9 Reviews

Wow, this salad was delicious! I loved the buttery avocado with the sweet mango, the citrus dressing just pulled it together perfectly! I have a calamondin tree, the little fruits are very sour so I subbed them for the lime juice; loved the touch of cumin, outstanding dressing! Made and reviewed for the Spain/Portugal Forum, July 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 July 08, 2012

This was a delicious salad. It had a wonderful flavor. The only thing I changed was to cut it in half and I used a blend of lettuces and arugula. The champagne vinigar adds a really nice subtle flavor. This made a really great lunch, I had it with Eastern European Stuffed Eggs Perfect lunch. Thanks for sharing your recipe WiGal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny December 09, 2009

This was excellent!! The citrus flavored vinaigrette goes perfectly with the avocado, mango and arugula. I didn't have champagne vinegar, so I used balsamic and that worked! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb R January 08, 2009

I made this awhile ago and can't beleive I forgot to review it. I followed the recipe exactly, only to make it a main dish meal, I added cooked shrimp. Hubby was a little wary of having mango in a salad, but I assured him it would taste good, and it did. We really enjoyed it, and I would definately make it again. It was different from any salad I have made before, and it was just what we were looking for when we were craving a light dinner. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly September 09, 2008

I just made this salad for lunch. It was great. I picked the arugala fresh from my garden and picked a mango fresh from the tree in my back yard, as well as the avacado. I was lucky that all the fruits were in season at the same time. I will defintely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandractive August 08, 2008

Oh YUM! I can`t wait to have the leftovers later tonight!!! I am so disappointed that my 2 avocados that I had were bad. It would have really been great then. Do slice the onions thin. I used fresh greens from the garden. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 30, 2008

Wowsers! I made as directed and boy was this one HOT salad! The pepper laden dressing is full of flavor and goes very well with the mellow flavors of the mango and avocado. Wonderful exciting salad! I did reduce the olive oil to 2 tablespoons, but kept the other amounts as stated. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 22, 2008

This is a terrific salad and I loved the flavor combination. I had to sub fresh spinish for the arugula because of availability, but the ingredients paired well with it. I also used a pinch of crushed red peppers in place of the red pepper. The dressing is full of citrusy flavor and matches nicely with the mango & avacado. I will be making this again. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 14, 2008

I LOVE this salad! Sweet, nutty, fruity, delightful! Of course I can never completely follow the directions and sort of made a mix with the mango, peppers, etc. But it is just divine! The only change I made to the ingredients was to add a few bits of jalapeno pepper (we like spicy at our house.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc June 11, 2008
Mango, Avocado and Arugula Salad