39 Reviews

My boys who ONLY like Manwich loved this. It really does taste exactly like it - minus that funky metallic taste that Manwich has. I used 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead of the flakes because I had it in the pantry. I also added 1/3 cup chopped onion the last minute or so browning the beef. I added the green peppers at that point too. This is a keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burkehenry January 06, 2008

@Suzytx: "Does not have a lick of sugar in it."? This recipe calls for a whole cup of ketchup, and your standard Heinz stuff has 4g of sugar per *tablespoon*. It has plenty of sugar, unless you're just using tomato sauce. Anyhow, great recipe, tastes absolutely wonderful. Thank you kindly, op!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barl May 13, 2013

Excellent recipe! I may cut back on the ketchup as it was a little heavy on the 'tangy' side for our taste next time.... But that is the only things I'd change. Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arntzie October 22, 2012

This tastes great. I haven't had Manwich in years because it's processed and full of chemicals, and this is a great alternative. I didn't have bell peppers, but I did have canned green chiles. This will be my go-to recipe when I want some Manwich.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cocobrown February 24, 2012

First of all, I'm puzzled by the 'fresh' comments. You're replacing canned sloppy joe sauce, with canned tomato sauce (which has also been sitting around for 'who knows how long'), and ketchup which is just as processed. The recipe is still 95% "canned". If you're concerned about avoiding HFCS, you'd better check your ketchup too. The only thing "fresh" about this kind of sloppy joe recipe is the spices, and pepper and onions (if you use fresh instead of dried). That being said, it's still usually an improvement over whatever ingredients are in Manwich -- but it depends entirely on what's in your ketchup. This recipe will also turn out with many various tastes, depending on what ketchup you use, so it's hard to give it a general rating. When I'm in a hurry, I'll turn to a recipe like this one, so I tried it. I cooked down some fresh pureed tomatoes first, rather than use canned sauce (which I didn't have on hand anyway). This was, however, way too salty. There's already plenty of salt in commercial ketchup, there's no need to add any more. The overall flavour was good, so it gets 3 stars -- remove the extra salt, add fresh onions, use fresh tomatoes, and rid yourself of the delusion that this is not just as "canned" as Manwich, and you'd have 5 stars.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather October 22, 2009

I found this recipe because we made sloppy joes for dinner. For 7 of us it takes 3 pounds of meat but the problem was that I only had one can of Manwich. I tried this and absolutely cannot tell the difference between this and the can. In fact, I think it tastes much better than the can. Thank you for sharing this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckeye41 June 28, 2012

This cannot possibly be a clone of Manwich since the second ingredient on the can is corn syrup and this recipe does not have a lick of sugar in it.

It may be a tasty sloppy joe mix (and certainly healthier) but it is definitely not a copycat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzytx October 29, 2011

My husband is very picky about only liking "manwich" but he loved this recipe. We all loved it so it is a keeper. Another time, I only had enough manwich for 1 pound of hamburger and our family uses 2lbs of meat. So I used one can of manwich and this recipe for the 2nd lb of hamburger which tasted even better than plain manwich or the recipe alone.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbree2000 August 14, 2011

My family liked this recipe very much. I didn't use minced onions, I chopped my own and added them while browning the meat, I also added bell pepper as we like bell peppers when we fry up hamburger. I will use this recipe again. Thank you very much for a well received meal at my house!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dissie April 07, 2011

This was REALLY good, although I won't say it tastes like Manwich since I actually really dislike sloppy joes normally. I was out of tomato sauce so I subbed enough fresh pureed romas to make it up and added a pinch of sugar for the acid. I also added about twice the called for garlic, and will probably cut the salt in half next time. Great recipe for a family friendly meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilusmc February 27, 2011
Manwich (Copycat)