14 Reviews

Made these to watch the bowl games on the second of Jan. WOW! I really loved these, especially with the cucumber dipping sauce. Everyone who tried them raved about them. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan January 12, 2010

Made these Sunday and absolutely loved them! The sweetness of the coconut rum came through in the wings and the spice was perfect! I doubled the sauce and quadrupled the rum in it. YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! I can't wait for lunch today when I am having the left overs! Thanks for such a great and fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildWaysPaige February 03, 2009

My mother is not big at all on chicken wings (odd, I know!) So I used chicken breasts so that she could enjoy these too. I went on the lighter side with the rub since some people here are afraid of heat too! The marinade was great! I absolutly loved the flavor the rum gave the chicken, just perfect! Also the dip was great. The left over dip made a great spread for sandwhichs with the left over sliced chicken once I added a little more cucumbers to the mix. Love this recipe, cant wait to try it with wings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme July 08, 2007

These were great, very nice marinade. I didn't make the sauce, however...it wouldn't have been liked, but served them with blue cheese dressing as another reviewer did. Family loved them! You Mamas can cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie July 08, 2007

I love wings and these were fantastic! The flavors melded together beautifully with just the right amount of spiciness for me. Wonderful job Mamas! Made for ZWTIII

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess July 07, 2007

I loved it! It was as though you'd drunkenly spilled a Cuba Libra made with Malibu into a container and decided to marinate chicken wings in it..throw in some spices, make a rub the following day...keep the Malibu flowing for the Caribbean mood! Spicy and good! There were subtle hints of coconut, allspice, different peppers, and herbs. I liked the sauce very much, and thought it was a good complement to the hot wings! For ZWT 3, Sassy Saucepan Clan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mme M July 02, 2007

I also made this with drumsicks instead of wings, and it was devoured by my DH and DS. DS usually hates drumsticks, but loved these. Nobody really ate much of the dipping sauce, so next time I wont go to the trouble of making the sauce again, but the chicken I will definatley be making again. DH and DS both would like to have it again!!! Very nice and tasty recipe Mama's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 28, 2007

Made half a recipe for hubby and self and went light on the jerk, the seasoning, not the husband! Though we really like the wings we didn't much care for the sauce. ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 27, 2007

I made this exactly as directed asn the family loved them. I did use drummettes instead of wings though, as I happened to have them in the freezer. I also used the Caribbean Jerk Seasoning Dry Jerk Seasoning as suggested - and it is terrific with this. We didn't care for the dipping sauce as much - only because of the consistency - I even tried to modify afterwards and see if i could fix it, but think I would agree with the previous reviewer that used it as a side salsd instead. Blue Cheese worked well as a dip though. DH found the chicken tasty all by themselves. They cooked really quickly for me on my grill, so I would suggest people watch your grills - and know what size meats you have on there. Mine cooked up in around 20 minutes. Thank you for a wonderful recipe - you really outdid yourselves GLCM's!! ZWT3 Jerk challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 25, 2007

For us This was so much better than we both thoght this was going to. I chose to pineapple juice in our instead of lemon and I also added too much, will not the next time to the sauce. Excellant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE June 25, 2007
Mama's Coke and Rum Wings and Where's the Rum at Dipping Sauce