12 Reviews

I don't normally cook collard greens but received a bunch in my organic veggie box this week and thought this recipe looked interesting. Hubby is not a fan of greens but he gobbled his up without complaint. I used olive oil and next time will use a dash of white balsamic at the end the next time to balance the sweetness. Thanks for this healthy yet yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Fancy Pantry October 19, 2012

I really liked this recipe even though it was sweet. DH is not a big fan of sweet, but I like it. My BBQ sauce also had a little spicy bite to it which I enjoyed. This was very easy to make, but you do have to watch it so that the sugar in the maple syrup does not burn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens October 03, 2012

I added a splash of cider vinegar at the end as was suggested in the reviews and that kicked it up for me, also I added an extra teaspoon or so of maple syrup at the end. My greens took an extra 5 minutes to cook fully. Great recipe, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook December 18, 2011

As a northern girl, I had no clue what to do with collards when they showed up in my farm co-op box Monday. Found this recipe and used olive oil instead of butter. It turned out VERY good...everyone in the family ate & liked it. The only change I might make next time would be to use less BBQ sauce as I found that flavor dominated the others a bit too much for my tastes. Thanks for sharing though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom September 07, 2011

This is the first time I've cooked with collards, and this was completely delicious. Yes, it was sweet, but I thought it complemented the collards amazingly. I did a half butter, half olive oil saute. I would also try adding some garlic next time. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seventhspice January 18, 2011

I'm starting to think cooked greens aren't my thing. If any recipe would make them taste good it would be this one. However, my mom enjoyed them, but she enjoys most any greens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond July 02, 2009

I just tried collard greens for the first time in my life. I think this is a good recipe. I am not sure I like collard greens. However, I made ribs with a BBQ sauce that I found on Recipezaar (don't have the number right here) and used it for the greens. A very satisfactory dinner over all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NM Patricia April 26, 2009

For me, it was a little too sweet, but it was a nice change from my usual garlic/olive oil way to make greens and my husband loved it. Anything that gets that guy to eat greens gets 5 stars from me. I think next time I'll try it with the bit of vinegar at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb A. December 06, 2008

Sweet collards was a nice change of pace. The maple flavor was complementary. I added a splash of white balsamic vinegar at the end... might be weird but I thought it went well and added a touch of acidity that it needed. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenAstroPirate January 10, 2008
Maple Collard Greens