47 Reviews

Delicious! This was a cinch to make with ingredients I actually had in the house! As other commenters suggested, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was plenty. I'm just sad that there won't be leftovers for lunch tomorrow. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raquor February 15, 2011

I love this it is so good, like everyone else I did cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet so I added a little more soy sauce and lemon juice. This is for a potluck at church tonight and I can't wait so I keep sneaking little tastes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara H. March 28, 2014

This made a great and fast weeknight dinner. Not having ever eaten Mandarin Chicken I wasn't sure how it should taste but I knew the ingredients list was something we'd enjoy. Not having time to grill the chicken I diced and stir fried with just a touch of Sesame Oil (about 1 teaspoon) just to give it some additional flavor. I removed the chicken and dumped in the rest of the ingredients to the pan. I started low on the sugar, 1/3 cup and after tasting knew I wanted a little more sweetness. Next time I make this I may switch the lemon juice for orange juice and add some red pepper and possibly onion just for some texture. It's a keeper. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe March 12, 2009

This was super delicious and quite easy to make...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alyssa-Jacob February 06, 2016

Bleh...More like chicken in syrup... I used half the sugar called for and more than twice the ginger and garlic, and it was STILL like getting kicked in the teeth by a sugar donkey. Suitable for individuals whose palates are incapable of appreciating anything besides sugar and fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
high.standards May 28, 2013

This recipe is super easy to make & delicious! I read the reviews & only added 1/3 cup of sugar, which for me was just the right amount. I added baby corn, water chestnuts, sliced carrots and served over jasmine rice. My husband & girls loved it, definitely adding to my recipe collection :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheebes March 02, 2013

Came together quickly and was tasty, but I did make some adjustments. Used less than half the sugar (was plenty sweet) and added some red pepper flakes to balance out the sweetness. Served over brown rice with some broccoli and an egg roll. Instead of grilling chicken, I cut into pieces and sauteed in a little bit of sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 04, 2012

I was looking forward to this for days! The recipe is very straight forward, and things were going so well up until it was time to add the cornstarch. I did everything I was suppose to do. I read every review to see what experience everyone else had with this recipe. Well, let's just say it was a disaster. The sauce did NOT thicken. So I added more cornstarch, and more, then a little more. It did not work. After that the sauce was ruined. It started out the right color,and the right smell. ( the kind that makes your mouth water ) This is the third ( 3rd ) time I have tried and it was a bust. I dont see how I could possible mess it up, more importantly I don't see how 4 teaspoons of cornstarch would thicken up the sauce, and I don't see that anyone can make this sauce and it turn out like the picture. Maybe someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong or have some suggestions as to why this is happening. I just give up, and will have to just eat it when I go to the mall. I know I would LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe if it wasn't for the cornstarch problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kobi619 August 04, 2012

I tried it and this was fantastic! Took the advice of the other reviewers and used 1/3 cup of sugar. Perfect amount. I used Sesame Oil and left out the lemon juice as I didn't have any. Simply great! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT January 16, 2012

Awesome! We have made this recipe 3 times and have doubled it 2 of the 3 times because it is loved and does not take long to disappear. I did a taste test with the bottled recipe and my husband was not able to tell the difference. We are keeping this recipe around. It is very handy to put over vegetables from the garden. Thank you for sharing! It is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef yummy yum yum! September 07, 2011
Mandarin Chicken