14 Reviews

i had 2 very ripe mangoes which i used, and the amount of sugar 3/4c was just fine. this made a moist fruity loaf. i did use chopped walnuts but omitted the raisins. i made this in a fancy nordicware loaf pan, so it had a nice design, and sprinkled the top with some confectioners sugar. delicious dessert, thanks cindy lynn

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 03, 2003

I can't thank you enough for posting this awesome mango bread recipe. Finally, my dream of baking my own mango bread and eating a little came true today!!! All thanks to YOU! I got around to baking this at 4 in the afternoon in my AMC Dutch Oven and it was ready by 5:10pm. I used 1 cup of sugar as one of my mangoes was not fully ripe. I did use 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 cup black walnuts. This made a beautiful huge loaf and I shared it with my closest friends' this evening for Best Friend's Day! Nothing could be more sweet to share with the sweetest of people than this "really GOOD" bread. I wish I could give you 15 more stars! UPDATE: I took this to my family doc yday! He didn't charge me even a single $ ;) Guess you should rename this bread "Mystical Magical Mango Bread With A Secret Charm!" ;)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani June 11, 2003

I love this recipe and make it whenever I get a glut of mangoes to use up. I also add 1/2 cup shredded coconut to the mixture and sprinkle additional coconut on top before baking. It is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard July 11, 2010

Not all mangos are the same size, it would be helpful to have the quantity listed in CUPS instead of number of mangos. Also it would be nice to know the size of bread pan used. Overall a good bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wmill3 August 26, 2015

Relish......my mangos were ripe, so I used the listed sugar. Also didn't need to bake the full min very moist and full of tropical flavor. Did u know you can freeze peeled, mango pieces. Great in smoothies andbread

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby September 08, 2013

I made 4 3.5x7" loaves that were rather thin (about 3/4 -1"). I am glad I did this. This rather dry batter resulted in something more like a moist cookie bar than a light and fluffy bread. I used olive oil and pecans as they were on hand. I like it and will make it again. However I will cut it up as little bars rather than serving as a bread/cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim July 30, 2011

I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves. My mangoes were way past ripe, so I couldn't cut them well, so I used 3 cups of the mango pulp instead. I completely forgot to add nuts, but the bread was so yummy. I did lose a bit of the mango flavor. I don't know if it has anything to do with the ripeness of the mangoes, but next time I might add a little mango extract along with it. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brisket in Roses July 13, 2011

I had a couple of mangoes to use up this morning so I threw this together. It received some mixed reviews from the family who pretty much gave it an OK but not great. I thought it was good and will keep it in mind for the next time I have some extra mangoes that have to be used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie June 28, 2009

I used a loaf pan and, unfortunately, an hour wasn't long enough for my oven to cook it. I kind of made a mess of it...but it was my fault for not checking to make sure that it was cooked through. It tastes delicious, though. LOVE mangoes! I used slivered almonds and they were very complimentary. I might consider less cinnamon, but it was not too overpowering. Would be good for breakfast or dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEyedDogMama June 26, 2009

This bread is delicious. Miami, FL is in the middle of a great mango harvest. The ingredients could not be simpler. I did not use a loaf pan, but the 8" x 8" baking dish I did use shortened the bake time to 45 minutes. All the friends I gave this bread to as a gift loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miami Cook June 04, 2009
Mango Bread