Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2003

      A spicy, tantalizing dish that people raved about. I used a spicy turkey-sun-dried tomato sausage (Sam's Club) instead of salt pork, and omitted the green peppers (because I was out) and the Old Bay (ditto) -- still just fabulous. I didn't have to skim fat, because I used the lean sausage. I, too, will take Manhattan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      The best Manhatten Clam Chowder ever. This was a two day process. I used salt pork and made the soup according to your directions. I let if refrigerate overnight, then peeled away the fat layer (yuk). Right before it was time to eat, I heated it up and finished the recipe like you directed. The flavor was awesome and due in large part to the salt pork and seasonings. My family was impressed with me. Thanks for making me look so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Hubby was not happy with having a change in chowder...he loves New England not that red stuff...well he took one bite and said...this is really good...the more he ate the more he loved it...guess what...I can but this in my keeper file...the only change I made was to use razor clams that we dug and froze and I used chopped cherry tomatoes for the can...I normally have all the ingredients handy with the exception of the leek...so next time I just might omit it...yummy stuff...thanks for posting it! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This recipe was pretty good, but not very clammy, and it was a little thin for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Made this chowder for New Year's Day (with the bacon)and everyone loved it. We were told it was better than any restaraunt chowder they ever had. It wasn't difficult to make at all. There is none left! Thanx for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      Outstanding flavor. This took a while to prepare but was well worth the effort. I used 4 6oz. cans of chopped clams instead of whole baby clams and chicken broth instead of water. There was also plenty of juice in the canned clams. I doubled the tomatoes and left out the leek. This was a late night meal for my husband after returning from a long business trip and he loved it. We had the leftovers the next day for lunch and they were even better! Served with Texas Toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      I have nothing but great things to say about this soup, it was perfection. I used several slices of bacon for the salted pork and I left out the leeks. I made this a few months ago, and I'm just getting around to reviewing it. Great recipe Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      I thought this was very good. It is difficult to find a "red" clam chowder. I could have added more spice. My husband, on the other hand, LOVED this. He is begging me to keep making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      This was really good except I think 3 cans of clams was a little much. Next time I'll use just 2 cans. I also put 1.5 times the tomatoes. Couldn't find leeks at the store, so I also left out the green peppers and doubled up on the carrots and celery. No tabasco for me either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.5
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    31%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 42.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1470.2 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites