15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How dare you call something this delicious absurd!!!! I made this for dinner last night, just added a little mozzerella cheese to the Parmesan and a dusting of paprika. I'm going to make this again and again, but next time I'll double the recipe! Thanks for a new family favorite!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj March 04, 2002

Marvelous veggies!! I cut the recipe in half with no problem, and added 2 T more parmesan, love that stuff! Added a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes and 1/2 cup shredded swiss cheese to the top. Baked for 40 minutes. Wonderful!!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 30, 2002

Elizabeth, this was definately not absurd, it was wonderful!! Cut it back for the two of us and it turned out great, very very tastey and went really well with Bergy's mustard chicken. didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing, one we will do again and again.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 24, 2002

This was very light and great tasting. I served it with canarygirls's Basil Cilantro and Macadamia Nut chicken (Yummy too!) and it was the perfect side dish. The colors are great too. I think this is a great side dish for a heavy type meat entree. Thanks for posting Izzy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland July 05, 2002

I made this recipe for my boyfriend's parents, along with oven-baked fried chicken and cornbread. I think I used *way* too much olive oil, the bottom of the dish was swimming, but the vegetables were tender and good, especially the roma tomatoes. Mozzarella mixed with the parmesan made it gooey and great.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mari June 02, 2002

I am glad all you people added this or that to this recipe, because I made it almost as is (should have stopped at one layer) and it was terrible. No taste, no zing, nothing. I am so disappointed that I not only wasted food, but wasted my time cutting it up. I did add garlic salt, thinking it may need something, but no. Nothing. I would give it a negative rating if there were such a thing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie22 May 20, 2002

Yum, yum - this is really delicious and actually fairly healthy to boot! I did add a vidalia sweet onion to the vegeable mix but did the rest exactly to the recipe. This will be a repeater for us!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 18, 2002

Dear Julie22, I am sorry that this recipe turned out so badly for you that you wanted to give it a negative rating! This gratin has been our family recipe for the longest time and we've always enjoyed it whole-heartedly. I tried to come up with a reasonable explanation for your result, so here goes: 1. Did you preheat your oven? 2. Did you use low-sodium chicken stock? 3. Did you slice the veggies too thickly? I am just terribly sorry that the dish didn't turn out the way it was supposed to be. Hope you won't lose faith in my other recipes!?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight May 21, 2002

Delicious! Will do again & again. Can't wait to try out herbs d'provence, etc in there too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura S. August 21, 2010

This was great! We served it w/ Mushrooms A La Greque - so good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo January 06, 2010
Mama's Absurd Vegetable Gratin