32 Reviews

MMMMM!! I'm pregnant (so getting wild cravings) and was dying for the same creamed peas I used to eat as a kid (when I was sick too!) These taste just like my mom's- well, with a little extra salt and lots of extra pepper- I dont think my mom could cook without pepper! and just for the record- these always made me get better when I was a kid. They never curdled my stomach and made me barf.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureneframe September 16, 2009

This is nothing more than a basic white sauce on peas - you can get the recipe off the Argo cornstarch box. Bland but simple to make. And as for feeding it to sick kids, anything with milk will curdle on an acidic stomach and that leads to barfing - sometimes these old-time cures hurt more than help.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suematra November 13, 2008

Kari--this is one of my all time favorite comfort foods on this planet! I make this exactly the same way....Have you ever tried it over mashed potatoes? Pure heaven. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl April 13, 2004

My mom always added diced potatoes and sometimes pearl onions to it when she made it for us, it was always one of my favorite side dishes she would make for us growing up. Its definately comfort food for kids!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyLigeia January 18, 2004

I wish I could rate this 100 stars. I've made this recipe dozens upon dozens of times for everyone. Thanks for sharing the wonderful memories. MARY IN LA

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in LA. December 22, 2003

I'm not rating this recipe,because I haven't made it. I made this when my boys were growing up except, I added frozen corn. That was the only way I could get them to eat peas plus, they loved the color combination.... Go figure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cita705_12754854 April 16, 2016

We make this all the time! I love creamed peas. We always serve them over buttered toast. Frozen or fresh peas work the best. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies May 18, 2010

I'd forgotten how much I loved when my grandma would make creamed peas for me. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MRSKB April 18, 2010

I added a little onion powder, garlic powder, white pepper salt, and used skim milk. It was totally yummo!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahWutWut February 11, 2010

Love creamed peas! They are such a comfort food. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough January 13, 2010
Mama's Creamed Peas for Sick Tummies