Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Balsamic Pecans Les Fougeres Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Balsamic Pecans Les Fougeres

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Interesting take on the usual spiced or sweet nuts. As a diabetic I am pretty much staying away from pure maple syrup so I subbed Cary's Sugar Free Maple and a beaten egg white. I was using a homemade fig balsamic so when the nuts came out of the oven I used the same spices I would in a fig cake- a little ginger, some mace and some lemon zest. These were terrific. I loved the balsamic taste with the nuts. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Just finished making these and they are amazing!!! I didn't know if I had a pound or not, so I mixed enough maple syrup and balsamic vinegar to coat the nuts, and kept tasting and tweaking until it suited me. I used red balsamic vinegar I had bought from Sam's Club about a year ago. It's a big bottle and when I had bought it the taste wasn't so good, but after some time the vinegar gets thicker, sweeter and all around better. Then roasted then in a pan lined with parchment paper - it really help keep the mess down. Also turned the nuts during the roasting to help the maple/balsamic coat the nuts better. This recipe is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      What an interesting flavor! My balsamic vinegar was quite sweet, so I actually used a little more than 1/4 cup to get the right flavor. After roasting they seemed a little TOO sweet until I added the salt, which made them perfect. I'm so excited to put these in my Christmas gift baskets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made these this afternoon, intending to give them as gifts. Not any more!! These are not leaving my clutches - they are simply wonderful and i will be making them again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      These are fantastic. My bag of pecans was 400 grams, just an ounce or so shy of a pound. So there was a little bit too much liquid and I had to pour a bit off. Other than this little glitch, preparation was quite easy. I will certainly be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      These were more like sweets than I expected, I thought that the more tart notes of a balcamico would offset the maple syrup but this recipe seemed to bring out the sweetness in the balsamic, so for us it was more like sweet plus sweet flavour. We seem to prefer a less sweet result so this was only "ok" for us but personal preference is everything and tastes differ around the globe so I'd advise people to judge for themselves. Please see my Rating System: 3 stars for a recipe that we liked, but couldn't rave about. The sauce hardens into little puddles around the nuts... be careful these are all very much hotter then it looks when you first get them out of the oven, so beware of burns. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I didn't know if it was better to use white or black balsamic vinegar. Cause my black balsamic vinegar is probably not the best quality. So I used white. It gave them a nice result. They are like candy. Thanks Marra. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Based on the other reviewers comments, I took the strategy of reducing the balsamic vinegar by half and then mixing in the maple syrup (about 1/2 cup) and that work very well. I got them to crisp up better that way I think. Good combo of flavors. My friend used them on Blueberry Spinach Salad With Chicken, Pecans and Bleu Cheese. Thanks for sharing this. Much better then just plain sugar coated nuts. Might gift these at the end of the year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I made these up to take to the beach with us yesterday for nibbles. Used walnuts in place of pecans. Like Paula, there was too much of the syrup, so I just drained off before roasting and used the extra in salad dressing! Very taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These are habit forming. I did have a little problem with the proper measurement. It could have been that my pound measure of pecans was a little shy. There seemed to be way to much syrup/vinegar and I ended up draining the excess off and toss with additional pecans. They were also baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. I did use a Grade B maple syrup. These make an excellent treat or a very nice gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I liked these, but kept thinking they needed something, I think I wanted more of the flavor they have, but the maple/balsamic is pretty light. My husband wanted them crunchier so I will try toasting the pecans a bit before mixing them into the syrup. I used Mrs. Butterworth syrup since that was all I had, I will try them again with pure maple syrup and see if it makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      DH and I both love these. They make a wonderful little gift for Christmas. Off I go to buy more pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Excellent Christmas treat! These had a really great balance of sweet, tangy and salty. They didn't last very long in our house. Thanks MarraMamba!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These were wonderful. I have to be careful when I put them out or I will sit there and eat them all. Thanks for a great recipe I will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Goodness Gracious! These are Dynomite! Sweet and salty with a touch of balsamic. I might try these on the stovetop next time and see if I can reduce the liquid a little but they are just delightful as they are. Thanks for the recipe Marra!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Balsamic Pecans Les Fougeres

    Serving Size: 1 (754 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3764.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2942
    78%
    Total Fat 326.9 g
    502%
    Saturated Fat 28.1 g
    140%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 224.8 g
    74%
    Dietary Fiber 43.5 g
    174%
    Sugars 161.7 g
    647%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes