Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mandarin Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mandarin Chicken

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      Delicious! This was a cinch to make with ingredients I actually had in the house! As other commenters suggested, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was plenty. I'm just sad that there won't be leftovers for lunch tomorrow. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This made a great and fast weeknight dinner. Not having ever eaten Mandarin Chicken I wasn't sure how it should taste but I knew the ingredients list was something we'd enjoy. Not having time to grill the chicken I diced and stir fried with just a touch of Sesame Oil (about 1 teaspoon) just to give it some additional flavor. I removed the chicken and dumped in the rest of the ingredients to the pan. I started low on the sugar, 1/3 cup and after tasting knew I wanted a little more sweetness. Next time I make this I may switch the lemon juice for orange juice and add some red pepper and possibly onion just for some texture. It's a keeper. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      I love this it is so good, like everyone else I did cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet so I added a little more soy sauce and lemon juice. This is for a potluck at church tonight and I can't wait so I keep sneaking little tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Bleh...More like chicken in syrup... I used half the sugar called for and more than twice the ginger and garlic, and it was STILL like getting kicked in the teeth by a sugar donkey. Suitable for individuals whose palates are incapable of appreciating anything besides sugar and fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      This recipe is super easy to make & delicious! I read the reviews & only added 1/3 cup of sugar, which for me was just the right amount. I added baby corn, water chestnuts, sliced carrots and served over jasmine rice. My husband & girls loved it, definitely adding to my recipe collection :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Came together quickly and was tasty, but I did make some adjustments. Used less than half the sugar (was plenty sweet) and added some red pepper flakes to balance out the sweetness. Served over brown rice with some broccoli and an egg roll. Instead of grilling chicken, I cut into pieces and sauteed in a little bit of sesame oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      I was looking forward to this for days! The recipe is very straight forward, and things were going so well up until it was time to add the cornstarch. I did everything I was suppose to do. I read every review to see what experience everyone else had with this recipe. Well, let's just say it was a disaster. The sauce did NOT thicken. So I added more cornstarch, and more, then a little more. It did not work. After that the sauce was ruined. It started out the right color,and the right smell. ( the kind that makes your mouth water ) This is the third ( 3rd ) time I have tried and it was a bust. I dont see how I could possible mess it up, more importantly I don't see how 4 teaspoons of cornstarch would thicken up the sauce, and I don't see that anyone can make this sauce and it turn out like the picture. Maybe someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong or have some suggestions as to why this is happening. I just give up, and will have to just eat it when I go to the mall. I know I would LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe if it wasn't for the cornstarch problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I tried it and this was fantastic! Took the advice of the other reviewers and used 1/3 cup of sugar. Perfect amount. I used Sesame Oil and left out the lemon juice as I didn't have any. Simply great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Awesome! We have made this recipe 3 times and have doubled it 2 of the 3 times because it is loved and does not take long to disappear. I did a taste test with the bottled recipe and my husband was not able to tell the difference. We are keeping this recipe around. It is very handy to put over vegetables from the garden. Thank you for sharing! It is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This was a hit in my house, even with my extra picky husband. I didn't have quite enough soy sauce, so I topped of the measure with teriyaki sauce, maybe I'll just keep making it that way. Much better than take out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This was just what I was looking for! Super easy, and soo tasty! I can't wait to make it again. We did, like others, reduce the amount of sugar. I used 1/3 c, but my sweety says next time we should use a little more. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Thank you so much I just returned from the mall and I can't wait to try your recipe that has rave reviews....Many thanks ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I didn't like this, I only used a 1/4 c of sugar after reading the other ratings, and it was still too sugary. It was like a syrup. So I couldn't eat it and we had pizza for dinner. But if you prefer extra sweet sauces you will enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      We found that the flavor was better for our family with a bit of mandarin orange chunks sprinkled over, and we think we'll add a little cayenne/oriental pepper next time to cover. I used full sugar, but it still was a little salty. The oranges helped counter that. We also used tempura chicken instead of grilled. Less healthy, but nummy! Thank you for a nice easy sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      SO AMAZING! im a 13 year old kid who did it for a class project and its super sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This came out great! Like another reviewer I used shredded meat from a whole chicken. I also added in some seasame seeds and a little extra garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This was delicious and very easy to make. I think the 40 minutes listed in the recipe is an overestimate because mine was done in 20 minutes. I was too lazy to make rice but I wish I had made it because there is plenty of sauce that would be great with rice. I'll definitely make this again (with rice next time). Another great thing about this recipe is that I almost always have all of the ingredients in my house. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I made it last night for my family, and I used 4 large-ish boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I had seasoned (with just garlic powder and salt), grilled, and cut into chunks. I quadrupled the sauce (using half the amount of sugar - so I used 1 1/3 c. for a quadrupled recipe) but, like a dork, I quadrupled everything except the cornstarch, so my recipe was more like a mandarin soup! It still tasted really good though, and a six-year-old that we had in the house said he wanted to try it when he smelled it cooking. Nice work, msboogie! :) It was perfectly sweet, and I couldn't IMAGINE any more sugar, let alone double that amount! I also used low-sodium soy sauce, and it was fine. I served this over white rice with steamed mixed veggies on the side. This recipe is really fast if you grill the chicken beforehand, cut it up, and put it into the fridge to just throw into the sauce when you get home on a weeknight. I will definitely make this again, but NOT being a dork next time! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This tasted a LOT like the Panda Express Mandarin Chicken. I liked that the ginger flavor worked well and wasn't too much - I have found most of the Chinese food recipes I try overdo the ginger. I added a little too much cornstarch because I couldn't get it to thicken so the flavor was slightly off but that was my bad, not the recipe. Great recipes to have now that I don't live by a Panda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mandarin Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    17%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 37.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1075.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.6 g
    134%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites