Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mango Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mango Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2006

      Very tasty cake - not a noticeable mango flavor, but it has a nice fruity aroma and the puree makes it very moist. I made it for a friend who loves mango, nuts and cream, so I took SusieQusie and Makanani's suggestions and served it with mango whipped cream (cream, sugar and mango puree) instead of the icing. I suspect it was a little lighter, and enhanced the mango flavor. Thanks for sharing! (Update: I tried this cake again and used sweetened mango puree - the sort found in Indian groceries - instead of fresh mango, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I found that this dramatically increased the mango flavor in the cake, yay! And it gave the cake an appetizing orange color. I also swapped golden raisins for the nuts, and tried out the cream-cheese icing, and it was definitely a hit. With those changes, up to five stars for sure - I'll definitely make it again.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      APPLAUSE !!!! Super cake! I had 2 lonely mangoes that needed using & felt like baking today. They took on a new life in this cake! I had to cut the recipe in half since that's all the flour the pantry had to offer on short notice. I was feeling rather "tropical" so I substituted rum flavoring for the vanilla & added a sprinkling of flaked coconut. It baked beautifully in an 8" X 8" pan. Again, a shortage forced a change - the cream cheese in the icing was exchanged for 4 tablespoons of Philly Peaches & Cream cheese swirls. That creamed with 1 cup of powdered sugar was perfect(although the cake without icing is darned near perfect.) My compliments to your Granny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      This was a yummy cake, and it didn't have any butter or oil in it!(except for the frosting) The older it got, the better it tasted too. I used my blender to mash up the mango, very easy. I made this for cinco de mayo. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

    • on August 05, 2013

      I had a lot of mangos on hand so I decided to make a dessert. <br/>I didn't want to run out to the grocery store so this recipe was perfect. I did not have butter for the frosting or the nuts. I added flaked coconut on half of it just in case my guests did not like coconut and served it without the frosting. Amazingly moist cake everyone loved it! I am making this cake next weekend with other mangoes that should be ripened by then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      I just made this cake. It was no too sweet but frosting help. My cake had a lot mango flavor but the only problem is that the mass is too heavy, thick. I dont know how improve it.. I used a lots of sweet very ripe mangoes. I ate it drinking milk it was good but I wont make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This cake wasn't sweet nor was there much mango flavor. Can my sugar be defective? LOL The icing was good. I had to double the amount of icing. This reminded me of friendship cake sans spices. Next time, I'll just make white cake and put mango between the layers to get the real flavor of the mango and a lighter cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I made half a recipe with one mango. Loved the moist delicious cake and the wonderful frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      The is awesome!!! Pour a little rum on it for total decadence.
      This is a very moist dense cake. I used very ripe mangos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This cake is AMAZING and super easy to make! I did make a couple of changes…I used an angle-food cake pan which did increase the baking time and used store-bought vanilla frosting which I doctored up with some coconut extract. Lastly, I sprinkled shredded coconut on top. It was even better the second day and would recommend making it a day in advance. I’m going to try it again tonight, only this time using pineapple instead of mango.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This was beautiful & so easy to make. As mangoes are not in season right now, I used 2 cans of sliced mango. I left out the nuts & only used about 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar in the frosting, but otherwise followed the recipe. I also added 1tsp coconut essence to the frosting & covered the frosted cake with coconut flakes. Rave reviews from my work colleagues & DH. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This was nicely received by my family and I found the recipe very easy -- no pecans but I toasted some pine nuts which tasted great. I skipped the frosting and just used powdered sugar -- also, I used a 10" springform, so cooking time was 60 mins but I reduced heat to 325F after first 30 mins. Thanks RatherB -- going to play with this one with all the fruits of summer and work on reducing the sugar a bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I liked this cake. It was not too sweet and I like the density of it however, I did not taste flavour of the mango as I had anticipated. Maybe next time I would add some extract to help enhance the flavour. But I would definatly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I found the recipe very easy to prepare, but it's a VERY dense cake. I wish the family liked it, because it was such a breeze to make, but they didn't care for it. Great instructions though, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I've made this twice now and love it. Really quick and easy, makes a large cake and tastes great. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      Moist & delicious....I think it would be just as good without nuts & icing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      NurseDi, would you please adopt me??? Your family must be in heaven with all the great recipes that you have! This one is no exception. I made this cake last night and it's sinfully delicious. The only problem I had was mashing the mangos, but maybe they were not as ripe as they should have been. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Mango Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mango Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.7
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    29%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 41.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 229.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 48.6 g
    194%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites