Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manwich (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manwich (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2008

      My boys who ONLY like Manwich loved this. It really does taste exactly like it - minus that funky metallic taste that Manwich has. I used 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead of the flakes because I had it in the pantry. I also added 1/3 cup chopped onion the last minute or so browning the beef. I added the green peppers at that point too. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      @Suzytx: "Does not have a lick of sugar in it."? This recipe calls for a whole cup of ketchup, and your standard Heinz stuff has 4g of sugar per *tablespoon*. It has plenty of sugar, unless you're just using tomato sauce. Anyhow, great recipe, tastes absolutely wonderful. Thank you kindly, op!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I may cut back on the ketchup as it was a little heavy on the 'tangy' side for our taste next time.... But that is the only things I'd change. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      I found this recipe because we made sloppy joes for dinner. For 7 of us it takes 3 pounds of meat but the problem was that I only had one can of Manwich. I tried this and absolutely cannot tell the difference between this and the can. In fact, I think it tastes much better than the can. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      This tastes great. I haven't had Manwich in years because it's processed and full of chemicals, and this is a great alternative. I didn't have bell peppers, but I did have canned green chiles. This will be my go-to recipe when I want some Manwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      This cannot possibly be a clone of Manwich since the second ingredient on the can is corn syrup and this recipe does not have a lick of sugar in it.

      It may be a tasty sloppy joe mix (and certainly healthier) but it is definitely not a copycat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      My husband is very picky about only liking "manwich" but he loved this recipe. We all loved it so it is a keeper. Another time, I only had enough manwich for 1 pound of hamburger and our family uses 2lbs of meat. So I used one can of manwich and this recipe for the 2nd lb of hamburger which tasted even better than plain manwich or the recipe alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      My family liked this recipe very much. I didn't use minced onions, I chopped my own and added them while browning the meat, I also added bell pepper as we like bell peppers when we fry up hamburger. I will use this recipe again. Thank you very much for a well received meal at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This was REALLY good, although I won't say it tastes like Manwich since I actually really dislike sloppy joes normally. I was out of tomato sauce so I subbed enough fresh pureed romas to make it up and added a pinch of sugar for the acid. I also added about twice the called for garlic, and will probably cut the salt in half next time. Great recipe for a family friendly meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      First of all, I'm puzzled by the 'fresh' comments. You're replacing canned sloppy joe sauce, with canned tomato sauce (which has also been sitting around for 'who knows how long'), and ketchup which is just as processed. The recipe is still 95% "canned". If you're concerned about avoiding HFCS, you'd better check your ketchup too. The only thing "fresh" about this kind of sloppy joe recipe is the spices, and pepper and onions (if you use fresh instead of dried). That being said, it's still usually an improvement over whatever ingredients are in Manwich -- but it depends entirely on what's in your ketchup. This recipe will also turn out with many various tastes, depending on what ketchup you use, so it's hard to give it a general rating. When I'm in a hurry, I'll turn to a recipe like this one, so I tried it. I cooked down some fresh pureed tomatoes first, rather than use canned sauce (which I didn't have on hand anyway). This was, however, way too salty. There's already plenty of salt in commercial ketchup, there's no need to add any more. The overall flavour was good, so it gets 3 stars -- remove the extra salt, add fresh onions, use fresh tomatoes, and rid yourself of the delusion that this is not just as "canned" as Manwich, and you'd have 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      I thought this was a great copy. It seemed to be lower acid, so much better for those with reflux issues. I would say to consider that the corn syrup will be in your ketchup to the review by suzytx. I made only one slight addition a 1/8 tsp of beef Better than Bouillon as it intensified the flavor for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I also forgot the tomato sauce when I made this and it was great. Also, I detest ketchup because I think it overpowers EVERYTHING that you put it in, so I always sub with Sherry. In this recipe, I didn't want to use a whole cup, so I just used 1/2c Sherry. And I left out the salt. And it was delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Great sloppy joes! This is very close to Manwich but a lot fresher tasting. I tripled the recipe and used ground round. Everyone enjoyed their sandwiches for our 4th of July get together. Warmed some up for lunch today and they are even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      Getting Manwich here in Australia is rather expensive, so I was looking for a copycat recipe and decided to give this one a try. While it didn't taste exactly like Manwich (we needed to substitute some ingredients we couldn't get), this was really good and I liked it as much as Manwich. Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

    • on September 23, 2013

      We have tried tons of copycat Manwich recipes and this is the first one that really tasted like it. I did use fresh ingredients rather than canned and omitted the salt. I made a double batch and none was left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      I think that this is about as close to the canned Manwich that you will find. I used ground beef and ground turkey half and half. I used a few frozen yellow, green and red peppers and fresh Vidalia onions. I just opened up a can of tomato sauce and put in what I thought it needed along with the 1 cup of ketchup, and doubled the ingredients otherwise. I didn't double the ketchup, however. My husband said he would have thought it was Manwich except he could see more vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Sustyx, the cup of ketchup will provide more than enough sugar for this recipe, since ketchup has plenty of hfcs in it.

      As for the recipe itself, I enjoyed it more than the canned stuff. I like to add a bit of chopped up bacon and jalapenos to mine, otherwise I leave this excellent recipe alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      love this recipe ...didn't have green bell pepper but still came out fine ....thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Pretty darn close! I might just can some of this up while I have everything around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manwich (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1644.3 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes