Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Fry Bakes ( St. Vincent and the Grenadines) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Fry Bakes ( St. Vincent and the Grenadines)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2010

      I took Sassylilbear's advice, I added 1 Tbsp sugar, and I used non-fat milk instead of water. I also used the yeast. I cooked 1/2 after the rest period and the rest after letting the dough sit in the fridge overnight. The first batch was DELICIOUS the second batch was out of this world yummy. If you have the patience, I recommend letting the dough rest in the fridge overnight. Either way, I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      tastes just like my moms!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Wow! the recipe was great! I made it with the water 1st than followed with milk and 1 tlb spoon sugar and they were just like what My Grandmother use to make! Pefect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      My family loved these fry bakes. DH ate them plain as a side to soup and my son had them tossed in cinnamon sugar. Delicious either way. The only change I made was to use bread machine yeast and that worked out fine. The dough was very easy to roll and I couldn't believe how much the fry bakes puffed up while frying. Thanks for a recipe I'll be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

    • on February 25, 2007

      We loved these! I did decide to use the yeast, but wasn't sure when to add it. I sprinkled it over my 1 1/2 cups of warm water and added a pinch of sugar. Then I let it sit about 5 minutes before adding it to the flour mixture. I kneaded the dough on a lightly floured board for about 8 minutes and let it rest as you suggested. The dough is VERY easy to work with, and the Fry Bakes cooked up nice and plump. DH and DS lathered these while still very warm with butter and dripped over the sink with smiles on their faces! Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This is similar to fry bread, not sure if it needed the tablespoon of baking powder though, I increased the yeast to 2 teaspoons, and I will reduce the baking powder slightly next time, thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      My BF's mum is Trinidadian and he ate these often while growing up. I made a batch of these to surprise him on his birthday and he said they are exactly the way he remembers. I enjoyed them very much also. I didn't use the yeast, so the bakes resembled pitas. Also, since the bakes will likely be fried in batches, don't put the whole cup of oil in the pan at once or the first two or three batches will be really oily and you will have to add more oil eventually. I ate mine with some raspberry preserves while my BF slathered his with marmite.I will definitely be making these again. THank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Fry Bakes ( St. Vincent and the Grenadines)

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 703.4
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    58%
    Total Fat 45.7 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 632.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites