Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manhattan Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manhattan Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2002

      Wonderful meatballs! I particularly loved the flavor the preserves and barbecue sauce gave the meatballs. In fact, I made another bath to freeze for later use. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome dish!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I first had this wonderful recipe with Moxie for Halloween, and just new I had to make it myself. I used Smuckers Apricot Preserves and Tony Roma's Blue Ridge Smokies BBQ sauce. FABULOUS! I did add 3 cloves of garlic to the meat and used ground turkey instead of beef. I ended up with about 23 meatballs, so lunch will be great tomorrow! This is a keeper. Very simple to make and will definitely be a recipe used frequently in this house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      What a surprising and delicious combination of flavors! I made these for Halloween night, and they were devoured by grownups and picky kids alike. I used Smucker's "just fruit" preserves and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce, and made meatballs about the size of a golf ball, so I had about 30 meatballs. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      These are finger lickin' good! And I had to shoo DH away from the kitchen as the aroma kept drawing him in to ask, "how much longer until we can eat them?" I made 1/2 recipe of meatballs (got 24 of them) and a whole recipe of sauce. It was perfect. I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      A definite winner! I made these for my Sex and the City farewell and they were loved by all. I left out the onions (as I'm sure you knew I would) and followed Kari's advice and browned them then let them slow cook in the crockpot. Thanks so much for posting this great party recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      Sly, I made these little babies for our superbowl party but I did cheat a bit. I mixed and browned the meatballs the night before. The morning of the game I doubled the sauce but used 10 oz apricot preserves and 10 oz peach preserves since that was all I had. I then threw everything in my crockpot on low. They were fabulous! Everyone was grunting and groaning while they were eating them. (Well, everyone except Dan but you know how he is *wink*) These are my new favorite party food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      I made these for 3 holiday parties and have a request for them to be brought to a combination birthday/ superbowl party. I changed the recipe slightly for my convience. I browned the meatballs in the oven, heated the bbq sauce and preserves on the stove top, then combined them in a crockpot to keep them heated during the parties. I'll keep this recipe at the top of my take to party list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      I like the flavor of these. It reminds me of "grape jelly" meatballs but with a lighter flavor and not quite as sweet. I cooked my meatballs on the stovetop then kept them in the sauce in my crockpot on low. Really great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Made these for my 4yr olds' birthday party for the adults. Not only did the adults enjoy them but my son REFUSED to eat his birthday cake because he wanted seconds on the meatballs first. I have a picture of him holding meatballs on toothpicks with a look of euphoria on his face while his cupcake sits in front of him untouched. Funny. Anywho, we used already prepared frozen meatballs and put them in the crockpot. Came out very yummy. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Delicious! Took to a luncheon for a bunch of women and got rave reviews. Used ingredients exactly as written, but baked the meatballs at 350 for about 15 minutes, then added to crockpot with sauce and cooked on low for four hours. Refrigerated overnight and then reheated in crockpot before the luncheon. Thank you for a yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I have made a couple times now and have alway used premade meatballs . the flavors really blend well together. I use MAmma lui's premade meatballs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Delicious! I also cheated and used frozen meatballs. This was really really good. I kept going back for more. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      OMG these are good! I did cheat and used premade frozen meatballs. The sauce on these were fantastic! I doubled it and used 2 bags of meatballs. I also kept them warm in my crockpot...worked great. People were fighting for them!! A warning though-don't make these to soon before a party. Every time that I would here my family in the kitchen and my crockpot rattle,I would have to yell at them. By the time that guests got here I only had 1/2 of what I started with left. Thanks so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Yummy! Big hit with DD's friends at her NYE party. Thank you for sharing, easy to put together and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Made these for a party and they were great! I am not a big fan of BBQ sauce, so I wasnt sure how they would turn out, but ther were delicious. Very tangy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      These are a tangy yet sweet meatball that is a change from the jelly/chili sauce version. Made mostly as is; left out the parsley and added a little celery to the meatballs. I browned the meatballs and then put in a crockpot with the sauce. Made for a Super Bowl party and they were devoured!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      5 Stars for a super easy quick receipe - also tastes great. Like others, I made my recipe for meatballs, browned them the night before and then the next day thru everything into the crockpot. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Wow! These are not just the best meatballs out there. But this also is one of the best foods to serve when entertaining a crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I didn't try the meatballs, but the sauce was pretty good. The barbecue sauce overwhelmed the apricot preserves a little bit, but overall very tasty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      These are fantastic! My husband LOVES them. They are so easy to make and with some colored toothpicks they make a great appetizer! Kids love them too b/c they aren't spicy and they are different than the traditional tomato sauce meatballs. A real treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manhattan Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (1750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.9
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    41%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 54.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 407.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites