Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Best Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Best Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      I just want to comment because I am upset with some of the reviewers complaining that it's "not creamy or cheese-y" enough for them, or they didn't like it because it doesn't taste like the kind that comes out of a box. THIS recipe has: Calories 276.5 Calories from Fat 109 for 1 serving. Not so bad considering a sample of other similar recipes will cost your body between: Calories 570.9 Calories from Fat 230 - to - Calories 899.6 Calories from Fat 481, Total Fat 53.5 g and 32 grams of Saturated Fat!!!! So if you all want to commit suicide by eating high food that's "cheesier", "creamier" and taste like it's "fresh from the box" go right a head. In fact, you can think about that "creamy mac and cheese" as the anthesiologist tells you to count backwards from 10 while you lay on the surgeon's table about to have your breastbone sawed open for a quadruple by-pass because your arteries are all clogged with "creamy" and "cheesy". Or you can thank people like Mama's Kitchen for posting a HEALTHER VERSION so you can have your Mac & Cheese and not end up DEAD for it. And you all should be doing what she does: Tossing in veggies to up the nutrional content. Good work Mama's Kitchen on slimming down this recipe. I commend you for trying to keep your kids both happy and healthy. It's a shame more people weren't like you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      I made this recipe on 7/20/09 as part of our dinner. And other than cutting this in half,it was made as written.Perfect amount of everything in this recipe.. This was what mac & cheese should be, " cheesy goodness " . This knocks the " Blue Box " stuff out of the park. I'll make this again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This was very easy to make, just not cheesy enough and we used a sharp cheddar. We would definitely do this again, but with more cheese. I added a generous dash of onion powder and cayenne pepper for a little "kick". It made a good hearty lunch while we were doing some holiday baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      you may want to try grating some onion into the roux mixture to give this a flavor boost!! Use a hand held grater, 1/2 an onion should do the trick!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      We all thought this was pretty good. I added almost 3 cups of cheese - a mixture of sharp cheddar, smoked gouda and jack and it was definitely very cheesy. We're not a big mac & cheese family, but every now and then I get a craving and this filled it. It was super quick and very easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Good in theory. But I wanted a super creamy, cheesy mac and cheese. Not what I got. But everyone still enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Wow! I cut the recipe in half for DH and I and what a mistake...I could have had the leftovers for lunch. This was very good and the only thing I did differently was to add some sauted minced onion and about 1/2 cup of colby cheese. This will be a regular in our house. Thank you. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game (July-Dec. 09).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was good and the kids loved it. I think I would like it to be cheesier, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Delish and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Made this for lunch today and my five year old's verdict is that it's better than the boxed stuff but not as good as what we get at her favorite restaurant (Logan's) Considering it's probably got a fraction of the calories of either I think that's pretty good. I thought it was ok...not sure my husband would like it though...not nearly cheesy enough (but again...way better on the calories). I'll use a sharper cheddar next time for more cheese flavor and probably cut back on the mustard powder which I thought was a little overpowering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Made this today and my 7 year old and twin 10 month olds loved it! My older son stirred peas into it and gobbled it down & wanted seconds. I was scared to make this as I haven't historically had good luck with "roux," but this seemed so easy! To up the creamy factor, I used half skim milk and half half-n-half (would've used fat free evap. milk, but didn't have any). Turned out very smooth and creamy, though I have to admit I thought the flavor was a little bland. Next time I will throw in some extra cheese. I kept the burner on medium-low the whole time so as not to burn the butter or milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This is a very good macaroni and cheese and one that I enjoyed for lunch along with a grilled hot dog. I used Sharp Cheddar Cheese and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      A lovely creamy mac and cheese recipe, that's quick and easy, too. I did find it to be a little mild, and think next time I will add more cheese, and use a sharp cheddar to pick up a stronger cheese flavor. I'll definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This was an easy recipe, and the sauce is simple and fast to pull together (and very creamy). I expected the whole family to love this, but oddly enough no liked it very much. I didn't feel it was cheesy enough, and my daughter (she's 9) thought it might be better if "it wasn't so creamy". Maybe the solution is just adding more cheese. If I try it again I will add more cheese and let you know how that goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was pretty watery. I simmered the bechamel sauce for a long time and it never thickened, which tells me that not enough roux was used, though I followed the recipe to a "T". I'm sure this recipe is delicious when it turns out as planned, but I'd prefer a thicker, richer cheese sauce. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      I think many folks here are having problems because they do not understand how to make a proper ROUX! If it came out watery and not thick, thats because you did not cook the roux long enough. Part of this, you should have the heat VERY low because butter will burn. I never even came close to medium, keeping mine at max medium low. I kept stirring and cooking it for about 5 minutes, which made a VERY Thick (perhaps even al ittle too thick! woops!) roux, and a very thick sauce. <br/>Also, yes, this isn't as 'cheesy' as boxed mixes... because this doesnt use additional flavorings, etc, its solely the cheese and spices you are tasting. I think it is delicious in a completely different way than boxed mac n cheese. If you prefer more flavorings, I like to add some worcestershire sauce to my mac n cheese, and hot sauce. I added some after I tasted mine, just because thats how i enjoy it normally :)<br/>also, if you dont have mustard powder, you can replace it with some brown mustard - do it to taste, since it wont convert identically. Just a little should do the trick, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I really liked this recipe. Very easy to follow.
      I pre-cooked some broccoli and carrots, and I added the grated onion to the roux. Used evaporated milk. End result was creamy, cheesy and pretty! Thank you, Hope!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I must have done something horribly, horribly wrong, but I don't know what because I followed the recipe to the letter. Mine was awful! Inedible! I ended up making a box of mac and cheese and throwing this stuff out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I agree with previous reviewer who stated that the texture of this was better than many homemade recipes I have tried. Easy to put together and tasty- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Very simple and fast to make. It smelled amazing, but did lack a bit of flavour and I will try it with extra strong cheddar to get a cheesier taste next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Best Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.0
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    39%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 269.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites