21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice corn. Defintely a "back in the day" recipe which is fun. Mine was a bit bland, so I added extra seasoning salt and a few onion flakes. Serving for dinner tonight with BBQ chicken. Made for BEVY Tag. FYI. . .I had given this 4 stars, but after 2 hours in the fridge the flavors really came together and I am back to increase my rating to a 5. Hubby really enjoyed it!!! UPDATE: I just made this again last evening as a fast and easy side dish to BBQ. This time my sauce was really thick (which we love). I cheated and added about 1 T of cream cheese and some milk and WOW did that take this recipe over the top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 10, 2010

This was very tasty! I would cook the corn a little longer next time though as it was a bit crunchy for my tastes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurplePen December 22, 2009

Delicious! Reminiscent of my grandmothers creamed corn. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 09, 2009

I used 4 frozen ears of corn. I put them in a bowl of hot water for about 10 min. and then cut the corn off the cob. I used heavy cream instead of milk and it was great! Will make that for company!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbethell_12964360 January 13, 2015

This is the best corn I've ever cooked & tasted.(even though I used 2 cans :S ,I will be making this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarksLight May 12, 2009

There's nothing better on a Summers day than fresh sweet corn, and this recipe is a perfect way to prepare it. I did have to add a little more milk to make it creamier but it wasnt a problem. Delicious, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 05, 2009

Boy is this fabulous!! This is great home-cooking!! This corn has a wonderful creamy sauce and it has just the right balance of salt to sugar. It is not sweet even though you might think it is with the TBSP sugar, it is just perfectly seasoned!!! Really loved this recipe, will make again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee September 24, 2008

Very simple and easy to prepare with very tasty results. Actually, I had these great results using Green Giant White Corn (canned) so I can only imagine how fabulous it would be with fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 June 15, 2008

Awesome. I skipped the flour step to save carb :) This is how I am going to eat corn from now on. Thank you Mary for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB June 05, 2008

This is awesome! This is a recipe that has been made several times. The boys don't leave any. In fact, the second and third time I made it - I had to double it ;) Very easy to make and everyone loves it. Made it with Pork Tenderloin and mashed potatos. YUM. Thanks for a keeper....so much easier than creamed corn and not as heavy. (Made for Bevy Tag 08) This one goes into my Favorites by Zaar cookbook!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) June 03, 2008
Mama's Skillet Corn