Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama's Absurd Vegetable Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama's Absurd Vegetable Gratin

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2002

      How dare you call something this delicious absurd!!!! I made this for dinner last night, just added a little mozzerella cheese to the Parmesan and a dusting of paprika. I'm going to make this again and again, but next time I'll double the recipe! Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2002

      Marvelous veggies!! I cut the recipe in half with no problem, and added 2 T more parmesan, love that stuff! Added a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes and 1/2 cup shredded swiss cheese to the top. Baked for 40 minutes. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      Elizabeth, this was definately not absurd, it was wonderful!! Cut it back for the two of us and it turned out great, very very tastey and went really well with Bergy's mustard chicken. didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing, one we will do again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      This was very light and great tasting. I served it with canarygirls's Basil Cilantro and Macadamia Nut chicken (Yummy too!) and it was the perfect side dish. The colors are great too. I think this is a great side dish for a heavy type meat entree. Thanks for posting Izzy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      I made this recipe for my boyfriend's parents, along with oven-baked fried chicken and cornbread. I think I used *way* too much olive oil, the bottom of the dish was swimming, but the vegetables were tender and good, especially the roma tomatoes. Mozzarella mixed with the parmesan made it gooey and great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      I am glad all you people added this or that to this recipe, because I made it almost as is (should have stopped at one layer) and it was terrible. No taste, no zing, nothing. I am so disappointed that I not only wasted food, but wasted my time cutting it up. I did add garlic salt, thinking it may need something, but no. Nothing. I would give it a negative rating if there were such a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      Yum, yum - this is really delicious and actually fairly healthy to boot! I did add a vidalia sweet onion to the vegeable mix but did the rest exactly to the recipe. This will be a repeater for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      Dear Julie22, I am sorry that this recipe turned out so badly for you that you wanted to give it a negative rating! This gratin has been our family recipe for the longest time and we've always enjoyed it whole-heartedly. I tried to come up with a reasonable explanation for your result, so here goes: 1. Did you preheat your oven? 2. Did you use low-sodium chicken stock? 3. Did you slice the veggies too thickly? I am just terribly sorry that the dish didn't turn out the way it was supposed to be. Hope you won't lose faith in my other recipes!?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Delicious! Will do again & again. Can't wait to try out herbs d'provence, etc in there too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This was great! We served it w/ Mushrooms A La Greque - so good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Trying to pick a veggie casserole-type recipe to make, I finally settled on this one once I saw that some of my favorite recipe-posters liked it so much. And I made the right choice since this is now a new favorite of mine and my husband (honestly, we're both nuts for it!). I had forgotten to buy basil, so I'm so glad Chef #426179 (in her review) recommended using pesto. I had an organic pesto mix in my pantry and it worked perfectly. Thanks, Izzy and Izzy's mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Izzy this was fabulous! For those of you who wanted more 'zing' with this recipe, just try what I did...I didn't have fresh basil so I used pesto and I also included some chopped cilantro! Delish!! That's the beauty of recipes, they can be adapted to suit you and what you have in your pantry. My Dad is a vegetarian (and a picky one at that!) and he loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      The chicken stock and olive oil create a delicious sauce. I added garlic, salt and pepper per HeatherFeather's suggestion and was so very happy with the results. Thank you Izzy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      I really enjoyed this dish. I loved the abundant basil flavor, although I would have liked a bit of additional seasonings, perhaps some garlic and salt and pepper,etc. I will certainly make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This was a pretty good dish but my oven is so screwed up that the first night I made it, only some of the potatoes were cooked through. It was pretty good though despite that and the next night, I covered it with foil and baked it again. Excellent! We had veggie pot pie with it the first night and some left over chicken stuffed rolls the second night. Hubby loved it, especially the tomatoes. This will be a repeater at our house but will try the mozzarella addition next time. Thanks for a great veggie dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama's Absurd Vegetable Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.4
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    40%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 6.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 145.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites