29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great tasting muffins! i'm not a fan of ultra-sweet stuff, so i tried this out with 2/3 cup of sugar. also i think 1 cup of milk is a bit too much (mix becomes too watery), so i used 2/3 cup of milk instead.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpledino June 29, 2002

Excellent muffins. I threw in a little coconut as well, about 1/2 cup

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 23, 2001

I worked with Bill and he had brought these in one day..holy god they were awesome. Just would like to apologize for not doing the reviews sooner )

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick Corrieri February 03, 2003

Probably the best muffins I've ever had! It's mango season here and I used the best variety available, alphonso! I scaled this recipe to make 6 muffins (for my 6 lone muffin cups), and used 1 and 1/3 tablespoon oil (i.e. 1/12 cup) and 1/2 cup mango pulp. I also omitted the egg, as I normally do for muffin recipes, substituted half the flour with whole-wheat flour, and used sugar as my "sweetener". These muffins have an amazing soft, spongy and moist texture, and will make for fantastic breakfasts over the next few days. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 07, 2002

Delicious. I also cut down the milk and sprinkled chopped macadamias and coconut on top. They were a huge success at work.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie December 10, 2002

Any time that I have to alter a recipe this drastically to have it turn out, I automatically file a new (private) copy to my recipe books because of all the alterations, which is why I gave it only 3 stars. I read every review, and cut the baking powder to 3 teaspoons, and the milk and sugar by 1/3 each. Instead of oil, I used melted butter (personal preference) and added 1 teaspoon of cardamom, which enhances mango anything! The end result was fabulous: a tender, not overly-sweet mango muffin with pureed base and mango chunks. It took 18 minutes baking time until perfection. Next time, I'm trying them with the banana-mango mixture; I can't wait!!! Good core recipe but too much tweaking to warrant a 5 star rating.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef July 08, 2009

Unfortunately, the muffins I made did not turn out well. I'm accustomed to following recipe instructions to the letter and I noticed that some of your reviewers did make adaptations. I think the problem with mine was too much liquid. I used 1 cup of mango, and honey instead of sugar. The flavor was good, but even though they were in the oven at 450 degrees for thirty minutes they were not done. The outside had begun to burn when I took them out. Next time I use one of your recipes, I'll read the reviews first. If I make this recipe again, I'll adjust the amount of liquid.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Mallia June 16, 2003

wonderful muffins! The only problem i ran into was the baking itself, the top was starting to burn but the middle was still uncooked so i had to leave it in the oven for an extra 10 minutes..even then the middle was still undercooked and the top was burnt. I read the reviews before I tried this and cut down on the sugar and baking powder. I added some cardamom as suggested as well, which was an excellent decision! I urge everyone who makes this to add cardamom. Really brings out the mango flavour. A big thanks to The_Swedish_Chef for that!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brisingrsky July 03, 2012

These are the best muffins I have EVER made!! I blended the mangos in a BLENDER to about 1 cup before adding to the mix. They came out with PERFECT little muffin heads. So cute! I haven't been able to do that before! Next time I will take a picture to show you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannineMarie in MN January 12, 2008

Ok in general this was a good recipe. I doubled the recipe. one batch was the recipe to the T. And then what I did was the second lot of muffins, I added 3/4 cup of mashed bananas. It was wonderful! The combination. Try it. You won't regret it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac May 17, 2003
Mango Muffins