Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Frosted Pumpkin Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Frosted Pumpkin Bars

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2003

      I wish I could give these more than 5 stars. They're amazing! The fact that you can use the beaters to mix the whole thing makes them so easy to prepare, and they really satisfy your sweet tooth! The frosting is definitely a must. I made these for dessert tonight, and my mom has already asked me for the recipe. I'll be making these again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Hey Jan, these bars were sooo good!! I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, as that's how good they were. To spice up the bars a bit more, I added 1/2 teaspoon each, of ground ginger and ground cloves, after all, that's the other two spices found in a pumpkin pie, and since this is made w/canned pumpkin, I thought those two spices would work well in this recipe. When I made the frosting, I found I had to add 8 Tablesponns of the maple syrup, but I also think one could add 9 if need be. The next time I make these bars tho, I'm also going to add a 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of Maple Flavoring to the frosting to give it a bit more of maple flavor. I'm not sure how many nuts I topped these bars with; I just sprinkled on how much I wanted, and I lightly tapped them into the frosting with the tips of my fingers, so they would not fall off when removing from the pan. One other thing I wanted to mention here, I found this recipe makes 24 bars rather than 45. Jan, thank you so much for posting this recipe, I know my family's going to just love these bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars too! It was a perfect mix of everything (made exactly to recipe), resulting in moist, delicious, spongey bars which were beautiful on their own but the frosting made them perfect. Yummy, I can't wait to eat the rest later...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Very easy and very yummy. Nice for a fall treat. I found them to be not very pumpkin-y, but are more like a mild spice cake. the frosting is out of this world. I used real maple syrup given to me by a friend who tapped it out of a tree in her yard. Special! Also left pecans off as my kids are not fans of nuts. Will make again as everyone likes these, but will probably amp up the cinnamon and add some cloves and nutmeg. Thanks for a really good one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Oh - these are SO good. I agree with other reviews in that they REALLY need the frosting. The bars aren't very good by themselves. But, these bland-ish bars are the perfect compliment to the super-sweet frosting! And, the frosting brings out the pumpkin flavor in the bars. I doubled the frosting recipe, and barely covered the entire jelly roll pan of bars. Also, the bars are rather cake-ish - I'm not sure I'd call them bars. I cut mine into 2X2" squares, only got 24 servings/squares. To get as many as the recipe states (45), the squares would have to be small ( about 1X1"). Nevertheless, this is a TERRIFIC recipe! These bars are SUPER YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      FALL, FALL, FALL... Quadrupled this recipe for our dining hall--excellent response! Added more spice though--for this scale recipe--1 tsp allsoice, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The frosting is the gilding. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      These were very good, but I did change them just a little. I read some of the reviews and decided it needed more spice so I added 1/2tsp of nutmeg and cloves. I also was a little heavy handed with the syrup. Oh, and I toasted the pecans before topping the bars... I think that is a must.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      These were great but I deviated from the recipe a bit. I made them with pureed butternut squash instead of pumpkin, butter instead of margerine, added 1/2 t. each of ground ginger and cloves, and topped them off with a simple orange glaze instead of the maple. Nice delicate cake-like texture. Thanks for a good way to use up leftover squash!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Well, I thought this was good, but I was a little disappointed with the lack of flavor. I loved the dense, moist, cake-like texture, and the maple frosting was deliscious! I just thought it needed more pumpkin flavor and spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      5 star recipe for sure! These couldn't be more delicious! Very moist and flavorful and easy to whip up. I made them for an after school treat since it was the first day of school today. My family went crazy for them! We can't stop ourselves from going back into the kitchen and having more! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      This turned out very good! I followed the recipe to the nose and the pumpkin bars came out very good. The icing was a little hard/tough to spread, so I added a little milk to get a softer consistency to spread on the bars. This was a definite hit, so I'll be making it again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Excellent! I made half a recipe in an 8X8 pan, which was kind of thick and baked longer than stated. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      These came out great with my tweaks to make them vegan (mainly subbing tofu for the eggs. Still baked up moist and fluffy) Next time I would sub pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon but other then that definite keeper! Maple and pumpkin. How can you go wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this recipe it is absolutely amazing. I didn't use icing or frosting, because I was too lazy to make a second trip to the store. I was worried how it would turn out, but it was simply amazing. would definetly recomend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Perfect for fall! Easy to make and they travel well. A nice alternative to pies and chocolate-focused desserts. I especially like the frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      These were amazing. I did not put the pecans on top and I added 3/4 cup raisins. The bars are a perfect texture and the frosting is soooo good! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Really nummy. Two of our favorite flavors, pumpkin and maple, in one great treat. I made a batch last night and am already planning to make another tomorrow..the family devoured it! I didn't have any maple syrup, but I do have granulated maple sugar so I used that and added a bit of milk..it worked fine. Thank you jan007 for posting such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      I really do wish I could give these bars more than 5 stars!! They have a dense cake texture & the flavour explodes in your mouth. I took them to a hockey potluck & no one really seemed to be trying them (I guess they aren't that specatacular to look at) so I "forced" my cousin to try one. She went back for seconds & passed them around with her endorsement - everyone that tried one LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      These are really delicious! Just the right consistency, very moist and flavorful. The frosting really topped them off nicely. I used a 13" x 9" pan, and baked them for 23 minutes. I had some leftover Yummy Caramel Frosting (Yummy Caramel Frosting) in the fridge, so I used that in place of the frosting in this recipe. These are fabulous for fall, and I'll definitely be baking them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      I made these exactly as directed. My FIL said they are like his mothers pumpkin brownies which were his favorite growing up. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Frosted Pumpkin Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1666 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.8
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    27%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 13.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 74.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites