Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mamaliga Cu Branza (Cornmeal Mush With Cheese) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mamaliga Cu Branza (Cornmeal Mush With Cheese)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2008

      This was easy and good. Creamy and cheesy. I scaled it back to 2 servings with no problems (just added an extra 1/3 cup water to keep the cornmeal from cooking down too much and burning in step 4). It made more than enough for the three of us. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Thank you so much for posting this. I am Romanian and my GM made this all the time. Fond memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Hi Toolie, am way overdue in writing my review, please forgive me! I too, stopped at Step 4 - cheddar cheese just doesn't cut it for me! I thought about adding cottage cheese instead or maybe even Guyere, maybe next time. The dish that they make here with corn meal mush is Tamal en Cazuela, that the residents love - so we will continue you playing around with the Romanian version, because those are my roots, too! Thanks again for posting, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      A very similar dish is often served in South Africa at barbecues, known locally as "Paptert" (pronounced "puptaert") It may also include bacon, mushrooms or any other savoury ingredients, in addition to the cheese. Popular in the central and northern regions where maize (corn) is grown but not so much in the south or east where maize is not a staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Good But I found this to have too much butter. I was going to cut it back and wish I did. I added my Oven-Dried Herbed Tomatoes about 3 chopped tomatoes and some smoked paprika.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      Thank you so much!!! This is just how I remember it form when I was little. I stopped after step 4, and just ate with sour cream and feta - delicious :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      my ex m-i-l was part Roumanian and used to make this, one of the 3 things she cooked that were edible, or at least that i ate. very good, i never got her recipe, by the way what is sarmale?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      VERY good!! I made this with Sarmale & it turned out great. I enjoyed it more than my husband who is romanian :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      I used to date a romanian and my favorite dish was Mamaliga and sarmale (not sure of spelling). Sometimes when i get sentimental i make mamaliga and top it with cottage cheese or feta. These are just 2 variations on this dish! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mamaliga Cu Branza (Cornmeal Mush With Cheese)

    Serving Size: 1 (268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.1
     
    Calories from Fat 387
    72%
    Total Fat 43.0 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 26.8 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 117.0 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1172.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes