Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maman's Super Black Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maman's Super Black Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2011

      delicious and easy.. I cut down on spices for my kids and served with salsa on side for those that wanted it.. i too replaced celery with corn - great idea... will make again... no left overs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Made this as stated except that I added a can of corn. Used plenty of shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't care for the celery, so next time I will substitute some sort of bell pepper as suggested in other reviews. We thought it was quite tasty except for the celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This was very good and didn't take very long to make. I added green pepper and cooked them along with the other veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      WOW, this was so good :) Lots of flavor and it's so easy to make. Didn't add the celery and added about a 1/4 cup salsa along with the diced tomatoes. Cooked the onion and garlic in olive oil. Also add a few red peppers. Served it with corn and it made for a super dinner. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      My husband doesn't like onions, celery, or cumin...soooo I added in corn, sour cream and diced up chicken and followed the rest of the recipe. It was great!!!! I layered it like a lasanga with lots of cheese...mmm mmm good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      YUM! I had big tortillas and only used 2. I really enjoyed this more than I thought I would. I didnt have any celery so omitted that. I may use some cayenne next time. Thanks for an easy recipe. Dont skimp on the cheese! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Really good! Quick and easy too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This was soooo good! I used some dried black beans that I had breviously rinsed/soaked/boiled, used whole wheat tortillas and threw some green pepper in with the onion. It was tasty and flavorful and better than the tacos the boys and DH were eating! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This was really nice, the taste reminded me of enchiladas, only a whole lot better. I used a can of tomato sauce (DH wouldnt touch if with bits of tomatoes in), and i also put in some ground turkey. I threw in some jalepenos for some heat. Tastes great reheated the next day. This is a definate keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This is awesome!! I made this with chopped onion and green pepper and 3 cloves garlic. I used a 16oz jar salsa and the chili powder and cumin. I also used the light Mexican 4-cheese blend. And, I used 8in. whole wheat flour tortillas and they fit perfectly in a round 2 qt casserole dish! This dish is so easy and so full of flavor! It is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      Nice veggie dish! It is recommended to chop the veggies quite small, to get it all integrated well in the flavor and not have big crunchy bits. I used tin of tomatoes and increased chili powder up to 1 tbs and also used one beef stock cube to add flavor. Plenty cheese required. JalapeƱos would go well along. Serve with salsa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Great recipe and quite tasty. I tried the diced tomatoes and chili powder option and will try the salsa another time. This time I used small flour tortillas (only two of them) so there was no need to cut. If I had corn tortillas I would have used them because I think they would have been even more tasty. I went with 3 layers instead of 4 and used about a cup of low-fat chedder cheese (4 ounces) and a 15 ounce can of beans. I included celery and also used a bit less than 1 tablespoon oil and sprinkled liberally with chopped scallions. Served it with hot sauce on the side. So easy to make and outcome tasted great. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      This recipe is fast, easy and delicious. It can also be very flexible with what you add to it. I used a 15 oz. can of drained and rinsed black beans. I used a mix of onion, red and green peppers, celery and garlic about a cup total) sauted with 1 and 3/4 cup hot sauce and a scant tsp cumin. I also snipped 2 flour tortillas into small pieces with my kitchen scissors. Then I put half the bean mixture in the bottom of a small casserole sprayed with cooking oil. I stirred a bit of sour cream in it and then the tortilla bits. I topped that with a bit of grated mexican cheese, following up with the rest of the black bean mix. I baked that about 15 minutes then sprinkled the top with some more cheese and some chopped green onion. Returned it to the oven until the cheese melted. Fast and Fabulous! (I'm going to try this as the filling for crispy tacos tomorrow, which is one reason why I snipped the tortillas into small pieces.) Thank you for sharing your Mmom's wonderful recipe with us food girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This was quick, easy and really yummy. I used some diced red bell pepper in place of the celery (don't like celery) and added a bit more cumin and more than double the chili powder. Also, my can of beans was only 15 oz (not 19). I used an 8 oz block of English cheddar and whole wheat flour tortillas. It all fit perfect in an 8x8 (2 qt) casserole dish, just had to slightly trim the tortillas. Thanks for posting this delish recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      This was wonderful I've made it several times both with salsa and with the tomato mix. Yum! I also only needed two tortillas. I'd make it tonight if I had all the stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      I made this as a late supper tonight and it was delicious! We don't care for cooked celery so I added green peppers right with the onion and garlic. I also used the salsa option, still used cumin and a sprinkle of chili powder. My husband and I both loved it and I will definately be making this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      This was great and easy. I tried it cold before putting in the oven and it was good. I used the salsa option instead of the diced tomato, cumin and chili powder. I only needed 2 tortillas. I did not have any celery so I substituted a little red pepper instead. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      This recipe is a keeper. I used home-made corn tortillas that I tore into bite sized pieces. Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

    • on January 17, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maman's Super Black Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.3
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    21%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 352.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes