18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good and satisfying. I used walnuts instead of almond and added more apple and a bit of butter. Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 22, 2014

Enjoyed this fast, warm and nutritious breakfast this morning. I did use the quick oat but will use my favorite, steal cut oats on weekends. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting. Made for ADOPT A TAG, from the game FOOTBALL POOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 20, 2012

I eat oatmeal most everyday and I love variation. This offered a nice one for me w/the slivered toasted almonds and diced apple. There's nothing more comforting on cold fall mornings than a big bowl of oats.
Made to honor and memory of Sharon's DH in KK"s forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 28, 2010

What a great oatmeal recipe! I loved the warming spices and the crunchy topping in this recipe and so did my sis! A wonderful way to start your day during the winter months.
Instead of topping each bowl with toasted sliced almonds, we used your Oven Baked Muesli (Oven-baked muesli) and it worked out so nicely. YUM!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another keeper with us, Sharon!
Made and reviewed as part of your cookathon October 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 26, 2010

I used 1 1/2 C almond milk and 1 C water, rolled oats (so longer cooking time), a large GS apple, pancake syrup (maple's too expensive right now) with some maple flavoring added, a bit of cinnamon and vanilla, no salt. I added a little almond meal instead of the slices. I think next time I would cook the apples first, then add the oatmeal to cook, as we like our apples not crunchy. Did need some more sweetener. This was a nice change, but I think I'll probably stick to Kittencal's (for the kids).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead October 16, 2010

Great oatmeal recipe, tasty and filling! Using the maple syrup for the sweetener really made this and set it apart from my usual oatmeal. I used lowfat milk and didn't toast the almonds. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 16, 2010

DD (toddler) loved this, I liked it and felt it's healthy and doesn't taste really bad. I did change it to what I had on hand. I used spring water, sea salt, old fashioned oats as I like the texture much more, your Almond Milk (Almond Drink Base), a grated fuji apple with the skin still on, date syrup/molasses as I did not have maple syrup and I also used a bit of the left overs from the almond milk making instead of sliced almonds as I didn't want to waste it all and it's still good fiber I guess. Not that I would recommend that as I'm sure it's more tasty with the toasted sliced almonds. I toasted the almond too. I put it together with the almond milk on top first then apple and a dash cinnamon & the nuts then the date syrup. I wouldn't say I will make this again but glad to have made it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 27, 2010

All the flavors of a dessert in a nice healthy breakfast. We loved the combo of maple syrup, toasted almonds, and apple. Made as written using the add apples while cooking option. Will be making again and will cut the water by about 1/2 cup. Thanks so much for such a yummy post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl March 02, 2010

Another winner, Sharon. Love the combo of flavors; a real treat for a great breakfast. Made for An Apple a Day event in Cooking Photos.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks October 02, 2009

Made for Zaar Stars. Oatmeal is one of my favorite breakfast foods mainly because it fills me up and keeps me satisfied for a long time. I'm always willing to try oatmeal a new way and will always look for oatmeal recipes for tag games. This one was wonderful. I loved the toasted almonds along with the sweetness of the apple and the maple syrup. Thanks for posting this Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 25, 2009
Maple Apple Almond Oatmeal