21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So delicious and had to resist the urge to add some chopped onion and cilantro and eat it like salsa. I know, my ideas just seem too percolate on their own. Made for PRMR.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 05, 2011

This is a fast and easy recipe to put together and I ended up with 4 half pint jars. As it was, I had some ripe mango and some lime to use up and just happened to have a can of pineapple in the cupboard. I took the other reviewer's suggestions and cut the sugar down to 1 cup. I may have overcooked the jam a bit because it came out very, very thick. Do try it over ice cream...it is quite the treat. I mix some of the jam with some brandy to thin it out and heated it up a bit over the stove...then poured over the ice cream. I think giving it a water bath might be a good idea as I had 2 jars that did not seal. I would do this recipe again!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl June 16, 2009

Made this about a month ago and it was great!! I wanted to make some different kind of chicken one nmight so I cut it into chunks and browned it then threw in a big heeping tablespoon of the jam and let it cook down! it was amazing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armywife0104 November 11, 2011

I made this as the topping for the mango cheesecake as suggested, but found this to be wayyyyy too sweet for me. I would reduce the sugar by half next time. However, the cake itself went over very well, and no one seemed to mind the, in my opinion, increased sugar. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm_Genia May 05, 2006

Great flavor but WAY too sweet if you're using ripe mangoes. I ended up adjusting the sweetness at the end by adding two teaspoons of white vinegar which brightened it up. Next time I make this I'll reduce the sugar by half and add half the lime juice in the beginning and save the other half for last so the heat doesn't destroy the tartness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Plumcake June 25, 2012

OMG I loved this it was easy to make !!! and it is tasty on everything thanks sooo much for this recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kerry Dunn April 08, 2009

This is an excellent tasting jam. The mild mango taste is what you orignally taste, but the aftertaste is pineapple. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C and it was already plenty sweet. Next time I make this, I plan to reduce the sugar further if mangoes are sweet and tasty - I used PI mangoes instead of Mexico. Instead of lime (don't have), I used our own Meyer's lemon from our tree. Although it probably doesn't need it - I also used the water bath method of preserving for 15 minutes in the end. Thank you for posting this recipe Sharon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori June 19, 2008

AWESOME!!! This stuff is so good! It makes great gifts, and goes on anything to make it taste better. In one batch I used key lime juice, which I liked very much. It's mango season in PR so this is a great way to save mangoes from going to waste, plus, you totally got me in to canning, so fun!! Thank you!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theAmateurPastryChef May 25, 2008

I made this and in 4 days all 3 jars were GONE! I had to make a double batch and of those 6 jars I only have 2 left(I think!!) I have secretly hid a jar so I can have some for company this weekend I hope they(my husband and children)don't sniff it out and eat that one ,too! My family is off of strawbeery jam completely and addicted to your jam. I hope they don't hear me writing about your jam or they'll force me to make more! Jam?! What jam?!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH January 21, 2008

YUM!!!! I had fresh cored pineapple so I ran it through my mini chopper to make a puree. I also didn't have quiet enough Lime juice so I topped it off with Lemon.... This came out beautifully, thick and tasty. I got "just" 2 Small bottles of Jam from this recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 September 05, 2007
Mango and Pineapple Jam