Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2007

      I make biscuits frequently using buttermilk and butter flavor crisco. they are pretty good that way. But sometimes they don't rise as high as I would like. I decided to give these a try because I was in a hurry. I really didn't expect much, but they turned out great.. Dh loved them all three kids loved them.(Even my 6yo who hates mayo, ate one and came back for leftovers for dinner. I think I will try them using buttermilk to see if I can get great results and keep that buttermilk flavor. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This recipe was easy and the results were great! I would never have thought about using mayonnaise, sooo much better than shortening. We used Fat Free milk. Next time I'll try adding herbs so we can make tiny herb biscuit sandwiches with thinly sliced ham and smoked turkey. Thanks Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      These biscuits were so yummy with chicken and gravy over them!! I did have to substitute 1/2 the milk with 1/2 & 1/2 as I did not have enough milk. When mixing I was worried as my dough was dry. I added about another tbsp. of 1/2 and 1/2 leaving my dough still on the dry side. I carried on without adding anymore. Even without following the recipe as written (too cold to go out for just milk)I was rewarded with great biscuits! I can only imagine how good they would be had I actually followed the recipe! `Tis a winner in my book! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Oh, Mama! Biscuits just don't get any easier than this! Tender flaky, tender and melt in your mouth delicious! I never heard of using mayo in biscuits before, but this works very well. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful recipes, Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This was the first recipe that I tried from this site. The biscuits were outstanding. My family loved them and I loved that they were so easy to make. This recipe is one I will hand down to my children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      We loved these biscuits. DH has been asking me for biscuits since we were last in the US 2 years ago - we just don't have them here - now he's happy. I'm sure I'll be making these again. Thanks for sharing this great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Made for ZWT III. What a surprise this recipe was. I didn't believe that it could be so easy to make such great biscuits. I cut this recipe in half and the biscuits turned out beautifully. These were perfect with my fried chicken dinner, and I know these would be great with sausage gravy. No more Pillsbury refrigerated biscuits for me. From now on I am going to make these biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Made these for dinner. My family liked them, nice texture, great with the soup we had. Really easy to make. Will be making them again. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      wow, this was easy. i didn't knead the dough, i prefered to leave it a bit lumpy and make drop biscuits to ensure that they would be tender and fluffy. it's true that they don't have a lot of flavor but that's what i think of when i think of a biscuit. i really don't like greasy restaurant biscuits that taste like fake butter. in my opinion, this is a perfect biscuit! thanks mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I made these for dinner with stew. Although very easy to make, mine didn't turn out as I expected. They barely rose and mine only made 8 traditional sized bisquits. They cooked too long at 15 minutes on 450. Mine were nice and brown on top, very hard on bottom, soft on inside. I think I will try them one more time, but adjust the temp & time. As well as add some honey to sweeten. (Hubby thought bland.) I added honey on mine so didnt notice. Sorry, it may have been my flour, so thats why I'll try again. If they turn out better the second time around I will update review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I just made these for breakfast this morning. Wow were these easy to make and so so good!!! I am used to making them with butter, salt, baking powder etc., and was leary about using just the mayonnaise, milk and flour, but these are now my only biscuits. My son came back for seconds and said these were the best. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Like these a lot but need a topping like jam or butter. Maybe a touch of honey would be nice. Will make again and loved simplicity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      the first time i made these they were so sticky i made drop biscuits. but i made them again because they were soft and had such a good flavor and they turned out perfectly. i love this recipe. it's so easy and fast and makes a great biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I don't think you can get any easier than this! I don't think they can taste any better than this.. My husband watched me make these and kept asking "Umm, are you sure your doing it right?" Funny how all I heard out of his mouth when they were done is "Ohhh, You gotta make these more often!" My husuband is one to put butter/jam on everything, these biscuits he ate just as they were and loved em'... I am sooo happy I found this recipe.. No more store bought for our family, from NOW ON!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      The dough was very sticky even after adding some more flour. I ended up making drop biscuits instead. The flavor was delicious and my husband loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      These are with out a doubt the best! I've made a lot of biscuits because my husband grew up on them in W.VA. but none of my recipes were this easy. I was curious as to whether or not the real mayonaise would work as a substitute for lard,shortening or butter. But by golly it did and these are as flaky as I could ask for. And when it comes to ease, nothing could be easier than shaping the dough into a square or circle and gently precutting before baking. I was also surprised at how nicely they browned. Because some times my biscuits don't brown on top so I run them under the broiler for a minute or two to give them that golden touch. Thank you Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Well, your momma's bestest is very good. Made these twice now and love to eat them each time. Thank you for a very easy, basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Bigger than the sum of its parts! A keeper!! Also tried it with buttermilk (and a healthy pinch of baking soda) -- STUNNING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      These were actually REALLY good~ I was suprised since they needed no time to rise. Great last minute throw together roll. Thanks mama's kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Very delicious and very easy!!! No more hockey pucks for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 389.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites