22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Quick, simple and very more-ish....I had fresh peaches to hand so substituted them as suggested. Gobbled up by DH and my brother. This one's a keeper. Thanks, Dorothy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catxx January 10, 2003

This was excellent! Based on some other reviews I tripled the spices (for pretty large chicken breasts) and I also used about 3/4 the bag of frozen mango chunks from Trader Joe's. The flavor was quite good - served over some garlic mashed potatoes that we had left over. We all enjoyed this, from grown ups to toddler! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS December 19, 2010

We used a bag of frozen mango and I mashed the mangos so that it was more like a sauce. This was excellent. Lots of healthy vitiman C.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michjohns September 16, 2008

This is a very simple, very delicious recipe. I halved the recipe, because there were only two of us. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. The mangos, lime, cumin and cilantro are a great flavour combination. It is also a very colourful and attractive dish. I will be making this frequently. Thanks Dorothy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha May 03, 2003

I did add thinly sliced sweet peppers as I had to use them up. I really loved the spice/fruit blending of flavors. Great with the chicken. Thank you Derf, your recipes live on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka February 26, 2014

Just made it for the first time and it's a keeper. Things I did differently than the recipe...

I cut the chicken into strips. I then sprayed the strips with a touch of butter flavor non-stick spray to make the spices stick better. I doubled the spices, because when I first mixed it, it didn't look like enough to cover the chicken.

That's pretty much the only change I made. I love cilantro but my husband hates it. I liked that you don't use the cilantro until the very end so I was able to use it on my plate and not his.

We're lucky to be here in early summer South Florida which means our tree is making more mangoes than we and all our friends will ever possibly be able to eat. I'll be making this dish many times in the next few months!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luna441 June 02, 2012

We liked this a lot - fresh and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyMidget January 23, 2012

This was pretty good. I cut the chicken into chunks and at least doubled the spices and added cinnamon. I cooked it in olive oil which turned out fine and I served it over baked sweet potatoes and drizzled just a little honey. My husband liked it but thought I went overboard with the lime juice which is possible. I really liked it. It was fast and simple also which is great because I tend to cook slowly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slowcooker_rachel October 09, 2010

This was an absolutely delicious blend of flavors, as well as, a beautiful and colorful main dish. I used butter instead of margarine and probably used more than the recipe called for, as I did not measure. For leftovers, I put a tad bit of butter in a skillet and warmed until just heated. I can't wait to try this with peaches! Thank you Derf, for posting one that I will make often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy August 11, 2010
Mango Chicken