Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mandarin Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mandarin Salad

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      It's sweet, it's crunchy, it's like no other salad I've had. Delicious! The red onion, almonds, and oranges make this such a pretty salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      Outstanding Salad! Simple with great light flavors that mix together so....well. I didn't have any almonds so I sugared chopped pecans and they were great. Can't wait to try this out again on guests next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Totally Awesome salad! Definitely will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This was fabulous and the salad I'll make from now on when I have company and am serving my favorite sweet and sour chicken recipe. The crunchy carmelized almonds really made the salad special. For the greens I used 1/2 romaine and 1/2 baby spinach. I omitted the celery and only used 1/4 red onion(personal taste), and based on previous reviews put less than 1/4 cup sugar in the dressing. BTW I only needed to use 1/2 the dressing on the salad, so have it in my fridge to use on regular green salads at dinner this week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      What a great salad! I cut the sugar in the dressing by half (and it was still plenty sweet, probably because of the sugared almonds), substituted cilantro for the parsley, and used all romain lettuce rather than half iceberg. I also had some avocadoes I needed to use so I sliced them and tossed them in as well. I took it to a group of ten people who have met for a potluck once a month for over 20 years and everyone exclaimed over it. Thanks so much for this terrific recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Topped with some freshly sauteed shrimp, this was a salad not to be reckoned with! Excellent! I did add some fresh strawberry slices and used caramelized walnuts in place of the almonds, but otherwise made exact. Now a regular for my lunches!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Delicious salad! Made this for a little get together with two of my sisters & their families. I halved the salad recipe, but kept the dressing the same. The almonds and oranges just added to the flavor and texture. Not hard to make and really delicious! I don't make salads often, since my husband isn't a fan. So I really enjoyed making AND eating this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Excellent salad just like my Mom makes! I use a bunch of scallions instead of red onion because that's how she makes it and used 2 tsp dried parsley. Next time I'll up the salt a little in the dressing and reduce the amount of almonds and celery a little. This can easily be halved (it is in my mom's Sunset recipe). Such a fab recipe! Thanks, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      i just cant get over how east it was to roast the almonds. so yummy, everyone was eating them out of the dish when they were done, i didnt think id have any left for the salad, and the dressing,,,sooo good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Good. I liked the flavors in this. I made as directed with 2 small changes, the first being I used praline almonds that I bought at the store and the second that I added cooked cut chicken to make this a meal. The dressing is sweet but not too sweet, I liked the touch of heat. It is quite acidic, though. Next time I will cut it with water or more oil. Thanks for a nice recipe, Marie, I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I have made this salad twice in the last two weeks. It is really good! Love all the pretty colors! Subbed EVOO for the oil the second time I made it and decided I like the flavor a little better. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Fabulous, loved it! Used a mix of romaine, endive and radicchio, and instead of one big salad we made our own to taste with the ingredients. Fiance who doesn't like onions at all didn't even mind them in this salad! And of coarse the candied nuts are a huge yum factor! I used pecans (what we had) I also love this method of candying them! I used to put them in the oven- I'll do it this way from now on. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This is exactly what I was looking for in a salad! It was simple, crunchy and had a refreshing sweetness. I substituted red wine vinegar for cider vinegar and dried parsley for fresh (used much less) and it had a great flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      Wonderful salad....very similiar to one I used to make years ago....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Super easy and super delicious! The almonds are a must!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is a really excellent recipe. I used light olive oil for the oil, and substituted pecans for the almonds, because that's what I had on hand. also omitted celery because I don't like it. The result was fabulous, the dressing was a perfect mix of tangy and sweet. I have company coming tomorrow and am making it again, only a week after making it the first time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This is fabulous!!! I made this for our supper the other night and we all ate it. I did halve the recipe as we didn't need that much. The sugared almonds are amazing.....so good. And they go so well with the rest of the ingredients. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious salad with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I did a few changes but basically this is a delicious recipe. I used red wine vinegar instead of cider, I left out the parsley, hot pepper sauce and celery and I added some red and yellow bell pepper and strawberries. I had to go back for seconds. My son who hardly eats salad loved this. It is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I agree with a previous reviewer, this salad is boring. It is a great jumping off point. The dressing is oily, sweet with no real flavor other than the parsley, which seems out of place. I would recommend an Asian influenced dressing. The salad needs cucumbers, not celery. The nuts are great though. Easy to make and tasty. I won't make this salad again, well not this version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      My aunt brought this salad to a family reunion, and it was FABULOUS!! The only difference is she put slivered raw almonds instead of candied, and she added some quartered strawberries. The end result was delicious and beautiful. I can't wait to have it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mandarin Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.5
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    55%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 165.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes