Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mandarin Orange Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mandarin Orange Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2002

      Excellent cake! Very different from any other mandarin orange cake I've had. This would be a great cake to bring to a potluck. It has a gooey, caramelly taste and is rich and filling. Quite wonderful. A real winner! Note: I used two small cans (11 oz. size) of mandarin oranges, drained, which measured 2 cups once drained.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      Delicious cake. I poked holes in the hot cake and poured the sauce over it so the goodness gets right into the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      This is a very different cake that my family quite enjoyed. It is very sweet, with a dense texture, and a wicked brown sugar glaze on top that adds to the sweet decadence. My tins of oranges were 10-oz in size and I believe some extra orange segments would have been a good thing, as would some grated orange zest. This cake is also a snap to prepare. Erin, I took your advice and made a little extra glaze (1 c b.sugar, 1/4 c milk, 2 tbsp + 2 tsp butter) and that amount seemed perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

      I found this to be one of the most delicious orangey cakes I've ever made. I didn't have any canned mandarin oranges, so I used clementine segments soaked in a sugar syrup. I also added some grated rind from the clementines. Thanks Erin, this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      I was going to add my recipie for Mandarin Cake to Zaar, but you've already done it. My ingredients are halved and use an 8x8 pan and my topping uses 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tbsp milk and butter. That's the only difference. I got the recipie about 25-30 years ago, from DH's Aunt Mil, who'd got it from a co-worker at a pot-luck. It's been one of my favorite recipies over the years. It's gone to innumerable pot-lucks and it's one of DH's favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      I double checked the recipe as it didn't include any butter ,than I was worried that 2 eggs wouldn't bring the cake into the right cake consistency .Then I thought 2 cups sugar was far too much for 2 cups of flour. At the end when I added the mandarins the consistency was alright but unfortunately the cake was toooo sweet for my taste and I advice cutting down on sugar if you don't like your cake really sweet .True it was a different cake but I don't think it is a keeper for me .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      My grandmother used to make this, and it is the most moist, decadent, rich cake ever! It's been a family favorite for years! Like bcfdwife, we always poked holes in the top to let the delicious topping soak in,. We topped it with a dollop of whip cream and went straight to heaven with the first bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      My grandmother and I loved this cake! It is a definate keeper! When cake was done baking I also poked holes everywhere and poured the topping all over so it would soak in the cake. I will be making this again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Absolutely delicious...the topping was soooo gooood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      This was awesome! I love mandarin oranges and tend to put them in everything, so this really hit the spot. Definitely liked it better with whipped topping (but I put that on everything, too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      What a great recipe! I made a mistake though that worked to my advantage. i put the topping on and realized it wasnt quite done. i put the cake back in and browned the topping. it was delicious! i skipped the whipped topping and it made and excellent coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy topping. thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      This desert is delicious! I tried it just as the recipe calls and I also tried making one and a half times the topping. It is good either way but a little too sweet with the extra topping. Make it just as the recipe calls and it leaves you wanting more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      we had this at hope lodge it was covered in cool whip good for pot lucks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Ohmy, this has to be one of the nicest cakes I have ever tasted. I had been browsing looking for an easy cake to take away campin, and as I had all the ingredients in this recipe and it was unlike anything I had made I wanted to try it. I used a deep 9 inch round tin, baked for approx 45 minutes. The topping is perfect for this type of cake. I would normally serve this with the 'real thing' whipped cream but as that was a little difficult to take away I bought a can of cream and it was just fine. Straight to my favourite file. Thanks for sharing this delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Which is correct - one recipe states to drain the oranges, the other does not! Does the syrup make a difference to the overall mixture - having problems with this cake setting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

      WOW!! Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mandarin Orange Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1586 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3770.9
     
    Calories from Fat 346
    18%
    Total Fat 38.4 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 439.4 mg
    146%
    Sodium 4113.9 mg
    171%
    Total Carbohydrate 833.4 g
    277%
    Dietary Fiber 17.2 g
    69%
    Sugars 622.2 g
    2488%
    Protein 45.0 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites