Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mandarin Chicken Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mandarin Chicken Bites

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2007

      Rather than doing this as an appetizer I made this into a tossed salad and served it for dinner. I really enjoyed this. The dip (dressing in this case) was very good and I used light mayo and sour cream. I didn't blanch the spinach but tossed it raw in a bowl and added arugula to the mix which was really good. I loved this as a salad and will make this again. Its a nice summer meal. Toasted almonds might be a nice addition to the salad as would lo mein noodles and serve with a good bread. I will be using this recipe as posted for my next cocktail party tho. Wonderful recipe, thanks so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I made these for a New Years dinner and really enjoyed them. They look and taste great and the curry dipping sauce really makes them! Even my daughter who generally hates spinach loved them. I think these taste even better at room temperature than cold. I made mine a day in advance and did the dipping sauce just before serving. I didn't have any broth, so I just simmered the chicken cubes in a nonstick pan with the soya sauce and worcestershire sauce, I think this may have left a slightly stonger soya sauce flavour on the chicken(which we like) so I'd probably do it that way again. Thanks for sharing this one, sbsbea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      The sauce is awesome!!! I had a huge challenge with the prep and use of the spinach leaves. After pouring the boiling water on them, draining, and rinsing-- I was left with a big, mushy mess. I had another bag, so tried it again with less than boiling water. Some of the leaves were mushy, some were still too crisp, and some were just right. I used the just right ones and omitted the spinach for 1/2 the platter. If there is a precise method to get just right spinach leaves, I would like to know-- as the dish is yummy and makes a very pretty presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This recipe has turned into one of my all time favorite appetizers! I love the curry sauce. Always a hit at every party I've taken it to (although I do recommend making a placecard that says mandarin chicken bites with curry dipping sauce)...and you can serve on a bed of crushed ice with no refrigeration if necessary too (eg-at work). Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Made these Sunday for super bowl. They were a hit! and a new favorite. I will be making them again for a party next week. I dumped the ziplock full of chicken cubes and marinade into a skillet and cooked without adding broth. I also tossed in about a tablespoon of sesame seeds and simmered until chicken was done and all juices gone. I noticed while cooking the chicken that I had not cut the chunks small enough to I took my scissors to the chunks while cooking and cut them smaller. The grocery store only had baby spinach so I decided to use hearts of romaine leaves, plus I really do not like spinach that well. I was so glad that I used the romaine it added such a nice crunch to the bites. I also was out of curry so I used Spike instead. The dip was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved these! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      My guests thought this was just ok; I think it was the spinach that wasn't such a big hit. If I make this again, I will skip the spinach & maybe add another orange, or even a kiwi. I really liked the dip--nice and zingy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Delicious! I was afraid my family wouldn't like it because they are not very adventurous. They couldn't stop eating it! I will double the recipe next time. It's better to double if you are making this for a party. My BF wants me to turn this into a main dish for dinner some time. I'll give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I made these for company and doubled the recipe, I was lucky to get a taste, one lady kept saying, "to kill for" I had to laugh at her enjoyment of this recipe. I can't wait to make it again so I can have more for myself. Thank you for a great recipe, I followed your directions and I just loved the dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

    • on December 18, 2006

      Great presentation and I received compliments at a Christmas party this past weekend. For me there seemed to be something missing, slight, but enough to make me think, hmmmm. I will definitely make these again, but next time I will wrap a thin strip of prosciutto around the chicken before the spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      This was SO-O-O easy....was very colorful on a pretty serving plate .....and tasted really good! I added another whole chicken breast and doubled the dipping sauce since I knew everyone would gobble it up! Glad I tried it ---- and will serve it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      These were very pretty on the plate and were the talk of the table! Enjoyed by all! Make sure you find large spinach leaves otherwise it is a little difficult to roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      These were a hit at our euchre party...I was surprised how much I liked the dip, as I don't really care for curry...I used sugar free apricot preserves...would be a great recipe for summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Well, every single one of my Christmas dinner guests wanted to know how to make this because they planned to take it or make it for their own New Year's Eve party. I had homemade peach preserves on hand so used that. Don't buy baby spinach, it's too small. You'll have to use two whole chicken breasts in order to make 5 dozen 1" chicken pieces. Next time I'd like to try sauteing the chicken bites in garlic oil rather than poaching in broth. The dip is truly awesome when made with a great curry powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      yummy! i made these for a party and they were just so refreshing! thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      Loved it! Great colors, and a wonderful dip. I went from being excited to make the recipe, to not sure about the taste, to loving it. I simmered the chicken one day ahead, removed it to cool, then kept the chicken in the broth until I was ready to assemble everything the next day. I was out of curry powder and substituted cumin, which turned out quite nice. Definitely make the dip a few hours ahead. Initially, I thought the dip tasted a bit harsh, but the flavors melded quite nicely after a few hours. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      This has to be one of the best things I made this holiday season. I made it to take to a Christmas Eve party at friends' house and it went over INCREDIBLY well! I'm pretty handy in the kitchen but some of our friends are professional chefs or own restaurants or have catering companies, so it can be intimidating coming up with something inspirational. This is the one! Everyone parked themselves in front of my serving dish. I should have taken a picture, but wasn't sure if my assembly was exactly what was described by ms_bold, but it was very pretty with all the colours. Even the children couldn't keep their eyes off the platter! I made a small substitution, I was out of apricot preserves and with the craziness of the stores we could have been out of toilet paper and I wasn't going back, but I had some Major Grey's Chutney and used the same quantity called for with the preserves. I doubled the dipping sauce, since all the reviewers said it was so fabulous (it WAS!), but for a little of the sour cream I used plain yoghurt. An AMAZING appetizer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Thanks for this one, Ms!! You made me look like a star at my Jazzercise Christmas party today! These were so pretty on the plate and everyone wanted the recipe for their holiday parties. The only changes I made were to add a little garlic to the chicken when cooking, and then to toss the chicken pieces in toasted sesame seeds before wrapping with spinach. I made the dip and assembled the bites the night before - always a plus during this busy season. This one goes into my keeper appetizer file!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Fabulous! It was so easy to make, and the colors looked soooo pretty! It really does not taste the same without the sauce, though, which my guests inhaled! So make sure you make plenty of dipping sauce!! thanks a lot for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mandarin Chicken Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (4190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.4
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    25%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 35.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1313.3 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 25.6 g
    102%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes