Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Creamed Peas for Sick Tummies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Creamed Peas for Sick Tummies

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2009

      MMMMM!! I'm pregnant (so getting wild cravings) and was dying for the same creamed peas I used to eat as a kid (when I was sick too!) These taste just like my mom's- well, with a little extra salt and lots of extra pepper- I dont think my mom could cook without pepper! and just for the record- these always made me get better when I was a kid. They never curdled my stomach and made me barf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This is nothing more than a basic white sauce on peas - you can get the recipe off the Argo cornstarch box. Bland but simple to make. And as for feeding it to sick kids, anything with milk will curdle on an acidic stomach and that leads to barfing - sometimes these old-time cures hurt more than help.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      Kari--this is one of my all time favorite comfort foods on this planet! I make this exactly the same way....Have you ever tried it over mashed potatoes? Pure heaven. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      My mom always added diced potatoes and sometimes pearl onions to it when she made it for us, it was always one of my favorite side dishes she would make for us growing up. Its definately comfort food for kids!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      I wish I could rate this 100 stars. I've made this recipe dozens upon dozens of times for everyone. Thanks for sharing the wonderful memories. MARY IN LA

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      We make this all the time! I love creamed peas. We always serve them over buttered toast. Frozen or fresh peas work the best. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      I'd forgotten how much I loved when my grandma would make creamed peas for me. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I added a little onion powder, garlic powder, white pepper salt, and used skim milk. It was totally yummo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Love creamed peas! They are such a comfort food. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Sorry my family did not like this recipe. It was very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      I made this awhile back and completely forgot to review. I loved them!! Creamed peas seem so decadent, yet so simple to make. This is a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Wow - this was delicious. I added a half teaspoon of nutmeg, used white pepper and threw in a tiny pinch of cinnamon at the end... SO good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Never had creamed peas before I tried these. So yummy, we all ate them up so fast. This has instantly become a staple to any comfort food meal such as turkey or roast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I made this, not for a sick tummy, but simply because I found it on this site today, and it sounded good. This recipe is a definite keeper. I halved the recipe, and it still turned out perfect. I ate mine over whole wheat toast tonight, and tomorrow I'm going to eat it over rice. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Loved it! So good and so easy. I will definatley make this over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This was real YummY!! I did put it all over my yummy sour cream and chive mashed potatoes and everyone loved it!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      No sick tummies here - only grandchildren. They thought they did not like peas - but now they do. What a wonderful recipe. So sweet, delicious and comforting. I used frozen peas because I do not care for canned - it was wonderful. I threw a handfull of chopped up bacon from breakfast. It was a treat!! Thank you for a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I love these! My grandma always used to make them for me, so I am glad that I can make them, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I have used this recipe several times- can't believe I've never rated it! This is good, easy, and filling if used for a sick person's meal. My three year-old enjoys it. We've served it on toast, and even tried putting it on top of mashed potatoes once. This is a recipe to keep handy- thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      This dish was very easy to make. I didn't need them ready right away, so I let them simmer on Lo (the lowest setting on my stove) for about 45 minutes with a lid on while I did other things in the kitchen and they were perfectly done. This is good for me since I am still trying to master having everything on the table at the same time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Creamed Peas for Sick Tummies

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.7
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    31%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 221.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes