56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make biscuits frequently using buttermilk and butter flavor crisco. they are pretty good that way. But sometimes they don't rise as high as I would like. I decided to give these a try because I was in a hurry. I really didn't expect much, but they turned out great.. Dh loved them all three kids loved them.(Even my 6yo who hates mayo, ate one and came back for leftovers for dinner. I think I will try them using buttermilk to see if I can get great results and keep that buttermilk flavor. Thanks for a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 04, 2007

This recipe was easy and the results were great! I would never have thought about using mayonnaise, sooo much better than shortening. We used Fat Free milk. Next time I'll try adding herbs so we can make tiny herb biscuit sandwiches with thinly sliced ham and smoked turkey. Thanks Mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets December 02, 2007

These biscuits were so yummy with chicken and gravy over them!! I did have to substitute 1/2 the milk with 1/2 & 1/2 as I did not have enough milk. When mixing I was worried as my dough was dry. I added about another tbsp. of 1/2 and 1/2 leaving my dough still on the dry side. I carried on without adding anymore. Even without following the recipe as written (too cold to go out for just milk)I was rewarded with great biscuits! I can only imagine how good they would be had I actually followed the recipe! `Tis a winner in my book! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MammaBear23 December 02, 2007

Oh, Mama! Biscuits just don't get any easier than this! Tender flaky, tender and melt in your mouth delicious! I never heard of using mayo in biscuits before, but this works very well. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful recipes, Mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev November 26, 2007

This was the first recipe that I tried from this site. The biscuits were outstanding. My family loved them and I loved that they were so easy to make. This recipe is one I will hand down to my children.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pacific Northwest Chef October 01, 2007

We loved these biscuits. DH has been asking me for biscuits since we were last in the US 2 years ago - we just don't have them here - now he's happy. I'm sure I'll be making these again. Thanks for sharing this great, easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl August 04, 2007

Made for ZWT III. What a surprise this recipe was. I didn't believe that it could be so easy to make such great biscuits. I cut this recipe in half and the biscuits turned out beautifully. These were perfect with my fried chicken dinner, and I know these would be great with sausage gravy. No more Pillsbury refrigerated biscuits for me. From now on I am going to make these biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 08, 2007

Made these for dinner. My family liked them, nice texture, great with the soup we had. Really easy to make. Will be making them again. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 May 28, 2007

wow, this was easy. i didn't knead the dough, i prefered to leave it a bit lumpy and make drop biscuits to ensure that they would be tender and fluffy. it's true that they don't have a lot of flavor but that's what i think of when i think of a biscuit. i really don't like greasy restaurant biscuits that taste like fake butter. in my opinion, this is a perfect biscuit! thanks mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brithebaker April 15, 2007

I made these for dinner with stew. Although very easy to make, mine didn't turn out as I expected. They barely rose and mine only made 8 traditional sized bisquits. They cooked too long at 15 minutes on 450. Mine were nice and brown on top, very hard on bottom, soft on inside. I think I will try them one more time, but adjust the temp & time. As well as add some honey to sweeten. (Hubby thought bland.) I added honey on mine so didnt notice. Sorry, it may have been my flour, so thats why I'll try again. If they turn out better the second time around I will update review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brenda-ohio March 29, 2007
Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits