Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Manapua Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Manapua

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      I used the recipe for the dough and for the filling I made char siu (chinese bbq), using pork shoulder and char siu mix I got from the store, the NOH brand...I was born and raised in Hawaii and this reminded me so much of home...I'm on the east coast now so I can't just get manapua when I want...the dough was awesome! I baked it, but I'm going to steam it next time...my husband and my kids loved it...thanks so much for sharing the recipe it's really nice to get to share a piece of my childhood with my children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      These are very good. I made one recipe of the dough, as written, and one half recipe of the filling. I filled the second half with a ground pork and egg filling. This is a project, but worth it. It took me some practice to get the dumplings risen to the right point and steamed through, as mine were smaller. I weighed out the dough and got 38 45-gram pieces of dough. The dough needed about 1/2 cup more flour, but was very easy to handle, and didn't taste too sweet even with the specified amount of sugar. I didn't change the ingredients of the filling either, except for increasing the garlic and shiitake slightly. Delicious. I hope to have some left to freeze for later eating. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I chose this recipe for a birthday luau I'm helping to plan and decided to test it out tonight and it was awesome! In the interest of saving time, I bought bbq shredded beef for the filling. I quartered the recipe for the dough and added some honey to it as well as to the egg wash for extra sweetness (I baked them). They came out great, but next time I wont roll out the disks so thin. The dough is so good I want to taste more of it! YUM1 Thanks for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      My hummy always mentions how one of the things he misses about being in Hawaii is the Manapua. So... I went ahead and made these. He loved them! So did I. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      Tom made these tonight. We lived in Hawaii for several years and man, I miss manapua! We made char sui #211713) to inside instead of the sausage. The dough is absolutely spot on! Yummmmmmyyy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      I had this in the WINDWARD mall in Hawaii, probably not the best but they was good. I would say go with the pork for sure, this is very good, I did increase the garlic and mushroom. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      Very Tastey, except go with the Char Siu Pork, don't waste your time with sausage. And for get all that mushroom, beansprout, oyster sauce stuff. Just the cut up BBQ'd Char Siu Pork, mixed with shallots, sesame seed oil and teriyaki sauce thickened with cornstarch, and stick them in the buns. Keep it simple !!! This does take a while, because you have to make the dough from scratch. You can buy dough, but I haven't come across any with sugar in it. It wouldn't taste the same if the dough wasn't sweet. Anyway, steamed or baked, people will push a cute old lady out of the way for one of these. Shizam!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      These manapua ROCK!!!! They are better than the "Manapua Lady's in the old cane camp in Hawaii. I had two bamboo steamers, one rice cooker, and one vegetable steamer w/pot going at once. OK, I doubled the recipe. They freeze very well (if you can manage to save any!) Mahalo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Manapua

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.6
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    20%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 326.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites