14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful chutney!!! Sweet, tangy, and spicy!! I used a serrano pepper so I had some heat with the sweet of the fruit. This recipe filled 2 canning jars so next time I will make more and preserve them for myself and gifts!! I like the flavors of this chutney, thanks for posting!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee October 09, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe. Used frozen peaches and canned diced green chilies. Substituted<br/>Peach Balsamic for the cider vinegar as it's not quite as strong. Kudos to Sharon 123 for such a fabulous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Broadlake Mtn. March 24, 2013

Love the recipe and also the reviews for alternates, i.e. canned peaches if frozen not available, and being able to use the crock-pot to avoid spillage...wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saltspring cook October 13, 2010

Delicious on top of the lentil sambal recipe. I have to be careful of sugar so I used 1 cup of apple juice added a little bit of agave nectar. Next time I make it, I think I'll leave the agave out until the end and see if it's still sweet enough for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilaila645 June 22, 2010

Very delicious! I made this to serve with cold turkey. Since it was summertime, and I could use fresh peaches it went much better than traditional cranberry. I peeled the peaches by putting them in boiling water for about a minute, the skins came off almost by themselves! I presumed you meant jalapeno peppers, I think another time I might use a little more than 2 teaspoons. The seasonings are really terrific in this chutney. Thank you for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja August 11, 2009

Loved it! Easy, tasty - whole house smells great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lacey_lei June 09, 2009

Excellent Chutney. I just finished making this and just had to taste it. It is great and the smell while cooking is wonderful. I am going to use it later today in an Indian recipe. I didn't have fresh or frozen peaches so used canned. Great flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 02, 2009

Excellent! I must admit that I did not use any peaches this time as they are not quite ready yet this season....just more mango. I will try with peaches when they are in season (didn't have frozen at home). This was the perfect topping for your wondeerful Lentil Sambar. Together they made a meal worthy of any Indian princess!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 May 31, 2009

Very good. I tripled this recipe and cooked it in my crockpot on high with the lid cocked to one side for the chutney to thicken. Using a crockpot to cook chutney and fruit butters is a great alternative to stove top cooking as there is no 'molten lava' to bubble out and burn the cook and the sauce/butter does not burn. The cook also has time to assemble everything needed for the canning process and the house smell great all day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trasarra September 08, 2008

so good- and the aroma is just beautiful! i made this as part of a christmas hamper for my parents- and the whole jar was gone in less than a fortnight! i had an answering machine full of messages asking for more and some for their friends!! thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelleny February 03, 2007
Mango Peach Chutney