36 Reviews

This cheese dip is to die for. WOW!! I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and we keep running back to the crockpot during commercial breaks to fill up our bowls. I also used chopped fresh garlic in lieu of the garlic salt because this stuff is plenty salty. Full of meat and very cheesy. Thanks for another winner, Nurse Di.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchengr January 31, 2003

Oh wow!! This dip is something else. I made it for Football Sunday at our house. I chopped up 2 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic salt. Very rich and cheesy. Totally addicting. A big hit with our guests. Thanks Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop October 29, 2002

Awesome dip! Definitely a time saver using the crockpot to keep it warm. Would also point out there is no need to "shred" the Velveeta®; chunks will melt just fine on their own.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Artboy34 November 05, 2010

Good dip. It was a little thick, so I added a little milk to thin to the desired consistancy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyMarie February 16, 2009

used hamburger and had elk sausage wich smelled a little gamey so i cooked them both together and added cayenne pepper and black pepper and a little sage. also added 4 cloves fresh garlic to the cooking meat mixture(totally omitted garlic salt), used a large poblano pepper in place of the jalapeno. added a handfull or two of meduim cheddar cheese and a little milk to get desired consistancy, didnt have regular velveeta but used the mild mexican stuff. tossed in about 2 tablespoons of buffalo wing sauce. thanks for a wonderful recipe to feed a hungry man a satisfying snack!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes September 26, 2010

I made this and took it to a couples party. The BEST cheese dip ever. Lots of meat and the cream soup makes it extra, extra rich. I added 1 chopped jalapeno pepper but will definitely go for it and use 2 next time. I took the other reviewers suggestions and used real chopped garlic. This on is IT for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracie in NM February 11, 2003

You're right, the man in my life loved this! Although, I did too - so cheesy and full of flavour! I loved the thickness and the amount of meat, it was just right! We kept going back to get more of this and it has definitely become a favourite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog December 23, 2014

I made this before, but tweaked it. I used zesty hot sausage, 3 cans of cream of mushroom, and a jar of hot salsa. We like it a bit spicy, and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebDelish September 04, 2014

I guess it just wasn't our flavor profile. My husband had two or three chips and then no more (not like him to do this), he didn't say he DIDNT like it, but he didn't rave or enjoy it, either. For myself, I felt it was too 'heavy' with fat so it was difficult to taste the flavors. At first I thought I'd keep the recipe and tweek it a bit, but then decided against it because of the fat/sodium content. **Note: this review is more for me than everyone else, wish I could find a way to write a private note on these recipes.**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueski April 29, 2014

This was a great dip. Very meaty and cheesy. Everyone at the party enjoyed it. I used two jalapenos and when I make it again I will add more. Thanks for posting<br/>-UPDATE- Made last weekend for a surprise Birthday party, I used 2 nice sized jalapenos and instead of Velveeta I used grated American cheese AND IT WAS FABULOUS! Everyone loved it, and all agreed it was better with the American cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie November 22, 2013
Man Dip