Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mango-Orange Mousse Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mango-Orange Mousse Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2013

      Really nice cake layers that are perfect after an overnight set. Used Dole frozen mango b/c it is always sweet and never has stringy fibers - with no added sugar. Cointreau is the perfect liqueur. I made the mistake of not setting overnight & so I did not get a firm enough set for pretty slicing (whoa!) but great taste. Gone by the second evening! Next time I plan to reduce the whipped cream in the mango puree and try for a firmer set (thinking more like the lemon layer on lemon meringue pie). Will definitely make again - comes together really fast but needs that overnight chill or even maybe a freeze. (but it is mighty hot here)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I made this for my grandson birthday and he really enjoyed it. I found the mousse not to have a lot of flavor, maybe because of the mangoes. I will make it again but make sure I have really ripe mangoes and I think I'll use mango liquor. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      this review is for the mango mousse only (I used it with other cakes). The consistency is excellent. I reduced the amount of sugar by half (make the mousse taste somewhat bland, I should have stuck with the recipe for this part). I increased the cream from 1 cup to 1 1/4 cup (another mistake because it diluted the mango flavor, I will reduced cream to 3/4 cup next time). I think the mousse has a mild taste and is best layering with other fruits (mango, peach, strawberry etc.) and chiffon cake or sponge cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I tried this & it came out YUMMM!!!! The cake was very light & airy and the mouse was SO Yummmoooooo and I really like the hint of orange. I didn't have Orange liqueur so used fresh orange juice & it worked fine.Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I couldn't resist making this. I like mangoes and I like mousse cakes! I doubled the cake recipe here just to be sure since my spring cake pan's big, used orange juice/puree instead of liqueur and splenda, also lessened the sugar in the mousse because the mangoes are sweet enough. I couldn't wait either for 4 hours to chill, so I placed it in the freezer for 30 minutes, then back to the fridge then ate it right away. lol It's so good and I'm pretty sure that the orange liqueur would have been much better. In the meantime, this worked for me! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I've been looking for a good Mousse recipe and am glad that this recipe did not disappoint me. I will just have to add extra sugar next time to balance the sour taste of the mangoes. Thanks for sharing this delicious Mousse recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      I would take the Mango Mousse recipe and apply it to other fruits! Just add more gelatine if the fruit has more juice in it. Works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      I've never bake a mousse cake before, but amazingly it turns out beautifully and soooo yummy! However I substituted some of the ingredients to 1 cup of ready packed mango puree and orange juice instead of liquer. But I guess I should have lessen the sugar as it's a bit too sweet for me. I also find that leaving the cake in the freezer overnight will make it more firmer and nicer. I'm going to make it again defintiely! Thanks for the marvelous recipe Mirj! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      What an amazing light, delicious cake. A bit of effort but well worth it, one family member asked me where I bought this, then when I said I made it he begged for the recipe. Thank you so much for this, I highly recommend it.....thanks again...Anne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mango-Orange Mousse Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.8
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    54%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 155.5 mg
    51%
    Sodium 55.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 41.5 g
    166%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    orange liqueur

    unflavored gelatin

    orange liqueur

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes