Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      Best recipe for clam chowder i have ever used. I did substitute V-8 spicy juice for the water to cove the ingredience. Everybody has loved the chowder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      The ONLY Manhattan Clam Chowder recipe you will need. I can't believe how amazing and how EASY it all came together. I made a few changes, based on reviews and personal preference. Used clam juice. Used the mini potatoes/Ukon Golds, chunky cut. Doubled carrots, 2 a small dice that went into aeromatics, the other 2 chunky as listed. Garlic after the veg had softened, not before (too soon burns it). Used Crushed tomatoes. Omitted bay leaf (don't like them) and subbed 1/4 cup fresh parsely for oregano. Added 2 tsp dry tyme. To keep it brothy (I did a long simmer) I periodically added chicken broth, ended up adding 2/3 of a box. And I tossed in 1/2 cup marsala wine at the last 4 minutes of veg cooking prior to adding liquids. I do that in most soups and stews. I kept the green peppers. I like Manhattan Clam Chowder to have a tang to it. I didn't keep bacon in it, just used the fat, used 3 pieces thick cut peppered bacon. Ate it while the soup cooked. Yum. The base of this recipe was perfect, and I did a heap ton of research before using this as the template. You SO can't go wrong with this one. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      Made it exactly as written except doubled it from the suggestion from other reviewers. So glad I did that!! A friend came by to watch football while I was making it and he was impressed. Had to give him some to take home to the family. I noticed there was no picture so i hurried up and took one before it disappeared. I couldn't find clam broth so I used clam juice and some water. I used 1 lb fresh clams (and the juice from them) plus 2 6.5 oz cans of clams (plus their juice).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Made it without the bell pepper and bacon and added Italian tomatoes. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Delicious! I made the recipe exactly and the chowder was Wonderful! My husband and our friend Eider ate two bowls of chowder. I served butter crackers and sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top of chowder. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Made this a couple of weeks ago and plan to make it again today. It is a great soup. I like it and my BF really, really likes it. I halved the recipe but only made a couple of changes - less bacon and red bell pepper instead of green. Easy to make - just took a bit of time to chop up all the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This was amazing! I've always been a fan of the New England version, but made this for my grandparents who loved it. Very easy to prepare and absolutely fantastic a day later after the flavors have "gotten happy." I couldn't find actual clam broth, so I bought two bottles of clam juice and used the juice from 5 tuna sized cans of baby clams and added a cup of vegetable broth to make up the 5 cups. This is definitely a repeat and a wonderful change from the New England version. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Terrific soup! DH loved it--had 3 bowls! My only change was to use a can of crushed tomatoes-he doesn't like chunks of tomato in anything. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This is a great Manhattan Clam Chowder recipe. I made a large pot full for a work function. There were not leftovers and I received rave reviews. I pretty much followed the recipe as is. Thanks Jeff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This recipe is wonderful! I prepared it for the Christmas holidays and it was a huge hit. I substituted about a cup of canned whole clams for a cup of the chopped. I would also puree some with a hand blender to thicken it up a bit more. This recipe will definitely go in my file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This chowder tastes EXCELLENT and is very easy to prepare! The only changes I made were that I used 1 tablespoon of dried parsley flakes instead of the 1/4 cup fresh parsley, I used 2 tablespoons of pre-rendered bacon fat instead of using the slab bacon and I used regular salt & pepper from my shakers. If you are a Manhattan Clam Chowder lover - You will want to double this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      My sister-in-law was talking about how much she loves Manhattan Clam Chowder, and the fact that it is hard to get in restaurants where we live. I found this recipe and surprised her with it and she couldn't stop raving about it. We were painting at her house and all the people there that sampled it loved it. My brother a confirmed "Clam Chowder hater" LOVED it. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Jeffie--I'm so glad you got this recipe, know you can be trusted not to fool with a perfect thing! Made this just as written and it was wonderful! It's been years since I've had really good Manhatten style clam chowder, this was well worth waiting for! Thanks again Jeff for knowing a good thing when you see it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      YUM! This recipe was surprisingly easy and tasted better than my favorite soup place that prides themself on clam chowder. I made this for two people and it lasted us 3 days. I didn't have thick slab bacon so i just cut up 5 slices of regular bacon and it worked just as well. I cut off some of the fat first before frying and I didn't have to dump any of the hot grease after. I also omitted the green pepper and removed the bay leaves before adding the clams. I served this with some buttered freshly baked bacon cheddar rolls and it was sooo goood. I will make it again soon for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      This was absolutely the best clam chowder that I've ever tasted! It was easy and made the right amount. Thanks very much Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      Very good, according to my family. Never got a chance to eat it myself because they at the whole pot ! I am giving it 5-stars because it made a non-Manhattan Clam Chowder person a fan. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      DH and I usually don't agree on soup recipes. (he likes creamy stuff...I don't) This one was great!! Both of us enjoyed it...and plan to prepare it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Now I can see what the excitement over clam chowder is! I don't care for New England Clam Chowder (yeah, I'm a sad excuse for a New Englander - LOL), but I'd definitely make this one again. Simple and quick to make once all the veggies and clams are chopped, and the end result is a lovely thick chowder that doesn't involve clams floating in warm cream. Good stuff, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      This is a wonderful thick and hearty chowder that's not overly tomatoey! The only change I made to this was to add about 1/2 tsp or so of dried thyme. Cook times were right on. We loved it and will make it over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (3984 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    34%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 19.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 586.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes