12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent tasting! I did learn you shouldn't use lite syrup...it never reduces even if you cook it for 20 minutes (which was totally my fault, but a good lesson learned). Definitely a keeper, though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felix4067 June 05, 2006

Very easy, a bit fool proof which was perfect for me since i am always missing or adding too much of something. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal H. September 30, 2012

Carrots don't get any better than this. Try doubling the sauce to make them even more special!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Only The Best Recipez September 23, 2011

One word - AWESOME!! Kittencal, this is so easy and so very tasty. I halved the recipe because I just had a few carrots but next time I'll go out to the store and get more if I have to; it's that good! Thanks again for a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 September 08, 2009

I don't have one morsel of these left after Christmas dinner last night. I followed a different procedure than the recipe indicated solely for timing purposes, but the recipe itself is exactly the same. I doubled the sauce, used pure Canadian Maple Syrup and made it separately from the carrots. The sauce thickened a bit as it cooled and I added a bit of cornstarch and water to the sauce to let it thicken since others said that the sauce didn't stick to the carrots very well. I steamed the carrots in the microwave to add to the sauce when it was almost time to serve dinner because I didn't want to be rushing when the Prime rib came out of the oven. When the carrots were about 3/4 done, I took them out of the microwave and let them simmer on the stove in the sauce. The sauce absorbed into the carrots and they had a very nice flavour and texture. I hadn't had any yet and I saw they were almost all gone on the table and I had to nab some before they all went... and they did. This is a really versatile recipe since I was able to make the sauce and carrots separately and then mix them together allowing to simmer and blend the flavours. This is a keeper, Kitten. I will make these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 December 26, 2008

Great carrots! And very simple and tasty. I served these with a steak, but would think that they would be wonderful with ham or pork with the maple flavor. Thanks once more Kit for another great keeper. Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 20, 2008

I made these up ahead of time for Christmas. I steamed the carrots, then put them in a plastic zip lock bag for easy storage. Obviously, if I had cooked them according to directions, they would have turned out better, but because of lack of stove space, they turned out suprisingly well (if not a bit runny side). Maybe next time, I will cut down on the butter and let the maple syrup shine through!!! On the whole, a very nice recipe. Thanks Kittencal for coming through with another good one!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl December 26, 2006

I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and they came out great!! I doubled the sauce for the carrots and let it reduce a little longer and it covered the carrots very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reenie42 December 20, 2006

These were good but next time I am going to double the sauce and see if that doesn't help the sauce stick better to the carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sheri- December 26, 2005

I made this recipe for Thanksgiving.I liked them..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck November 25, 2005
Maple Brown Sugar Baby Carrots