Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Fruit Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Fruit Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2009

      If you are a pudding person like I am then this is to die for and so easy too !!! The fruits I chose to use were yellow peaches and strawberries and I used fruit bread as I had it on hand.I did halve the sugar as my bread was sweet. My DD has a part time job at a bakery so we always have excess bread so many many thanks for posting such a satisfying and delicious way to use it up !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was gone in no time! Made as directed and used canned peaches. Next time I'll try frozen berries. Easy to prepare too. Served with whipped cream, Yummy. Thanks Mama

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      you're right, fast and easy! We loved it! we used sliced canned pears and a few frozen blueberries. Great dessert! thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      you're so right about the ease of this recipe! my sister invited us to a last minute BBQ and i was able to throw this together in just a few minutes. i used canned peaches and frozen blueberries. no one could believe the secret to the crispy crust was plain 'ole white bread. thanks mama for a recipe i'm sure i'll be using again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      amazing! at first my mom gave me a hard time about making this becuase she was skeptical about the bread. but she apologized when she tasted it!! i used italian bread and canned peaches... the cinnamon was a great touch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I made this for brunch this morning and my husband and daughter ate the whole thing. For the fruit, I used a mix of frozen blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, black berries, and mango. I used the full amount of sugar as all of my fruit was unsweetened. I chose to sprinkle the top lightly with cinnamon. This is almost too easy to make. The only thing I did different was to not melt the butter. I just mixed it well with the sugar and spread it over top. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I really cant say enough about this cobbler. It is SO easy and versatile...one of those that I will be making over and over. I made it twice this week- once with canned peaches and once with partially defrosted frozen blueberries and strawberries. Both were AWESOME and very well received by kids and grown-ups alike!! I'm adding this recipe to our list of family favorites. Thanks, Mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I literally just finished eating and had to post my stars immediately!!! AWESOME!! Loved it and it was super easy. Used frozen strawberries, cherries, raspberries and blackberries! YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      MMMMMMMMMMM!!! This was awesome! I really loved this, would not change a thing. This was especially good for me because I have not mastered the art of baking yet LOL! I liked how easy this was to put together with a week night meal! Very Yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      So simple yet so very good. I made mine with fresh blueberries and we loved it. would not change a thing about this one. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Another FABULOUS recipe Mama!!! This is so good and so easy to put together! I had my doubts about the bread but you have not steered me wrong yet and I was so surprised at the results. I used fresh blueberries and strawberries and frozen cherries. The topping is so good! Simply FAB!!! Thanks for posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Excellent, a keeper. I used one large can of peaches, drained. I thickened the juice for a sauce with some added lemon juice, cornstarch, sugar. Perfect with the sauce and some vanilla ice cream. This was surprisingly good for a dessert with such simple homey ingredients. And quick and economical! Mama, you have a winner all around. Thanks for sharing...Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Wow Mama Wow! This is sooo good. The flavour is amazing. It tastes like spring, with fresh flavours. This is a lovely sweet & tangy cobbler. The topping is excellant. I used both the cinnamon & cardamom and all frozen fruit, (apples, rhubarb, blackberries, raspberries and wild blueberries)They worked really well. I can't wait to try this with my favourite fruit mixture, candied ginger, pears, kiwis and raspberries. Oh boy...thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      this was great! i made it using a tropical fruit mix in a jar. (pineapple and papaya). it was a hit! i will definatly be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Wow, this was great! I doubled the recipe and brought it to work for the snack table -- people kept coming back for seconds! I used a mix of frozen blackberries and raspberries for the fruit, and I used a combination of Canadian white and Oat Nut breads for the topping (cleaning out the bread cabinet before the crazy humid weather makes all the bread furry!). The 6 cups of berries looked a tiny bit sparse in the casserole dish I used, so I ended up using about 8 cups of berries total (1 bag of raspberries and two bags of blackberries). I sprinkled the top with both cinnamon and cardamom, just because I like spices that much. We all really enjoyed the topping (something different), and I think the amount of sugar was just right with the tartness of the unsweetened berries. I think a latecomer even tried to lick the empty dish lol! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Wonderful cobbler and so easy! I used fresh blueberries and sour dough bread. The bit of tanginess from the bread along with the berries and sugar mixture was very good. I also added a bit of fresh ground nutmeg to the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Mama, This recipe is just wonderful, I used frozen strawberries that I had picked and frozen. I alway's make cobblers the old fashion way with flour. Not anymore, this is so much easier, thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      This made a perfect Saturday brunch dessert, I used a bag of frozen mixed berries and increased the flour by 1 tablespoon. Great cobbler, thanks mama!..Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Nice cobbler. I used wheat bread and sucanat (unrefined cane sugar). For our taste 1 cup of sugar was just a tad too sweet. Next time I'd use less sugar and try to reduce the butter a bit. But a nice and easy cobbler with some frozen blackberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This was very very tasty! I used mixed frozen fruits, mostly berries, and a scant cup of sugar. Also used wheat bread instead of white because that's what I had on hand. The only change I will make next time is to add some flour to the fruit to absorb some excess juices. I did sprinkle the top with cinnamon. This was extremely easy and will definitely be made again! Thanks Mama! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Fruit Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.5
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    43%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 23.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 220.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 22.8 g
    91%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites