Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mango Chutney Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mango Chutney

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2007

      I just wanted to note that some of us are not metricly inclined! (Ha-ha) Here in Hawaii we use just standard good ole American measurements. So for the mangos its is roughly 2 1/2 lbs. and for the vinegar its roughly 2 1/2 cups. Took some mental home work for this 45 year old to figure this out. FYI

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Superb chutney! We made this just prior to Christmas and opened the first jar tonight to serve with a curry. It has matured brilliantly and by the time we get to the last jar, it's going to be phenomenal. I was conservative and went for the smaller amount of chilli powder. In future I'd put in the full amount - the chutney can take it. The timing was a little out for boiling down the chutney - I thought when reading the recipe that 25 minutes didn't seem long enough, and our batch took just over an hour to thicken down to the correct consistency. This could very well be due to my very old range, but it's worth taking a note of this if you're making the recipe and it seems a little loose at the 25 minute. However, there's no way this detracts from the flavour. Thanks so much for sharing, Jan - we've been looking for the definitive mango chutney for a long time and we've definitely found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      great recipe... thanks for sharing easy to make and easy to add your own twist. i added some cloves and turmeric to give it a fuller flavour... yum yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Excellent but a bit too salty for us. I would half the salt for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I used white vinegar, almost green mangos (those are firm!!!) and green chili powder. I didn't really follow the directions, I just added everything in the order listed and cooked it.....then used a stick blender in the pot. For me the yield was 3.5 pints. It has a tart and lovely flavor that fills my mouth and is mildly spicy. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Made a half batch and didn't have enough for the masses. I thought there was going to be mutiny. Made for A/NZ #41 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Great Mango chutney! I used white vinegar and I think it will be even better with a "softer" vinegar. Any suggestions? I'll also cook it down a little thicker next time, even though it's still nice runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I made this recipe to accompany Thanksgiving dinner and it was a HUGE hit! I had a jar left over and my boyfriend was eating it on everything, and he was quite sad when he found out that he had finnished off the last of it. I will definitely use this recipe again, as it produced a fantastic chutney, perfetcly sweet and tangy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I made this recipe yesterday. Easy to make. I found some mangoes in a small village near to us and as they were so cheap I bough 5 kilos of them. We had a curry meal last night and used some of this chutney. It is pretty good. I altered the recipe just a bit, reduced the salt by half, ans as I make my own chilli powder used just one tsp, it was enough, more and it would have been in competition with the curry. I think it will go well with cold meats and be super in cheese sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe Jan. Will make again next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. I made some this morning, and my husband is already halfway thru a jar! I added chopped jalapeno to half the jars, and left the other half just as is, and both are great. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      YUM. I went to the store to buy some Major Grey's, and it costs almost $5! My goodness! This recipe makes 6 times that much for only a little more than the price - and it's delicious! Excellent. Thank you so much for posting it. The only thing I will say is that I did cook mine for more like 45-50 minutes. So good, I'm really happy with it. Thank you thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I loved this recipe, I added 1 can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, but rinsed off the adobo sauce, chopped and it was absolutely awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Awesome! I make this all the time to use with baked brie or on turkey burgers. I always get rave reviews from friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      WOW!! This chutney is exactly the same as the bottled kind that I buy here! I have simply fallen in love with it and it is simply amazing!! Thankyou for such a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I've never tried mango chutney before, so I'm not sure how to compare it with others. This is good though. I made it to go in pattykay in L.A.'s Chicken Breasts With Apple Curry Sauce and I'm planning to use on Curry Cheddar Cheese Spread, Curry Cheddar Cheese Spread next week. For my unschooled-in-mango-chutney taste, it was a little strong on an English muffin. I thought it a bit salty and I had only used 5 or 6 teaspoons. But maybe that's what chutneys are supposed to be like. I'll have to check them out next time I do Indian buffet. Oh! And I did have to cook it down for about an hour and a half. But it is just beautiful to look at. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      yummy! Made 3 chutneys for the school fair, and this was the best by far (and it sold out in no time). I tripled the recipe to accomodate a 2.9kg tin of mangoes, and shortened the cooking time at the end since the mangoes were already mostly cooked. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly, and will make again next year. Thanks Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This was great! I didn't have enough raisins in the pantry so I subbed craisins and it was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Unbelievably good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      excellent chutney, but very hot and spicy. I only used 2 teas chilli, and one small birds eye, and it still made my eyes water, I must be a whoose!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! I made this last night to accompany Chicken Curry, Chicken Curry. The only thing I did differently was use mustard powder instead of mustard seed, though I think I'll make it with less salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mango Chutney

    Serving Size: 1 (2836 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 627.2
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    27%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3748.7 mg
    156%
    Total Carbohydrate 153.4 g
    51%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 141.6 g
    566%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites