15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just ok. I don't think my mango was big enough. I found my smoothie lacking in mango flavor but the candied ginger goes nicely. I might make it again but not add the ice and substitute the water for milk. I think the water and ice dilute the wonderful mango flavor. I live in a rural area so I don't get mangos a lot, now I wish I had just eaten the mango plain. Hope this helped you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia16221 January 10, 2011

This smoothie is so much tastier made with coconut milk for those of us with dairy allergies! More of a tropical Zing!<br/>I buy a pound or two of fresh ginger, puree it in my blender and then freeze by the teaspoonful on a tray. When frozen I bag it. The ginger is far zestier done this way and so easy to take a piece from the bag, drop in the blender! For those who don't want a strong ginger flavour I suggest 1/2 teaspoon measures to start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aurora C. February 03, 2015

WOW --- mango just off the tree, with the very minced ginger, a container of Yoplait lite Very Vanilla and 6 ice cubes. That's all ---- very good. My my my. The only difference between mine and the picture -- is that our mango is taxi cab yellow! nothing pale about it -- including the flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook October 05, 2014

This was quite tasty but couldnt really taste the ginger at all. :( Very easy to make and used a mango from my local Farmers Market. Thx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 July 16, 2011

Quick and refreshing! Mango and ginger are two of my favourite flavours, so I had to try this one! I used stevia as the sweetner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian In Atlanta July 18, 2010

Yum! This was tasty!! Despite using 0% plain yogurt, I didn't use any sweetener and I used grated fresh ginger: it was lovely as is. Although, I may try adding another mango next time - just because I love mangoes so much! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene April 06, 2010

Wow! (That's what my husband and I were repeating like a mantra while drinking these.) I admit to using Fage whole milk Greek yogurt, so the calories were definitely in place, but I couldn't help myself. Almost everything I make that calls for yogurt gets Fage. Anyway, I minced the ginger up very fine, but despite that and the blending, there were still tiny, but surprisingly good bits of it here and there. This is very, very good and will be a regular here. Can't wait for summer! Thank you, Toni, for this keeper. :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) February 18, 2009

Yummy!! I loved the ginger n this smoothie! I actually found in the middle of putting ingredients in the blender that I didn't have any yogurt. I didn't have vanilla ice crema either, so I actually used frozen Cool Whip! Turned out thick and good. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because my minced crystallized ginger didn't really get blended in, but stayed in pieces, so as I sipped the smoothie i got the random piece of ginger in my mouth. Maybe next time I'll just use ground ginger 0:-). Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Chef July 13, 2007

Four stars in anticipation of liking it better next time. Crystallized ginger needs to be more than minced--next time I'll try running it through a little food processor. I used vanilla yogurt no sugar and crystallized ginger, though next time I plan on making it using crystallized ginger (Crystallized Ginger , Ginger Syrup & Ginger Sugar) and will probably use some of the resultant ginger sugar in the smoothie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 May 28, 2007

Loved it! didn't need the sugar! just a little more ginger :) thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO April 13, 2007
Mango Ginger Smoothie