44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just want to comment because I am upset with some of the reviewers complaining that it's "not creamy or cheese-y" enough for them, or they didn't like it because it doesn't taste like the kind that comes out of a box. THIS recipe has: Calories 276.5 Calories from Fat 109 for 1 serving. Not so bad considering a sample of other similar recipes will cost your body between: Calories 570.9 Calories from Fat 230 - to - Calories 899.6 Calories from Fat 481, Total Fat 53.5 g and 32 grams of Saturated Fat!!!! So if you all want to commit suicide by eating high food that's "cheesier", "creamier" and taste like it's "fresh from the box" go right a head. In fact, you can think about that "creamy mac and cheese" as the anthesiologist tells you to count backwards from 10 while you lay on the surgeon's table about to have your breastbone sawed open for a quadruple by-pass because your arteries are all clogged with "creamy" and "cheesy". Or you can thank people like Mama's Kitchen for posting a HEALTHER VERSION so you can have your Mac & Cheese and not end up DEAD for it. And you all should be doing what she does: Tossing in veggies to up the nutrional content. Good work Mama's Kitchen on slimming down this recipe. I commend you for trying to keep your kids both happy and healthy. It's a shame more people weren't like you.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarHATER November 13, 2010

I made this recipe on 7/20/09 as part of our dinner. And other than cutting this in half,it was made as written.Perfect amount of everything in this recipe.. This was what mac & cheese should be, " cheesy goodness " . This knocks the " Blue Box " stuff out of the park. I'll make this again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 21, 2009

This was very easy to make, just not cheesy enough and we used a sharp cheddar. We would definitely do this again, but with more cheese. I added a generous dash of onion powder and cayenne pepper for a little "kick". It made a good hearty lunch while we were doing some holiday baking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 18, 2009

you may want to try grating some onion into the roux mixture to give this a flavor boost!! Use a hand held grater, 1/2 an onion should do the trick!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammiepnut_8993267 February 15, 2011

We all thought this was pretty good. I added almost 3 cups of cheese - a mixture of sharp cheddar, smoked gouda and jack and it was definitely very cheesy. We're not a big mac & cheese family, but every now and then I get a craving and this filled it. It was super quick and very easy. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM February 15, 2010

Good in theory. But I wanted a super creamy, cheesy mac and cheese. Not what I got. But everyone still enjoyed it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nrpelham December 13, 2009

Wow! I cut the recipe in half for DH and I and what a mistake...I could have had the leftovers for lunch. This was very good and the only thing I did differently was to add some sauted minced onion and about 1/2 cup of colby cheese. This will be a regular in our house. Thank you. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game (July-Dec. 09).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 08, 2009

This was good and the kids loved it. I think I would like it to be cheesier, though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_richmond September 13, 2009

Delish and easy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyJasmine April 26, 2009

Made this for lunch today and my five year old's verdict is that it's better than the boxed stuff but not as good as what we get at her favorite restaurant (Logan's) Considering it's probably got a fraction of the calories of either I think that's pretty good. I thought it was ok...not sure my husband would like it though...not nearly cheesy enough (but again...way better on the calories). I'll use a sharper cheddar next time for more cheese flavor and probably cut back on the mustard powder which I thought was a little overpowering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cocoder68 February 24, 2011
Mama's Best Macaroni and Cheese