Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Spaghetti With Meat Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Spaghetti With Meat Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2009

      My husband is Italian and his grandmother makes the best spaghetti and meatballs. He usually doesn't like anyone else's spaghetti but he loves this one! In fact my whole family likes this one! Since finding this recipe there is no more spaghetti sauce out of a jar in my house. This recipe is quick and easy and has so much more taste than those jared sauce! I use baby bella mushrooms in my sauce and add Italian sausage into the meat mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      H-ko, I love your Momma and her recipe! I made this sauce last evening and it was magnificent. I have multiple comments. First, I made it exactly as directed and this is, as listed, a five-star sauce. It was bright and tomato-ie (?) with a hint of garlic. My wife prefers this sauce "as is", she says 5 stars and I do too. However, AFTER it was done, I tweaked it to suit my personal tastes. I'm not necessarily reccommending that anyone else do this but here's what I did: I added another equal dose of fresh garlic, 12 ounces of chicken stock, a total of 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar and, 5 minutes from the end, I added 1 cup of Cabernet Sauvinon. I also simmered it for an additional 90 minutes, COVERED, stirring frequently. I was much pleased with the outcome. Next time, I will double the total garlic amount AGAIN (but I am a garlic nut). I like having 4 or 5 spaghetti sauce recipes around to break up the boredom, and I like my regular spaghetti sauce but this one is at least as good as my own if not better (both ways). More importantly for me, it's DIFFERENT than my regular sauce. So, in the end, this is an outstanding recipe and I'm glad I decided to try this previously unrated masterpiece -- I could tell it was going to be good when I viewed the ingredients. Thanks so much, H-ko, for posting this fine recipe. Big Pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I have never made "homeade" spaghetti sauce until this recipe and I have really been missing out!! This will be my new go-to recipe! Delicious and extremely easy! I like that most of the ingredients are things you can have on hand. I skipped on the bay leaves as i didn't have those but it was still great! thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      A five star dish if I may. Im no cook and either is my girlfriend, but lately we've been trying out recipes we find online. This is by far (thee) best yet. I loved it and so did she. Your mother is a genius.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      So tasty, so easy. The kids are silent, let me say that again, silent, at the table when I make this for dinner. I use half the sauce for spaghetti on night one and in a lasagna on night two. I only use 2 tablespoons of Italian Seasoning (not a huge Oregano fan) and it's perfectly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Thanks for a great recipe. I loved the brown sugar addition. It turned out very good and was quick and easy. Thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I love, love, love this recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

    • on July 09, 2009

      This was an easy recipe to follow and it was one of the best batches of spaghetti I have made in awhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Great sauce. Easy to make. It's even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This was a good spaghetti sauce, but I thought the amount of italian herbs was a little overpowering. I used the lesser amount, and it still seemed a bit strong for our tastes. But other than that, this is a very easy and quick spaghetti sauce. I am used to spaghetti sauces that cook for hours, so I was surprised at the short cooking time. Since it is so quick it is good for a weeknight. I made this for Everyday is a Holiday tag! Thanks for posting a quick and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      just finnished making and I can't stop tasting. Skipped the mushrooms due to childs dislike added a few chopped baby carrots instead needed three pinches of sugar almost as good as olive gardens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      H-ko, Thank very much for this recipe. I would like to introduce a new designation for repipes in here. It would be QEG(quick,easy and great)and this one is a 10 in that category. Only because the old fart's taste buds are tad jaded did i modify slightly. I added a healthy dash of tabasco and an extra large clove of garlic. Thank you, Wayne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Spaghetti With Meat Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    10%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 900.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    95% lean ground beef

    mixed Italian herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes