92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's sweet, it's crunchy, it's like no other salad I've had. Delicious! The red onion, almonds, and oranges make this such a pretty salad. Thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( September 20, 2002

Outstanding Salad! Simple with great light flavors that mix together so....well. I didn't have any almonds so I sugared chopped pecans and they were great. Can't wait to try this out again on guests next time.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 28, 2003

Totally Awesome salad! Definitely will make again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litttlesocks February 10, 2003

This was fabulous and the salad I'll make from now on when I have company and am serving my favorite sweet and sour chicken recipe. The crunchy carmelized almonds really made the salad special. For the greens I used 1/2 romaine and 1/2 baby spinach. I omitted the celery and only used 1/4 red onion(personal taste), and based on previous reviews put less than 1/4 cup sugar in the dressing. BTW I only needed to use 1/2 the dressing on the salad, so have it in my fridge to use on regular green salads at dinner this week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee November 22, 2008

What a great salad! I cut the sugar in the dressing by half (and it was still plenty sweet, probably because of the sugared almonds), substituted cilantro for the parsley, and used all romain lettuce rather than half iceberg. I also had some avocadoes I needed to use so I sliced them and tossed them in as well. I took it to a group of ten people who have met for a potluck once a month for over 20 years and everyone exclaimed over it. Thanks so much for this terrific recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omm November 16, 2008

Topped with some freshly sauteed shrimp, this was a salad not to be reckoned with! Excellent! I did add some fresh strawberry slices and used caramelized walnuts in place of the almonds, but otherwise made exact. Now a regular for my lunches!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble September 13, 2008

Delicious salad! Made this for a little get together with two of my sisters & their families. I halved the salad recipe, but kept the dressing the same. The almonds and oranges just added to the flavor and texture. Not hard to make and really delicious! I don't make salads often, since my husband isn't a fan. So I really enjoyed making AND eating this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm March 17, 2013

Excellent salad just like my Mom makes! I use a bunch of scallions instead of red onion because that's how she makes it and used 2 tsp dried parsley. Next time I'll up the salt a little in the dressing and reduce the amount of almonds and celery a little. This can easily be halved (it is in my mom's Sunset recipe). Such a fab recipe! Thanks, Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 13, 2013

i just cant get over how east it was to roast the almonds. so yummy, everyone was eating them out of the dish when they were done, i didnt think id have any left for the salad, and the dressing,,,sooo good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie June 19, 2012

Good. I liked the flavors in this. I made as directed with 2 small changes, the first being I used praline almonds that I bought at the store and the second that I added cooked cut chicken to make this a meal. The dressing is sweet but not too sweet, I liked the touch of heat. It is quite acidic, though. Next time I will cut it with water or more oil. Thanks for a nice recipe, Marie, I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick May 13, 2012
Mandarin Salad