Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2010

      I chose this recipe as I have a lonley sack of self rising flour in the cupboard. I made the recipe as directed. However I found TWO major problems that I feel the original poster should address. ONE, these biscuits disappear WAAAAY to fast - they baked up perfect and were just slightly crusty on the outside and so tender on the inside, who could resist? SECOND, too many of these biscuits disappeared into my face and are probably colonizing on my backside as I type! Until these issues are addressed, I'm afraid I will need to do my own investigation to solving these 'problems' with these biscuits. I mean, someone has to do it, right??? OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I'm glad I tried these again. They were awsome! So yummy and perfect. I think last time I didn't understand that making them as large or small as you want them is the same as thickness (I know that is splitting hairs but I am sometimes very literal). I may have also used less than whole milk. This time I used whole milk and made my own self rising flour as you suggested. I also used Helmans canola mayonnaise. I didn't need all the flour but used most of it. I patted it out and cut with a large biscuit cutter and made them fairly thick. I got 8 large biscuits which is perfect for my family of 4. They did poof nicely in the oven (they didn't last time so I'm sure I did something wrong...maybe it was the flour. I did use self rising and sometimes it doesn't work like it should.) I took them out after about 12 minutes as they were nice and brown. The crust on the outside had a lovely taste and the inside was perfect...the kids LOVED them. Sorry for the less than perfect review last time. This is why I always try these things again. I'm glad I did this time as this will be our new biscuit recipe. So nice that it uses ing. that are in the house anyway. Orig. post 12/20/2005: 3 1/2 stars. They didn't stink but they weren't great either. My problem was that you never said how thin or thick to roll the dough. I guess I rolled it a little too thin and they didn't puff much. The taste was fine and they were still good with lots of European butter but the directions weren't helpful to me. Maybe next time I will try CassiaDawn's pull and flatten meathod pulling it into 12 pieces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I made these last night with dinner, and this was the first time I attempted to make home made biscuits. Very good recipe! Mine came out perfect! And even though my baking powder was expired, it still came out great! I brushed seasoned butter(butter, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, basil) on top when they came out of the oven, and the kids ate them up! Im glad I made two batches! This will be filed in my recipe box for my go to recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Easy and tastes great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I've been trying out new recipes for biscuits, this one is by far the best and so easy. Who would know that mayo works so well. I've tried mayo with chicken,rolled in crushed crotons and the biscuits are great with this dish. This is a great biscuit recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Nice, easy biscuit recipe. Kids and I enjoyed. Didn't realize I had self-rising flour so I added salt and baking powder per the note. Didn't seem to affect the recipe too much. We will definitely do these again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I did only half of the recipe and ended with 6 small biscuits.I didn't need any of the extra flour since I just put them on a muffin pan.I didn't roll them just pulled them and shaped them into small little balls.I used the chipotle mayo as I had seen someone here mention it and it did add a small hint of spiciness to it.I liked this recipe since it does not use that much mayo as another one I had tried a long time back.That one left the flavor of mayo on the biscuit but with this recipe you could not notice it.Liked it and will keep it to play around with the ingredients adding herbs to it and maybe cheese like it was suggested.Still as a basic recipe is good for dinner and with jelly they must taste pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Great texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Loved it!! Made as written and they turned out wonderfully. Thanks for a great recipe!! I will make this over and over. I used Best Foods Mayo and Skim milk and AP flour with the salt and baking powder addition. It is a beautiful thing when I can make biscuits from scratch with my every day pantry ingredients. I will no longer purchase self-rising flour or shortening just for biscuits!! Oh, and tell your kids that they named the recipe perfectly!! Many thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      I've made these on 3 different occasions and each time they are dense and flat and mostly without flavor. In it's favor, they're better than store bought canned biscuits and they are very easy to make. I think it needs some modification though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I'm afraid this didn't really work for me. The dough was gooey and runny, and I needed to sprinkle a lot of flour on the counter in order to knead the dough. My hands were a sticky mess! I also had problems cutting the dough even though I dipped the knife in flour. The dough was just too wet and sticky. However, the taste and texture of the baked biscuits was good. If I make these again, I will reduce the amount of milk in the recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      These are excellent biscuits when you need some in a hurry without too much mess and worry. I still prefer the traditional ones on occasion though. But these are good, basic biscuits. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      They were ok, but very small and nothing spectacular. I am going to try them again though and will only make 9 rolls and maybe add some other ingridients as this is a very nice and easy basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This was an awesome recipe! It was quick and easy, and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      i have made these soo much. ive tried to make other rolls/biscuits and these are always the ones i come back to. they are soft and taste like something i would get at the bakery (something i have a hard time doing with breads). even my brother who requests buttery biscuits cant tell the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      It doesn't get much easier than this, and they are wonderful! I made to use for Strawberry Shortcake, and they sure held up their end of the bargain. Light and broke apart easily. We loved them! I had some of the leftovers toasted with butter and strawberry jelly this morning. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      These were great! I have never been able to make a good biscuit and these remind me of my grandmothers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      How easy were these!!! I can't believe these were so light and fluffy with so little work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I can't rate the biscuits just yet because I just used this recipe for dumplings. I made the recipe with buttermilk and added just a tad of sugar. They made WONDERFUL dumplings, and this will be my regular dumpling recipe. Can't wait to try the biscuits- and with this easy recipe, that shouldn't be long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      These were the bestest biscuits ;) Since it is only my husband and I , I cut recipe in 1/2 and also added about 1 TBS. butter and they were GREAT!!!!Just got done eating them for breakfast with gravy.YUMMO! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's ' Bestest' Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 389.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites