489 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was amazing! I do not like fish, but we are trying to eat healthier so this was good. Speaking of healthier...the 4 TBSP of Butter and 3TBSP of mayonnaise would have knocked healthier out of the park, so I substituted the mayonnaise with plain yogurt. It was still wonderful. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesyx6 March 21, 2010

SOOOO delicious! I thought I had frozen Tilapia at home but it was catfish so I used that. Had to leave out the green onions so used about 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder instead. The fish was beautiful when it came out of the oven and tasted like it looked. I eventually convinced my 7-1/2 year old grandson who said "I don't like FISH" to take a bite and as I put it in his mouth he said "yuk....YUM!!!" and ate about 1/2 of mine even though he'd already had his dinner. My 3 year old twin granddaughters also loved it! I really could have eaten the topping with a spoon but for sure I will use this recipe over and over!! UPDATE: Made this with Tilapia and it is super good! For the seasoning salt I used a bit of Cajun seasoning.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks October 09, 2009

Phenomenal. Perhaps a tiny bit too salty for me, but my husband thought it was perfect. I used a little extra lemon juice on the fish and a little extra hot sauce in the topping, with 6 filets (which were about 1 & 1/4 lb. all together). There's a lovely blend of flavors in the topping, lots of layers to it (sour, salty, a tiny bit spicy, a little bit herby, and cheesy). I will definitely be adding this to our regular recipe rotation.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadusey April 14, 2010

Mmmm! My, oh my! Heaven on a plate! MaMa's Tilapia is my husband's most requested recipe! I add 1/4 cup of seasoned breadcrumbs and a little basil, mixed in with the grated parmesan and I decrease the butter a little. The quick broil gives it a wonderful golden dimension! Thank you so much Crabbycakes! Everyone is grateful for the tastiest fish dish ever! Mama Marilyn

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Marilyn July 24, 2009

Using tilapia fillets from Publix, average size, I baked them for 12 minutes, then per the grumpy review about not browning, I turned on the broiler and let them finish cooking that way, I would say another 7 min. til browned. I plated them, as any good cook would, to enhance presentation. My son said, wow, mom, you're getting the hang of this cooking thing. I think it was a success!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chantalize January 13, 2010

Tilapia is such a versatile fish... it can be cooked all types of ways. This recipe is my favorite so far! I dredged the fillets in lemon juice then arranged them on the pan. Before putting them in the oven, I sprinkled garlic & onion powder over them. I made the sauce as the recipe stated, minus the basil and green onions because we didn't have any. I baked the fish for about 12 minutes, added the sauce, then another 13 minutes or so. The fillets was tender and so incredibly flavorful! DH and his brother inhaled this dish. I will definitely be cooking this again! :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tissan.howard July 26, 2009

YUMMY! Thanks for sharing such a super way to prepare Tilapia. My fillets were thin so I cooked only about 8 minutes, then browned under the broiler for about 2 minutes. They came out perfect. We will be having this again and again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky November 25, 2003

Hello Crabbycakes; This is one of the best tasting, with great flavors Tilapia that I have had. I made 1 lb. of Tilapia fillets because I am the only one that eats fish. The only change I made is I added 2 garlic cloves. The freshly grated Padano (Parmesan) cheese gave the fish a delightful taste. The timing for baking and broiling was perfect. The broil gave the Tilapia a very lightly browned finish and Oh, So, Good. Thank you for sharing and I am so glad that I found this recipe. Warmest Regards, "Uncle Bill"

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin July 05, 2009

WOW! Outstanding flavor for a mild fish like tilapia. My fillets were thin, so I baked them the minimal time, and the sauce baked on nice and golden and quite delish. Of the 7 fillets we had, DH inhaled 5, good thing the kids had made other plans. Will most definitely be making again so the kids can savor as well.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNLisaB December 23, 2003

Three stars for a well-written and successful recipe. I followed the ingredients and the directions exactly and the results were perfectly cooked. The only thing I had to add was a little bit of broiling to brown the top. I really should have taken a picture because it was a beautiful dish. However, the taste just wasn't to our liking. A few thoughts:

**Way too much butter - it could have been cut out completely because the fat in the mayo was plenty.

**Overpowering flavor - simply couldn't taste the fish. Which might be great if you wanted to cover up the taste of fish. In that case, save your money and use this over chicken.

**Maybe tilapia isn't the best fish for this dish. Our selection of tilapia is very thin and I actually overlapped a few of the pieces to make 'normal' filets. But the taste of tilapia is very delicate and didn't stand up to topping. Perhaps a fish with stronger flavor would work better in this recipe.

Thanks for a great recipe but it just wasn't for us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain Maid January 04, 2012
MaMa's Supper Club Tilapia Parmesan