18 Reviews

This is a great recipe. I have made it a couple of times. I add lots of cinnamon and nutmeg, chopped walnuts, fresh apple chunks, and golden raisins. Light cream cheese and 2% milk works just fine. One of the reviews suggested adding the bread pieces to the egg/milk mixture and letting it soak a bit before moving it to the 9X13 pan. Worked GREAT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marylizabeth January 08, 2012

It was delicious..... only slight change I made was last minute. Right before putting in the oven I melted 2 tablespoons of butter with a smidge of cinnamon and nutmeg an drizzled over the entire dish. My friends raved about this. Excellent recipe and super easy to follow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy M. September 04, 2013

This turned out better than I expected, but did make some changes from the original recipe. Instead of plain bread, I used cinnamon raison swirl bread. It gave it the punch of flavor that I think it needed. I also added a touch of nutmeg. It was great! I served it with real maple syrup. I would do this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Cornbread January 01, 2012

I couldn't taste the cream cheese or the maple syrup as much as I wanted, but it was still good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 02, 2011

I made this for Christmas brunch. Everyone raved about how good it was, and my son even requested leftovers as breakfast-for-dinner on Christmas night. This will definitely be on our menu for the future. Excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma December 26, 2014

This is soo yummy! I made it for a staff breakfast and a family brunch. It went very quickly. Adding the cinnamon really made this dish fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy H. May 01, 2014

This recipe was a hit at my husband's company meeting! Everyone loved it. I ended up using challah, and I think that made the dish extra tasty. I did find that I had to cook the casserole longer than 50 minutes. I baked it for a little over an hour. <br/>I am making this for Easter brunch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma O April 19, 2014

Yum!!! I made this for Father's Day breakfast. It was enjoyed by all! I used a multi-grain ciabatta loaf and used all milk instead of milk and cream. I also added some cinnamon and sugar to the top before baking. <br/><br/>My family asked for the recipe and I know we will be saving this for more special occasions! <br/><br/>Thanks for the great recipe, I always know my new recipes will come out great if they are from Kittencalskitchen. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
decarli1 June 16, 2013

Amazing...made this for a brunch today. Everybody loved it. I made it following the directions less the sugar. Definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresat3 March 11, 2012

I revised this version to be a little healthier and got not complaints from the crowd! I used 3 whole eggs and subbed the rest with egg whites. Also substituted was fat-free milk for whole.

It was a hit for our Saturday brunch!

Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wifey With A Knifey December 04, 2011
Maple Cream Cheese French Toast Casserole