Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Mouth Ulcer Remedy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Mouth Ulcer Remedy

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2012

      If you get frequent canker sores, there's a good chance it's your toothpaste. The sulfates used to make the foam can cause them in those predisposed. After reading this in a magazine (I think Ladies Home Journal), I swtiched to Toms' of Maine sulfate free with fluoride about 8 years ago. I have only suffered a canker sore a handful of times since then from too much acidy foods. I used to get them almost every month since I was a kid. My dentist suggested I use ACT Restoring, too. I haven't had a cavity in almost 4 years, and he said I have one of the best set of teeth out of all his patients.

      Alum is great in the short term, but look into changing toothpastes for long term relief. I get it at Whole Foods. Make sure to get the right one because Tom's makes lots of kinds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I finally tried this. It instantly soothed my painful sores on my tongue. However, it only lasted for a short time and I had to reapply. But it was worth it to get a little relief. I just dealt with the nasty taste, rather than drink water after and chance washing it off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      My mom used to make me use this when I got mouth ulcers as a kid and even though I only get them once a year as an adult, I still use it. It may sting a bit, but it dries them up in just a day or two and lessens the pain overall. A GREAT remedy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      As an immunocompromised mom, I'm always looking for tips for myself and my family to minimize the 'extra' chemicals in our environment. I've gotten ulcers since I was a kid, but now I get huge (dime-sized!) ones that can take 7-15 days to heal, even with 3-4x daily salt treatments or whiskey treatments. I mentioned this to my doc and he said it is safe, and I now have a jar stocked, ready for the next round of painful buggers! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      I've used this before but I had forgotten about it. My son gets these now and then and really couldn't find anything at the drug store to help. Only things I have been able to find was a cream for the outside of the mouth. Thanks for posting. I wish I could find more of these remedies somewhere. The old fashioned homemade remedies my grandmom use to make always worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I had a small ulcer starting when I tagged this but my son had a really bad crack that became an ulcer just inside his lips so I thought I'd give it a whirl...worked like a dream! We put some on right before bed and he woke up this morning and was so excited because it was gone!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Alum works. It is wonderful. When I was little I had canker sores. My mother used rock alum because that is what we had then. She wet it and rubbed it on the sore. It is very bitter, but it worked. I never rinsed it, but kept spitting in the sink till the bitter was gone. She didn't want me rinsing away what she had rubbed on the sore, but I didn't swallow it either. I don't know if they still sell rock alum, but I do know they sell a container of powdered alum. This works also and it works very well. Try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      My fiance has been singing the praises of this recipe for years now! This is a tried and true recipe. He finds that some times he does need to repeat it the next day. And in the worst of cases, a third day. I am so glad that you posted it to share with the world! Thanks Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      When I was young and had a canker sore,mom would always take me to the drug store and the drugest would take a cotton swab and apply something to my mouth.It always worked,but he wouldnt tell us what he used.I always wondered if it was alum by the taste.Now I know! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Mouth Ulcer Remedy

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    alum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes