Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mango Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mango Chicken

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2003

      Delicious! Quick, simple and very more-ish....I had fresh peaches to hand so substituted them as suggested. Gobbled up by DH and my brother. This one's a keeper. Thanks, Dorothy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      This was excellent! Based on some other reviews I tripled the spices (for pretty large chicken breasts) and I also used about 3/4 the bag of frozen mango chunks from Trader Joe's. The flavor was quite good - served over some garlic mashed potatoes that we had left over. We all enjoyed this, from grown ups to toddler! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      We used a bag of frozen mango and I mashed the mangos so that it was more like a sauce. This was excellent. Lots of healthy vitiman C.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      This is a very simple, very delicious recipe. I halved the recipe, because there were only two of us. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. The mangos, lime, cumin and cilantro are a great flavour combination. It is also a very colourful and attractive dish. I will be making this frequently. Thanks Dorothy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      I did add thinly sliced sweet peppers as I had to use them up. I really loved the spice/fruit blending of flavors. Great with the chicken. Thank you Derf, your recipes live on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

    • on June 02, 2012

      Just made it for the first time and it's a keeper. Things I did differently than the recipe...

      I cut the chicken into strips. I then sprayed the strips with a touch of butter flavor non-stick spray to make the spices stick better. I doubled the spices, because when I first mixed it, it didn't look like enough to cover the chicken.

      That's pretty much the only change I made. I love cilantro but my husband hates it. I liked that you don't use the cilantro until the very end so I was able to use it on my plate and not his.

      We're lucky to be here in early summer South Florida which means our tree is making more mangoes than we and all our friends will ever possibly be able to eat. I'll be making this dish many times in the next few months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      We liked this a lot - fresh and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This was pretty good. I cut the chicken into chunks and at least doubled the spices and added cinnamon. I cooked it in olive oil which turned out fine and I served it over baked sweet potatoes and drizzled just a little honey. My husband liked it but thought I went overboard with the lime juice which is possible. I really liked it. It was fast and simple also which is great because I tend to cook slowly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This was an absolutely delicious blend of flavors, as well as, a beautiful and colorful main dish. I used butter instead of margarine and probably used more than the recipe called for, as I did not measure. For leftovers, I put a tad bit of butter in a skillet and warmed until just heated. I can't wait to try this with peaches! Thank you Derf, for posting one that I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Made this last night, and after reading the reviews only used half the chicken with the same quantity spices. Chicken was perfectly coated and the Mango/Onion(used a shallot) topping was delicious. Great on top of some brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This did not turn out very well for me. I didn't feel there was enough mango in it, and silly of me I didn't buy an extra one at Wegmans. It was also over all very bland to my family. If I make this again I will add more mango and seasonings, and probably use some mango puree or nectar to make a sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I loved this! The mangos were so good. If anything, I thought the chicken could use a little more seasoning, but all and all, I enjoyed this dish a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This was just OK. The family did not like it all. But they don't like cilantro. I should have left it off but it did add flavor. If I ever do it again I will add more of the dry rub as there was not enough on my large chicken breasts. It needed more flavor on the chicken itself. I have another mango salsa recipe that I do like better so I could use that one instead of the one here. It was too bland. Thank you anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      yummy! i sliced the chicken into tenderloin-sized pieces to speed cooking and sprinkled some extra herbs on top as i flipped to give it an extra kick. i was missing a few ingredients, yet even without coriander or lime, this was delicious! you can bet i'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Wonderful summer recipe. We have made this a dinner staple in our family rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      I am not sure why annya127 thought this was too sweet. The only ingredient that adds sweetness is the mango. I found it wonderful served over rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I really dislike giving low ratings ... so no rating for this one. My boyfriend enjoyed it, but I thought it was too overwhelmingly sweet and the flavors didn't go together at all. Sorry... maybe I just have a different pallete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      We really like this dish. I cut the chicken breasts into nugget sizes; didn't want this too sweet or mushy so the mango I used was not ripe therefore omitted the lime. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      Beautiful on the plate & the palate. The blending of flavors was right on target. I didn't change a thing. We had it alongside a lentil tomato couscous & felt like we were dining out rather than in. Thanks so much so the recipe. Susan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mango Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.2
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    23%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 162.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites