40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Omitting the salt and adding celery salt in place of the celery really gives this sauce a great flavor. We were all totally loving the sauce! This sauce is different than lots of others and has loads of flavors just waiting to experiment on your taste buds. This is a repeater!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganMuffins April 30, 2009

I followed Linda's Busy Kitchen's notes and used dried onion and celery salt in this. The celery salt has loads of flavor and really did the sauce justice! We all loved this finger licking chicken and it has been added to our monthly meal rotation to enjoy again and again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy May 05, 2011

Excellent, EXCELLENT, ExCeLlEnT is all I can say. Don't miss out on this one folks! Man Oh Man was this ever GOOD! You won't believe it, but I had fallen asleep yesterday afternoon around 5, and when I woke up at 12 midnight I was starving. I was on Zaar looking at recipes because I couldn't sleep, and came across this one. I just happened to have a whole cutup chicken in the fridge waiting to cook, so decided to try it. Am I glad I did! I was out of onions, so I used about 1/2 c. dried onion and just put them in with a little extra water and let them simmer for awhile, and I didn't have celery, so I used 1 tsp. celery salt in place of the chopped celery and salt. I was in heaven eating this at 1:30 am LOL... I just posted pics. Two before and 2 after cooking) You'll be lickin your chops too when you see em :) Thanks so much for sharing this family favorite with us Seasoned Cook. Keep on with your delicious recipes. YUMMO!!! Linda

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen November 25, 2007

This tasted great, but I would say I've had more barbecue-y chicken, it was a little more tomato/sweet and sour tasting. It made a lovely dinner and then we had loads of leftovers for sandwiches later in the week (there's only two of us!!) I loved that there was plenty of sauce because I'm a sauce fiend and always make sure I spoon it all over my dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog April 01, 2015

I have now made this twice for parties and it has been a huge hit! Really good flavor and the chicken gets nice and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 01, 2011

We tried this last night. Maybe I expected to much because of all the high reviews but this was lacking in flavor and did not taste anything like bar-b-que chicken. It reminded me of chicken cooked in russian french dressing. I like a thick sauce on my chicken and this was far from thick. Sorry, I really wanted to like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladycobra3 February 12, 2011

After 35 reviews of mainly OMG so great - I expected a lot more. This was ok at best. It tasted like a sweet and sour sauce, not BBQ sauce...and it wasn't all that flavorful. I would probably have gotten a better result using a commercial BBQ sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tobago Cay February 07, 2011

Oh my, this chicken is good! I seldom eat chicken that really knocks my socks off and makes me go back for seconds, but this one had me at first bite! Deeeelicious!!!!!!!!! DH was raving about it for a week after I cooked it, begging me to make it again. Now a favorite around here and one I plan to make for many moons to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks May 04, 2010

Great flavored sauce Seasoned Cook! My whole family couldn't wait to eat after smelling the chicken cooking in the oven! They ate and ate and ate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetLee52 September 19, 2009

Simply outstanding - a homey all-American standout recipe. Good flavors & tender chicken. Very easy to slam together too. Used 2 T bacon grease instead of the salad oil & through in 2 partially seeded minced jalapenos from the garden (they are in everything now that production is booming in the garden). Baked as directed & served with potato salad - Firecracker Potato Salad - awesome meal! Thank you for sharing this classic Americana, Seasoned Cook - it's on the short list in our house (can't wait to try it out on some friends who are Meat & Taters kinda folks)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend August 14, 2009
Mama's Bar-B-Que (Barbecue) Chicken