Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mango Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mango Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2003

      i had 2 very ripe mangoes which i used, and the amount of sugar 3/4c was just fine. this made a moist fruity loaf. i did use chopped walnuts but omitted the raisins. i made this in a fancy nordicware loaf pan, so it had a nice design, and sprinkled the top with some confectioners sugar. delicious dessert, thanks cindy lynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      I can't thank you enough for posting this awesome mango bread recipe. Finally, my dream of baking my own mango bread and eating a little came true today!!! All thanks to YOU! I got around to baking this at 4 in the afternoon in my AMC Dutch Oven and it was ready by 5:10pm. I used 1 cup of sugar as one of my mangoes was not fully ripe. I did use 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 cup black walnuts. This made a beautiful huge loaf and I shared it with my closest friends' this evening for Best Friend's Day! Nothing could be more sweet to share with the sweetest of people than this "really GOOD" bread. I wish I could give you 15 more stars! UPDATE: I took this to my family doc yday! He didn't charge me even a single $ ;) Guess you should rename this bread "Mystical Magical Mango Bread With A Secret Charm!" ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I love this recipe and make it whenever I get a glut of mangoes to use up. I also add 1/2 cup shredded coconut to the mixture and sprinkle additional coconut on top before baking. It is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Relish......my mangos were ripe, so I used the listed sugar. Also didn't need to bake the full min very moist and full of tropical flavor. Did u know you can freeze peeled, mango pieces. Great in smoothies andbread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      I made 4 3.5x7" loaves that were rather thin (about 3/4 -1"). I am glad I did this. This rather dry batter resulted in something more like a moist cookie bar than a light and fluffy bread. I used olive oil and pecans as they were on hand. I like it and will make it again. However I will cut it up as little bars rather than serving as a bread/cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves. My mangoes were way past ripe, so I couldn't cut them well, so I used 3 cups of the mango pulp instead. I completely forgot to add nuts, but the bread was so yummy. I did lose a bit of the mango flavor. I don't know if it has anything to do with the ripeness of the mangoes, but next time I might add a little mango extract along with it. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      I had a couple of mangoes to use up this morning so I threw this together. It received some mixed reviews from the family who pretty much gave it an OK but not great. I thought it was good and will keep it in mind for the next time I have some extra mangoes that have to be used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I used a loaf pan and, unfortunately, an hour wasn't long enough for my oven to cook it. I kind of made a mess of it...but it was my fault for not checking to make sure that it was cooked through. It tastes delicious, though. LOVE mangoes! I used slivered almonds and they were very complimentary. I might consider less cinnamon, but it was not too overpowering. Would be good for breakfast or dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This bread is delicious. Miami, FL is in the middle of a great mango harvest. The ingredients could not be simpler. I did not use a loaf pan, but the 8" x 8" baking dish I did use shortened the bake time to 45 minutes. All the friends I gave this bread to as a gift loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is the same recipe I have been using for years. Living in Hawaii, I have mango trees in my own yard. To cut down on the calories and carbs, I substitute Splenda for the sugar. It tastes exactly the same as with sugar, but less fattening, so you can enjoy more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I don't have a bread pan so I baked this in a 13x9 inch pan and adjusted the cooking time to 30 minutes. I also replaced the nuts with raisins. It's so moist and yummy. Next time I'll try to add more mangoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      A friend gave me 2 large mangoes. I searched zaar and chose this recipe to try. The bread browned beautifully. I used yellow raisins and English walnuts both. My husband wanted cream cheese spread on it. Even went and bought cream cheese. It was yummy. We 2 ate the whole loaf in 24 hours!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      For me, this was one of the strangest recipes I've ever made! The ingredients are straight-foward but...when I added the eggs to the flour and mixed, I had a horrible looking mess!...but I kept on then made one standard sized loaf and one mini size. I used the walnuts and put a mixture on cinnamon/sugar on top. It did not have much smell, but they sure looked pretty. Straight from the oven, the taste was pleasant but I could not detect mango. I am hope that after a few days of resting, the flavor will be there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mango Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3467.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1498
    43%
    Total Fat 166.4 g
    256%
    Saturated Fat 23.4 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 558.0 mg
    186%
    Sodium 3907.7 mg
    162%
    Total Carbohydrate 454.7 g
    151%
    Dietary Fiber 24.2 g
    96%
    Sugars 244.3 g
    977%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites