Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-56 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2006

      These low-fat biscuits are a real winner in appearance, taste, and texture! I was totally surprised at how good they are and easy to whip up. My Taste Of Home magazine chart said to add 1 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp baking soda for each cup of flour, so that is what I used to sub for the self rising flour. The only problem I had was my dough was too runny and I didn't want to add too much more flour so I ended up making drop biscuits instead. They turned out a lovely golden brown and were light, moist, and delicious! What more could you ask for? Thank you Mama for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Amazingly good biscuits with only 3 ingredients! The dough is very loose to start with, adding just enough flour at kneading point makes it perfect - the dough still needs to remain loose to make soft biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Great biscuits! Followed the recipe accordingly but added 8 tsp splenda. Yum! We like our breads with a hint of sweetness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Very nice and easy to put together. I agree with other reviewers that adding some herbs (or even some grated cheese) will up the flavour-factor. Good basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Sorry, but we weren't really fond of these biscuits. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Wow - these are so easy. I added some fresh chopped chives and some parsley to make herbed biscuits. Instead of kneading & cutting them out, I simply pinched off a ball of dough a little larger than a golf ball, and lightly patted it in my hands to form each biscuit. These would also be good as breakfast biscuits, rolled in a little cinnamon sugar before baking. Thanks for posting - I'm sure I'll be making these again! -M :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      So easy and so good. I just cut them with my regular cutter,they took about 15min. thanks, mama

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      Made these this morning and they turned out great! It's amazing with such few ing and mayo!! Anyway I'm sure I will make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      These were VERY GOOD! Great texture and flavor. So easy too...who needs bisquick?! This will be my new standby recipe for biscuits from now on! Oh...I did use low fat mayo and it worked just fine. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      Made these again tonight with a few modifications... I replaced half a cup of the regular flour with whole wheat flour (i've tried it with a whole cup, and it was too dense), used an extra 1/2 tsp of baking powder (see my attached original review to see how to sub for self rising flour with baking soda), and miracle whip light with a 1/2 tsp of margarine melted into it for the fat. Came our REALLY well, very nice texture with the whole wheat flour in it, and tasted amazing with some margarine and raspberry jam! Next time I think I'll try adding some herbs for herb biscuits! Oct 16th/05 ***** Amazingly good, especially considering how little goes into them - a wonderful easy biscuit recipe! I used regular flour, 3 tsp of baking power, and 1/2 a tsp of salt and they came out perfectly... I also just pulled pieces off the dough ball, hand flattened them, and put them on the cookie sheet - I avoid rolling dough whenever possible! Will definately be using this recipe over and over! -- posted Oct 16, 2005

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I made these for a dinner tonight. They came out very nicely. I'm keeping the recipe for when I want a quick homemade biscuit. The dough was VERY doughy, which required A LOT of flour when kneading and cutting. I plan to try the drop method next time. I only had Miracle Whip Light and skim milk on hand to use, but the biscuits still came out nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      Updated: This should be saved in everyone cookbook! They are so easy to throw together when you do not have the time to make rolls for dinner. They are a perfect texture and only three ingredients!!! These are wonderful for breakfast or dinner! "Oct 7, 2005 OH MAMA!!! were these ever good! These were so easy to throw together too!!! I cut mine into mini loafs and put them in the pan side by side. They were beauriful! Also, I did not have a full cup of milk so I added half and half to make the difference and it worked perfectly. Thanks Mama!!! — Oct 7, 2005"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      Very tasty! The mayo gave it a nice salty taste from the normal biscuits! Tasted very good when it just came out of the oven with peach jam and butter! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      These could be good... if I were to make them properly. I tried to sub for the self raising flour and it didn't really work too well. Because I didn't "over work" the dough, the baking powder didn't get dispersed very well. Next time, I will just buy the right flour for the job. My fiance HATES mayonnaise... so I didn't tell him what was in the biscuits! And even though they didn't really work, he still had three pieces! That goes to show that these are great even when I can manage to mess them up! Thanks Mama for being a better cook than me and coming up with such a GREAT recipe. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Tastes almost like my grandpa's did! That's the highest compliment i can give in cooking!! Very good! Made mine the old fashioned way in an iron skillet with melted shortening on the bottom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      Made these tonight and will make again and again, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 389.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites