Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manhattan Clam Chowder (Quick) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manhattan Clam Chowder (Quick)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      If you are searching for a quick dinner for two you have come to the right place! This is a delicious chowder in almost no time at all filled with fresh vegetables and proves to be very flavorful. Complement with a tossed green salad and some crusty Italian bread and you are all set! Thanks Dorothy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Really good! I cooked the potatoes, celery and carrots for a few minutes prior to adding everything else. I also threw in a bottle of clam juice to add to the amount of liquids. Perfect for a winter's dinner here in New England. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This is quick and short preparation! The flavor is awesome. Wash, cut, open and dump everything to the pot and let it simmer. Potatoes and carrots in my opinion probably be better to cook first for 3-5 minutes before joining the rest of the ingredients. Serving with 3oz of Sirloin Steak and a scoop of Linguine with Garlic & Olive Oil for dinner of 2. Very fulfilling! Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      I doubled the recipe, my husband loves soup of any kind! This was very good and I liked the blend of cayenne and thyme. I did add an extra cup of water and used a tsp of ham bouillon instead of bacon. Thanks for the suggestion of the whole baby clams, I had no idea of what to buy. Now we have a delicious lunch already for us tomorrow. Thanks for the great recipe. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I usually make New England Clam Chowder so thought I'd give the tomato based chowder a try. We enjoyed this recipe and it certainly was simple. I omitted the potato as we follow a low carb die and I sauteed the veggies first. I will make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Quick and easy as advertised. We had this for an easy lunch and quite enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Very enjoyable soup for dinner. I doubled the carrots and celery and left out the potatoes to save on carbs. Added the clam juice, but waited to add clams until it was closer to done. Used the stewed tomato option. Hubby doesn't like red chowders, but I thought it was pretty good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Derf, thanks for this great recipe. I fried the bacon in the pot first and set it aside. Then I sauteed the onions, carrot and celery in the bacon fat before adding the remainder of the ingredients. I didn't add the baby clams till the last 5 minutes of cooking and I added an 8 0z bottle of clam juice and a little bit of parsley with the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Nice recipe and easy. Needs more juice. Added extra clam juice and a little spicy v8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

    • on February 06, 2009

    • on October 30, 2007

      I just made this for lunch today. MMM. I can hardly wait until tomorrow to have some more. It was very quick and easy to make and tasted delicious. I did leave out the potato because I don't really care for them in soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This was wonderful! My hubby is not a fan of celery (if he can see it) so I put in bigger pieces so I could fish them out. :) We both loved it! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      great fantastic hats off to the chef a food god recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Perfect meal for two that tastes like it's been simmering all day. I used a 10 oz. can of baby clams, and left out the bacon because I made this during Lent for a Friday supper. (I'm a little late with my review!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      this was fantabulous. of course i only take any recipe as a guide - improvisation is the key to anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manhattan Clam Chowder (Quick)

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.6
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    40%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 137.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites