56 Reviews

I chose this recipe as I have a lonley sack of self rising flour in the cupboard. I made the recipe as directed. However I found TWO major problems that I feel the original poster should address. ONE, these biscuits disappear WAAAAY to fast - they baked up perfect and were just slightly crusty on the outside and so tender on the inside, who could resist? SECOND, too many of these biscuits disappeared into my face and are probably colonizing on my backside as I type! Until these issues are addressed, I'm afraid I will need to do my own investigation to solving these 'problems' with these biscuits. I mean, someone has to do it, right??? OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TransplantedHusker March 28, 2010

I'm glad I tried these again. They were awsome! So yummy and perfect. I think last time I didn't understand that making them as large or small as you want them is the same as thickness (I know that is splitting hairs but I am sometimes very literal). I may have also used less than whole milk. This time I used whole milk and made my own self rising flour as you suggested. I also used Helmans canola mayonnaise. I didn't need all the flour but used most of it. I patted it out and cut with a large biscuit cutter and made them fairly thick. I got 8 large biscuits which is perfect for my family of 4. They did poof nicely in the oven (they didn't last time so I'm sure I did something wrong...maybe it was the flour. I did use self rising and sometimes it doesn't work like it should.) I took them out after about 12 minutes as they were nice and brown. The crust on the outside had a lovely taste and the inside was perfect...the kids LOVED them. Sorry for the less than perfect review last time. This is why I always try these things again. I'm glad I did this time as this will be our new biscuit recipe. So nice that it uses ing. that are in the house anyway. Orig. post 12/20/2005: 3 1/2 stars. They didn't stink but they weren't great either. My problem was that you never said how thin or thick to roll the dough. I guess I rolled it a little too thin and they didn't puff much. The taste was fine and they were still good with lots of European butter but the directions weren't helpful to me. Maybe next time I will try CassiaDawn's pull and flatten meathod pulling it into 12 pieces.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse June 08, 2010

I can't rate the biscuits just yet because I just used this recipe for dumplings. I made the recipe with buttermilk and added just a tad of sugar. They made WONDERFUL dumplings, and this will be my regular dumpling recipe. Can't wait to try the biscuits- and with this easy recipe, that shouldn't be long!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingfor7 January 27, 2008

I made these last night with dinner, and this was the first time I attempted to make home made biscuits. Very good recipe! Mine came out perfect! And even though my baking powder was expired, it still came out great! I brushed seasoned butter(butter, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, basil) on top when they came out of the oven, and the kids ate them up! Im glad I made two batches! This will be filed in my recipe box for my go to recipe! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateyKook January 04, 2014

Easy and tastes great! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m March 25, 2013

I've been trying out new recipes for biscuits, this one is by far the best and so easy. Who would know that mayo works so well. I've tried mayo with chicken,rolled in crushed crotons and the biscuits are great with this dish. This is a great biscuit recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Hazel September 09, 2011

Nice, easy biscuit recipe. Kids and I enjoyed. Didn't realize I had self-rising flour so I added salt and baking powder per the note. Didn't seem to affect the recipe too much. We will definitely do these again. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth August 12, 2011

I did only half of the recipe and ended with 6 small biscuits.I didn't need any of the extra flour since I just put them on a muffin pan.I didn't roll them just pulled them and shaped them into small little balls.I used the chipotle mayo as I had seen someone here mention it and it did add a small hint of spiciness to it.I liked this recipe since it does not use that much mayo as another one I had tried a long time back.That one left the flavor of mayo on the biscuit but with this recipe you could not notice it.Liked it and will keep it to play around with the ingredients adding herbs to it and maybe cheese like it was suggested.Still as a basic recipe is good for dinner and with jelly they must taste pretty good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms November 18, 2010

Loved it!! Made as written and they turned out wonderfully. Thanks for a great recipe!! I will make this over and over. I used Best Foods Mayo and Skim milk and AP flour with the salt and baking powder addition. It is a beautiful thing when I can make biscuits from scratch with my every day pantry ingredients. I will no longer purchase self-rising flour or shortening just for biscuits!! Oh, and tell your kids that they named the recipe perfectly!! Many thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJunkieGina October 03, 2009

Great texture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoonyLynn October 30, 2010
Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits