9 Reviews

Hubby said yum! He added 2 splashes of bitters because he likes it. Also served over the rocks. Thanks for posting it here.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 02, 2012

Very good! My DH made this for me. He did use Cinzano but I would have liked less of it! Enjoyed! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 28, 2007

An outstanding cocktail!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul March 03, 2007

I tend to not fuss around with the natural flavor of a good bourbon, but I approached this with an open mind. I backed off on the bourbon/vermouth ratio and settled on 8 to 1, and the addition of bitters was great. The drink had just a hint of sweetness and a very pleasant experience. As long as we are suggesting brands .. I would suggest you try Old Heaven Hill 100 proof bottled in bond kentucky whiskey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Hilbrich December 12, 2006

I drink so many of these I'd better give it 5 stars! Actually, I'm usually the one that makes them in our house. I either put the glasses in the freezer for 10 or 15 minutes or let them sit with ice water in them to chill them. And shaking the ingredients in a mixer makes it a little foamy when you pour, which people tend to like. I rarely use bitters because I just can't taste the difference, but always use a cherry or two. Cinzano vermouth is the only way to go, if you can find it. I think the vermouth makes a bigger difference than the bourbon. And I, too, prefer Maker's Mark.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyh July 20, 2006

Super drink - Being in Canada good Bourbon is hard to find so I used Crown Royal a Canadian Rye with Cinzano Vermouth and no bitters with NO complaints - very smooth and I love the cherry Thanks Gay for a mellow mood!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 08, 2005

We have friends that love Manhattans and my husband loves Makers Mark, so how could we go wrong! Great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Rose July 02, 2005

This baby is STRONG!!! I made the drink strictly according to directions,and it turned out good, more of a sipping drink because I prolly could only handle 2.I will try again because I love bourbon but will add something like sweetened lime juice or something to cut the strongness, or maybe even a drop of honey, but then it wouldn't be a manhattan.Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen February 08, 2005

Being Kentucky born and bred, a good Manhattan is an amazing way to showcase good KY bourbon. Makers Mark is great but also try Woodford Reserve. Evan Williams single barrel is also very smooth. I tend to stir the Manhattan so you don't "bruise" the bourbon. Learned this at from a bartender at a historic restaurant here in KY, (where I found Pappy Van Winkle offered!). I too, used to shake them, but no more! Served cold over ice is my preference but anyway is good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bloodhound April 06, 2016
Manhattan