goes perfect with mac n cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      YUMMY! I tripled this recipe and used the glaze on a half ham for Sunday Dinner. The boys were working on my pantry so this was so fitting. I loved the flavors. I was unsure of the vinegar, mustard, syrup combo but WOW added a flavor to the ham that talked to you softly. I did drain off the liquid from the ham but still had some to finish cooking out. I was glad as I slit the ham in several places and juiced the glaze mix before it thickened cooking down into the ham itself. It really infused a nice flavor. Served this with #214165 By littledarlin and #75396 By Jellyqueen for dessert. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Glazed Ham Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.4
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    23%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1982.2 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 15.9 g
    63%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites